We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Independence Monument”

Independence Monument
Book In Advance
More Info
$61.00*
and up
Private Phnom Penh Icons City Tour
More Info
$15.00*
and up
Phnom Penh Hop On Hop Off
More Info
$114.00*
and up
Mt Oudong and Phnom Penh City Tour
Ranked #14 of 122 things to do in Phnom Penh
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This obelisk commemorates Cambodia's freedom from France in 1953.
Bangkok
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Independence Monument”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Always good to visit the local history sites to understand more about the local culture and history. Good to see during the day but I think better for pictures at night.

Certainly worth a visit for the architecture and the cultural value.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MG22Bangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    425
    517
    84
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
400 reviews
169 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Stop by when coming back from Prison Museum”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Just ask Tuktuk stop by n take a minutes look n photos. N take a minutes to visit the temple opposite/nearby. Wat phnom roundabout is bigger. Night scene r better.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank hckok77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockdale, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
559 reviews
266 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 394 helpful votes
“Needed more time to walk around the Monument !!!!”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

It's Friday 02/08/13 & my second day in Phnom Penh & my first visit to Cambodia, I've arranged a full day touring & sightseeing around PP, my taxi driver is eager to show me around many interesting places throughout the day, however couldn't really say much about the Independence Monument except I noticed it twice while speeding through in the car, i managed to get the driver to stop & took a couple of pics within a couple of minutes. I'm not sure if this is the largest roundabout in PP ????

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“A Roundabout”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

You don't have to visit this place. You can ride in the tuk-tuk and go around it. It is situated in a bustling street of Phnom Penh. This earthy color huge monument looks stunning at night. The lighting used really does justice to this monument.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DeenHanafi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Pretty architecture”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Been here in our last day trip. asked the tuk tuk driver to stop nearby and took some picture from over the road. cant cross the busy road to the roundbout. quite busy. its look reddish during the daylight. maybe because of the material used when constructing this monument. the local said its a reminder of their history and independence. dont know the detail. not a significant place after all.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank FaraMohd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Independence Monument also viewed

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to Independence Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing