We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great day, learned a lot”

Cambodia Photo Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.00*
and up
Phnom Penh Night Photo walk with Cambodia Photo...
Ranked #42 of 150 Tours in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Reviewed October 14, 2013

It was one of my bets days in Phnom Penh. Accidently I saw Michaels flyer in my hotels restaurant and decided to go for it.
I had a wonderful day, at the meeting place Michael starts his introduction, and explains the camera's and how he works. The group was very small, only three of us, he made time for all of us. We had three different levels, I didn't had any experience, one middle and the other had a real professional camera and knew all about photography and Michael explained everything at anyones level. I learned so much how to handle my camera, and how I can get more out of it.
He also took us to some places in in Phnom Penh I didn't saw before, some hidden places I didn't saw before.

I met some great people, Michael, and the two other participants :)
After the workshop we all went for drinks and dinner together, after sunset.

Sure I will practice my skills, and next time when I am in asia I will participate again :)

Thanks Michael for everything!

Date of experience: October 2013
Thank ssille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"street photography"
in 9 reviews
"professional photographer"
in 6 reviews
"amazing shots"
in 4 reviews
"camera settings"
in 4 reviews
"taking photos"
in 5 reviews
"highly recommend this tour"
in 4 reviews
"young monks"
in 2 reviews
"fantastic afternoon"
in 2 reviews
"average tourist"
in 2 reviews
"photography skills"
in 2 reviews
"great photographer"
in 2 reviews
"half day tour"
in 4 reviews
"walking tour"
in 2 reviews
"photo opportunities"
in 2 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 2 reviews
"workshop"
in 10 reviews
"beginners"
in 8 reviews
Filter

65 - 69 of 74 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

I participated as an observer on an afternoon workshop run by Michael today as my company is exploring photography tours with him. He was outstandingly patient and flexible. His two clients that day were young Western travelers.......one of them was already a repeat customer as she had participated in a similar experience with him over a week ago and was now bringing a friend she was so impressed. Michael was very understanding of their reasons for running so far behind schedule, although if others had been on the tour I am sure he would have started without delay. We sat at the FCC while he helped the one participant become familiar with her camera...even though she had owned it for quite awhile. She learned a lot more about what it is capable of doing and she had a lot of questions. Michael provided her with the broader picture, understanding and how to maximize the potential....(aperture, shutter speeds, ISO, etc.) of how the machinery worked. When she had a specific, detailed questioned he answered that.....for the broader questions I felt he gave enough information without getting too technical. This was the introduction part. He then moved on from there to actually taking photos....departing via ferry across the river.....we were running quite late and one of the participants had been on a similar tour, so he had already worked out a new route that would provide both the people with new experiences and still get to try-out various opportunities where he could assist them to understand composition, the impact of shutter speed, etc. Overall, I thought this was a great introduction and can tell that Michael would adapt based on the audience.....he is comfortable talking to beginners using an iPhone to more experienced photographers with expensive equipment. We are very much looking forward to working with him and our clients.

Date of experience: October 2013
Thank mowgli415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I recently went to one of Michael's Photo tours in Phnom Penh and it was great. I had only bought a DSLR camera a few days before my trip and Michael showed me how to use it in about 10mins!

I went on the tour on my second day in Cambodia and had a great day exploring the city. Michael knows where to find the hidden markets, friendliest locals and secret spots to get some great snaps.

I definitely felt a lot more confident with my camera after the tutorial and was able to use his tips to snap some great shots throughout my trip.

We ended the tour at the Eclipse Rooptop Bar in the middle of Phnom Penh. Located about 23 floors up I really got to see the whole of the city and capture some great shots of the sunset.

It doesn't matter if you're an amateur looking to learn how to make the most of your camera, or a professional trying to discover the real Phnom Penh. Michael's tours are a great way to do it.
I highly recommend this tour.

Date of experience: September 2013
Thank HollyHazel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I recently did a one-on-one photography tutorial and couldn't recommend it more highly.
Michael is clearly a passionate photographer with a lot of experience. I learnt so much in the session about the functions and uses of my camera and saw a dramatic improvement in my photographs.

Michael was so patient with my questions and had plenty of interesting stories to share about the glamourous industry that is photography. We spent some time walking through the food markets which I loved and was great to get hands on experience, 'out on the field'.

Wether you are just a beginner or someone who has room for improvement I definitely recommend spending an afternoon wandering around the crazy town of Phnom Penh with an excellent photographer to help you capture the true spirit of Cambodia.

Date of experience: September 2013
Thank TinaTrousselot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: May 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, Owner at Cambodia Photo Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cambodia Photo Tours also viewed

 

Been to Cambodia Photo Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing