We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“do your shopping here”
Review of Central Market

Central Market
Book In Advance
More Info
$60.00*
and up
Half-Day Phnom Penh Food Tour
Ranked #6 of 119 things to do in Phnom Penh
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Housed in a 1937 Art Deco building, this market is a city landmark.
Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
331 reviews
208 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“do your shopping here”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

One needs to spend some time checking out the stalls for merchandise. The range is varied and the prices are negotiable. Ideal place to purchase clothing, souvenirs, simple jewellery and and a few electronic items. There is stuff for everybody.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank fjp4564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    988
    1,878
    1,207
    223
    62
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“It's a market”
Reviewed October 28, 2011

We are not shoppers!! We needed a bag for more space seemed like a bargain.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank jude-g73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not was I was expecting”
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Well, so much for "natural air conditioning" as touted in tourist guides...it was stinking hot in there. The sellers were very aggressive and some downright rude. I found a few good buys, but enjoyed the market in Siem Reap much more.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank dreama_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
221 reviews
125 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“EVERYTHING you can Imagine and more!!”
Reviewed October 22, 2011

WOW!! I wished I could have spent more time here!! There were Beautiful art pieces... gorgeous jewelry, Local arts and crafts and so much MORE!! Be Prepared to haggle here.. Never pay what they ask for first... Because the vendors always start high! We got some amazing wood carvings from here!! They are now prominently displayed in the front walkway of my home! Bring lots of cash with you!! The center of the market is FULL of shiny beautiful Jewelry ladies!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
179 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Dome shaped”
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Its Funny Dome shaped market and very busy with local flavor.
You can buy some lovely souvenirs . You get almost everything there, right from fake lonely planet books to video games to Shirts.
You need to bargain a lot, if done properly you can have really cheap and good offers.

Visited November 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank saish746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central Market also viewed

 

Been to Central Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing