We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dining” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Same Same Backpacker

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Same Same Backpacker
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

We were staying down the road from Same Same and it was our favourite place to eat breakfast during our stay. Great breakfasts that were very cheap and LOVE the tuna salad and rice with veges. You can also exchange money here. Coco the manager is lovely and lovely to see his smiling face every morning.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheNurse00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    37
    15
    14
    11
See reviews for
5
44
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Didn't stay here, but ate here everyday as it was close by. The feta and blue cheese salads are AMAZING. The plain burger with cheese was the best my boyfriend had in months. The staff are very friendly, the bathroom is clean and the place overall has a great chill-out vibe to it. Can't fault it really.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JNJA21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thea T, Owner at Same Same Backpacker, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
thank u very much for ur rewvie :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

I stumbled across this place trying to find my way back to my guesthouse one night, and got chatting to a mad Englishman who I think worked there... Anyways he convinced me to stay and eat there, which I did, the good was great and happy hour meant one FREE beer with a meal, so I came back and ate there again the next night... Funky long haired Khmer guy recognised me... Nice spot, will probably eat there again when I head back to PP

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank SueL1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

We spent some days in phnom penh having dinner in this very friendly and happy restaurant. The owner and his staff are very friendly and food good. Music and lots of young traveller. You can arrive alai late and they cook and help you.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank maxofturin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
73 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

We dropped in here for dinner, which was great ! The ambience is nice, and the people friendly. Even though we're a long way past our "load up the backpack and travel" days, it took me back to past days, in a good way !
It's relaxed, laid back, they pay good music, and we enjoyed it. I cant comment as to the accommodations, and the bar toilet was a bit "borderline", but nonetheless we had a relaxed, and enjoyable evening here, with good food, good drinks and good company - what more can one ask ?

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colink114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

relaxed place. Good food. nice place to start drinks at. Easy place to meet people. Very helpful with organising trips and buses. Dropped in and stayed here every time i'm travelled through Phonm Penh

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Didn't stay here so can't comment on accommodation. Food was very good actually but the bar staff was smug and had no idea how to run a business or keep customers returning. Basically we only found out about their happy hour promotion after sitting down and ordering our food on our first day. When we approached the guy behind the bar who told us no as apparently we should have come after 4 or 5pm can't remember but we are talking 15 minutes of difference here tops. Knowing it was our first night and we were a big group of backpackers (8 of us) he would not allow us the promotion. It's not so much about us not getting the promotional drinks but about the barman's poor attitude with smug replies. Simply we paid our bill and went elsewhere for food and drink for the next couple of days. He was just too concerned about playing a track that he picked on YouTube and trying to look cool as opposed to building bridges with his customers and ensuring customer loyalty.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Musti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Phnom Penh hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.6 mi away
Top Banana Guesthouse
Top Banana Guesthouse
#8 of 210 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.5 mi away
BlueHome Villa II
BlueHome Villa II
#33 of 210 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.0 mi away
KhaVi Villa
KhaVi Villa
#25 of 333 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Eighty8 Backpackers
Eighty8 Backpackers
#6 of 210 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lovely Jubbly Villa
Lovely Jubbly Villa
#20 of 210 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.9 mi away
Envoy Hostel and Tours
Envoy Hostel and Tours
#5 of 210 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Same Same Backpacker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Same Same Backpacker

Property: Same Same Backpacker
Address: #5 Street 258 | Chaktomok, Daun Phen, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 210 Specialty Lodging in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly Khmer family business, great location, 5 minutes walk to Royal Palace or to the centre of riverside. Choice of A/C or fan room all with own bathroom. Excellent Khmer and western food. Great range of cocktails. Visas, bus and boat tickets available. Free pool table and WIFI in dorm and restaurant. Relaxed atmosphere to chill or meet new friends, happy hour 5:30-9 pm daily and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Same Same Backpacker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing