We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make your fortune”
Review of Wat Phnom

Wat Phnom
Book In Advance
More Info
$74.00*
and up
Full-Day Phnom Penh Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #10 of 120 things to do in Phnom Penh
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A standard Southeast Asian temple.
Queanbeyan, Australia
Level Contributor
193 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Make your fortune”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

This pagoda on top of a small hill is in the middle of a roundabout so crossing the road to it requires care. The park surrounding the hill is peaceful and shaded. There are several temples on top. I had my fortune told in the top temple; just ask a monk and make a donation. Or set a sparrow free for $1 for good luck and prosperity!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank JanleeCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,931 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    356
    727
    719
    98
    31
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Carlyle, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Interesting and peaceful.”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We enjoyed a tuk tuk ride to the Wat and found the site to be both interesting and not overly crowded. The temple itself was a little different from others we had visited and the surrounding green space provided a little peace and quiet.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieuwegein, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice Wat”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Nice Wat. The head entrance gives the view to a big boeddha. The altar was filled with money, food and papers. It gets cleaned during our visit. Also the painting looked very nice. Watch for scams! We walked up on the other side and people wanted money from us. We said that's okay but than I want a ticket. This they couldn't give us. Eventually we saw that there is a place where you pay $1 because you are a foreigner and get a real ticket. I was wonderd, because this was the first (and only) Wat we had to pay for. But he looks nice and there are several places for praying.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marieke784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth western australia
Level Contributor
443 reviews
186 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Small Temple in Lush Gardens Lovely”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

This is a small temple but very picturesque in the center of Phnom Penh.Worth the Tuk Tuk ride.Watch out for the guy releasing the birds as he will just shove one in your hands and then you have to pay him to release it

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank caddyandbellA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finspang, Sweden
Level Contributor
150 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A temple on a hill”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Walking over to the Wat Phnom from my hostel, that was quite a walk, I had no idea of what to expect. But what I found was a very decent temple. After coming from Vietnam it felt nice to get back to seeing real quality temples once again. It's well kept and has this Cambodian architecture that differs from temples you'll see in Thailand and the wall paintings inside are really nice.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fredrik N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wat Phnom also viewed

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to Wat Phnom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing