We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Great learning the art of street photography

Spent the day with Michael and had a great time learning about street photography - something I... read more

Reviewed March 21, 2020
Will_M_78NZ
,
Auckland, New Zealand
I got some great pictures!

Great experience! Michael gave me an expert tour of the Ounalom Pagoda, a local market and some... read more

Reviewed March 11, 2020
Max_Bxl_Belgium
,
Brussels, Belgium
Read all 87 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Phnom Penh
from $49.00
More Info
from $15.39
More Info
from $110.00
More Info
from $22.57
More Info
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveler rating
76
5
1
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
76
5
1
3
2
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 87 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I participated as an observer on an afternoon workshop run by Michael today as my company is exploring photography tours with him. He was outstandingly patient and flexible. His two clients that day were young Western travelers.......one of them was already a repeat customer as she had participated in a similar experience with him over a week ago and was now bringing a friend she was so impressed. Michael was very understanding of their reasons for running so far behind schedule, although if others had been on the tour I am sure he would have started without delay. We sat at the FCC while he helped the one participant become familiar with her camera...even though she had owned it for quite awhile. She learned a lot more about what it is capable of doing and she had a lot of questions. Michael provided her with the broader picture, understanding and how to maximize the potential....(aperture, shutter speeds, ISO, etc.) of how the machinery worked. When she had a specific, detailed questioned he answered that.....for the broader questions I felt he gave enough information without getting too technical. This was the introduction part. He then moved on from there to actually taking photos....departing via ferry across the river.....we were running quite late and one of the participants had been on a similar tour, so he had already worked out a new route that would provide both the people with new experiences and still get to try-out various opportunities where he could assist them to understand composition, the impact of shutter speed, etc. Overall, I thought this was a great introduction and can tell that Michael would adapt based on the audience.....he is comfortable talking to beginners using an iPhone to more experienced photographers with expensive equipment. We are very much looking forward to working with him and our clients.

Date of experience: October 2013
Thank mowgli415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I recently went to one of Michael's Photo tours in Phnom Penh and it was great. I had only bought a DSLR camera a few days before my trip and Michael showed me how to use it in about 10mins!

I went on the tour on my second day in Cambodia and had a great day exploring the city. Michael knows where to find the hidden markets, friendliest locals and secret spots to get some great snaps.

I definitely felt a lot more confident with my camera after the tutorial and was able to use his tips to snap some great shots throughout my trip.

We ended the tour at the Eclipse Rooptop Bar in the middle of Phnom Penh. Located about 23 floors up I really got to see the whole of the city and capture some great shots of the sunset.

It doesn't matter if you're an amateur looking to learn how to make the most of your camera, or a professional trying to discover the real Phnom Penh. Michael's tours are a great way to do it.
I highly recommend this tour.

Date of experience: September 2013
Thank HollyHazel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I recently did a one-on-one photography tutorial and couldn't recommend it more highly.
Michael is clearly a passionate photographer with a lot of experience. I learnt so much in the session about the functions and uses of my camera and saw a dramatic improvement in my photographs.

Michael was so patient with my questions and had plenty of interesting stories to share about the glamourous industry that is photography. We spent some time walking through the food markets which I loved and was great to get hands on experience, 'out on the field'.

Wether you are just a beginner or someone who has room for improvement I definitely recommend spending an afternoon wandering around the crazy town of Phnom Penh with an excellent photographer to help you capture the true spirit of Cambodia.

Date of experience: September 2013
Thank TinaTrousselot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2019
Google Translation

Date of experience: May 2019
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michaelkH8841MA, Owner at Cambodia Photo Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2019
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2019 via mobile
Google Translation

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews