We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice bar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Same Same Backpacker
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

Really good cambotjan food and western! Nice staff! I just stay in the bar but the location is really good just 5 min from the royal palace and the river.pool table,cheap drinks and good music.backpackers and chill ambient.They also can book all kind of travel tickets

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
Thank Marcgarcialores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 122 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

The location is vey good - 5 mins walk to the Palace and 15 mins from the river. The place has a great bar with good vibe, good alcohol and very nice western and a bit local food menu. The rooms are very basic but the have window (except room no 20- avoid this room) which is not very obvios in Phnom pehn for this price (we stayed in double room for 8$)
Great for backpackers!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OlgaandEilon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I booked in to same same for 3 night but only stayed 1. This is why. Basically the room I was given was right behind the bar and was therefore very noisy. The music stopped at around midnight but people remained in the bar talking until 2am there we never got a good nights sleep so we moved to Okay Guesthouse next door.

Same same is very nice, basic rooms but perfectly fine with a powerful shower and good air con. The bar is really good as is the food. The staff are very friendly and are always about but unfortunately, my backpacker days are behind me and I want a good nights sleep now. I'm guessing the other room won't be as loud but if you are offered room 20, ask for another room. If there are no more, head next door to okay and pay 2$ more for bit more room wise and a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: Don't take room 20.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattpreece87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thea T, Owner at Same Same Backpacker, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

thank u for your review :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

i have recently stayed here with my sister and i can't say a bad word about this place rooms are basic but very clean which is a change from most places.

What really made it for us tho was the staff they really couldn't help u enough . we told Caca that we were interested in going helping out on an orphanage and he was straight onto it got us a huge bag of rice and sent us to an amazing orphanage that was well in need of it ( most people might not be aware but not all orphanages there are looking out for the children's best interest just want money ) but Caca new this and made sure we went to an official one..

thanks Coco and Caca and the rest of the staff you made or trip amazing will defiantly be back ..
love Helena and lesley :-)

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Lesley-ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I spent a few nights at Same Same and had a great stay with CoCo and his great staff. The room was clean and much nicer than other guesthouses in this same area. The bar has a really good laid back but fun vibe with cheap drinks and a pool table making it a good place to meet other travelers. I only ate one meal but the food was really good and the cocktail list has to be one of the best in town. The staff was very helpful and you could tell they go out of their way to make sure the guest is number one.

Overall I would highly recommend Same Same. If nothing else head over for a drink and shoot some pool with CoCo. Just be careful he's a pool shark!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malcolm J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thea T, Owner at Same Same Backpacker, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

thank u for your review :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Sorry for bad review,. Just wanna warn people. Room was ok, shower not really cleaned.
The problem was laundry. Normal price is $1/kg we got laundry back one day later (as it was raining all day the day before, so it was little wet and stinky) but the worst thing was, she charged us 50% more for it, lying into our eyes , that she told us twice it is going to be $1.5. Bollocks. Why would we opt for 1.5 when all the hotels on the streets have signs saying $1 for 1kg. In the end we paid $1.60 more for 3.2kg of laundry, which is ofcourse no tragedy, but the lying was what made our start of the day NOT NICE!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GASTAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thea T, Owner at Same Same Backpacker, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

This is an in house service the customer had the option to go elsewhere plus at the time there was heavy rain for sometime the clothing was wet when received we tried our best to have the clothing finished in time but unfortunately the weather was against us. We apologize for any inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed in Cambodia for 2 weeks, travelling around Phnom Penh, Siem Reap, and Sihanoukville, and I have to say Same Same was the best bar by miles.

Same Same is set in a quiet street in Phnom Penh, just by the riverside, and is an amazing little haven away from the hustle and bustle of the busy streets.

Coco and his family are so welcoming, there really is nothing they will not do to help.

We stayed late one night, and it started to rain just as we left. Even though our hotel was only 50 yards up the street, they insisted on taking us in a tuk-tuk so we did not get drenched.

Same Same is beautifully decorated, with lots of plants, and good music playing, Coco will also let you play what music you like. There is a huge variety of drinks, and the food is amazing (try the loc lac - you will not be disappointed!)

We came back to Same Same after going to Sihanoukville for a few days, and they were all so happy to see us, we were invited to stay for dinner with the family.

Coco - thank you so much for making our holiday so special, we had the best time with you and your family, and we wish you all the luck in the world for your new bar in Siem Reap


p.s Jul Moi !!!

xx

Room Tip: Go to Same-Same - if you miss it you will miss out on the best bar, food and family in all of Cambod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAINEinTHAILAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thea T, Owner at Same Same Backpacker, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

thank u for your review so much :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.0 mi away
Queen Grand Boutique Hotel and Spa
0.0 mi away
King Grand Boutique Hotel
King Grand Boutique Hotel
#25 of 274 in Phnom Penh
750 reviews
0.0 mi away
River Home Boutique Hotel
River Home Boutique Hotel
#88 of 274 in Phnom Penh
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
KhaVi Villa
KhaVi Villa
#14 of 334 in Phnom Penh
104 reviews
0.0 mi away
Number 9 Hotel
Number 9 Hotel
#33 of 334 in Phnom Penh
378 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lazy Gecko Guesthouse
Lazy Gecko Guesthouse
#17 of 334 in Phnom Penh
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Same Same Backpacker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Same Same Backpacker

Address: #5 Street 258 | Chaktomok, Daun Phen, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 248 Specialty Lodging in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $10 - $10 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly Khmer family business, great location, 5 minutes walk to Royal Palace or to the centre of riverside. Choice of A/C or fan room all with own bathroom. Excellent Khmer and western food. Great range of cocktails. Visas, bus and boat tickets available. Free pool table and WIFI in dorm and restaurant. Relaxed atmosphere to chill or meet new friends, happy hour 5:30-9 pm daily and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Same Same Backpacker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing