We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved this market” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Central Market

Central Market
Book In Advance
More Info
$60.00*
and up
Half-Day Phnom Penh Food Tour
Ranked #6 of 115 things to do in Phnom Penh
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Housed in a 1937 Art Deco building, this market is a city landmark.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Loved this market”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Loved these markets, we walked through every little alley and walkway as we had plenty of time, found there to be all sorts of things for sale lots of touristy souvenirs and tshirts in the main entrance walkway, but if you dig deeper there is lots of clothing, cosmetics, general household goods, jewellery, fresh flowers as well as a bustling fresh produce section (lots of fish, meat, fruit and veges). Sellers are generally friendly and happy to make a sale so bargain hard (start at about 1/3 of their initial price and work up from there). Definitely a must see and do while in PP.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leonek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    949
    1,815
    1,170
    211
    56
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Highworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Plenty of trinkets on offer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

"Designer" gear and "precious gem" aplenty as well as the usual t-shirts, silks and local goods. The Russian Market has a more authentic feels but is very much hotter and frantic

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
147 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Nice but.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is a place that is hard to miss....art deco in overdrive. Over the last 5 years a large amount of effort has been put into restoring this massive building. It has now be one a tourist retraction more than a real market. Filled with tourist items and tourists...fun to see but if you are looking for a more authentic market go to Orussie Market...larger and more active. Not to be confused with the Russian Market.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ComeflywithmeFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“just a quick look on the surrounding”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

since we weren't really interested in phnom penh, we only browsed around with a tuk tuk b4 leaving for siem reap. from the guidebook, it looks nice with the nice architectural building but we didn't get off or wanting to go in 'cos it's more like a wet market with some unpleasant fishy smell, and it was just too hot (above 35 degrees), so we skipped it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank baboon000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
227 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Lots of t-shirts and local crafts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

I always like walking through here, picking up a few scarves and a t-shirt. Be sure to bargain hard, but be fair, they need to make a living. I usually walk over to Sorya Center too.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank bormanator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central Market also viewed

 

Been to Central Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing