We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a look” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Choeung Ek Genocidal Center

Choeung Ek Genocidal Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$61.25*
and up
Half-Day Tuol Sleng Museum and Cheung Ek Killing Fields
Ranked #1 of 116 things to do in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: These were the execution grounds for the Khmer Rouge.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worth a look”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

I went in expecting a lot more but it's definitely worth a look.

It was a good reminder of how lucky I am to have been brought up in a democracy.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hung_La
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,664
    2,216
    389
    75
    53
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Important but horrible”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

When you enter you get an audio-guide. I liked to hear the survivors' stories. Listen to all of them if you can.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Was surprised, dont know what I was expecting when I went to the killing fields. One of the highlights of my trip to Phnom Penh, if you are going to do the killing fields also do S21. Do S21 first as this is where the story starts for the victims of the killing fields.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Debbie1825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Lynn
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Harrowing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Deeply disturbing place well set out but a must visit if you want to know what makes this country tick today

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank casper16167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Memorial, good audio guide”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

There is not much to see here, but it is a place more to reflect on the atrocities. The Audi guide is good to learn more about what happened.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChristoforoM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Choeung Ek Genocidal Center also viewed

 

Been to Choeung Ek Genocidal Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing