We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Worth It”
Review of Central Market

Central Market
Book In Advance
More Info
$60.00*
and up
Half-Day Phnom Penh Food Tour
Ranked #6 of 119 things to do in Phnom Penh
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Housed in a 1937 Art Deco building, this market is a city landmark.
Ardmore, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
120 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Not Worth It”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I've been in many Central Markets around the world and was very disappointed with this one. I found it filthy and smelly. There were bargains, but you could do just as well in other Cambodian shops in Phnom Penh.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank bobscribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    988
    1,878
    1,207
    223
    62
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Just a glimpse of the local life”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

It's quite an organised market with sections selling different things. Unless you are a local, I don't think you will want to get anything from here. I was told local cashew is good USD$10/kg and USD$6/kg for waxed chinese sausages (less fatty than most other types???) if you are into it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelSmug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Lovely building. It has all the usual market type stalls but worth the experience just the same. Beautiful Cambodian silks also.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank WanderingNomadess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“nice architecture”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

worth a trip inside to admire the architecture. Beware of most of the shops inside the dome as a lot of them sell fake watches etc at quite extortionate prices so be prepared to haggle if you really want one. Most of the jewellery is the same old stuff you'd find at home so don't bother unless you really want to.

The market stalls around it are ok, the quality is good and the prices (as long as you haggle) are reasonable. beware the fake bag shops though. You really can't buy a designer label bag for $20 usd!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank BeautifulSights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacchus Marsh, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bargains to be found”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I only had time to choose one market-Russian or Central and I went with Central because of its interesting architecture which I enjoyed photographing. I found a few bargains which I could've got much cheaper but I felt guilty over haggling over a few dollars! Found a fantastic, unique watch and my partner got some nice sunnies. The central section has lots of sunglasses stalls, jewellery stalls and lots of scarves everywhere! It is a bit overwhelming with stall holders constantly battling for your attention, so get used to saying no if you're not interested! Lots of beats headphones everywhere, we got them for $20 but I'm sure they will go much cheaper. If you have time, I'd say visit both markets as I believe Central is the more touristy, expensive choice but still worth a look!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Keira H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central Market also viewed

 

Been to Central Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing