We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good in lots of ways - but could easily be improved”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Meng Goldiana 282 Hotel
Ranked #226 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good in lots of ways - but could easily be improved”
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

The location is great. The staff are incredibly friendly. The cost for an increasingly popular destination is reasonable. The rooms are a comfortsble size and the bathroom more than adequate. And - it is great to have a swimming pool at hand after a hot, dusty day in Phnom Penh. I would have rated it with a 4 if there hadn't been a total lack of towels at the pool (and none arrived even when I rang reception); if a bit more care had been taken with room cleaning (the soap tray in the shower was revolting); if pool tiles had been cleaned and loungers mended; and if someone took care to keep breakfast serving dishes adequately stocked. I like this hotel and would like a bit more effort to be made so it does not lose out to the many new establishments which are opening daily.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    40
    47
    23
    16
See reviews for
14
14
21
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The Goldiana Hotel has historically provided many NGO's with comfortable, clean accommodation and good service. But it appears time is catching up with this once grand old lady. With the passing of the owner, there was a massive change in staff and the standard appears to have dropped and money is not being spent on general maintenance and upkeep pending a complete refurbishment to increase it to a 4 star hotel.

The front of house staff are doing their best and are always helpful and friendly.

On my arrival at the hotel I was welcomed by the melodic thumping of jackhammers working beside and behind the hotel. Speaking to two other guests, who have stayed at the Goldiana every year since the late 1990's and 2006 stayed they had not been advised of the construction work when they booked. The construction work commences at. 8:00 a.m. and goes until 5:00 p.m.

My room was spacious but was also tired with the bathroom requiring cleaning. The mini bar door was open and had thawed with several towels lying in the bottom to mop up the water. I had to make a request for my room to be serviced after the second day.

The breakfast provided is well below standard with food in serving trays cold and not replenished.

The swimming pool was clean and appeared well maintained. The lounge chairs were uncomfortable and the pool towels needed to be replaced. The fitness centre no longer exists and all equipment has been removed.

On speaking to the people that have been loyal return guests you can see the disappointment in their faces. To hear their negative comments in relation to the current standards is also disappointing as this grand old lady has provided so much for so long.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cujo_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Phnom Penh hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jambi, Indonesia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Staid several times in Goldiana between 2007 and 2009, and again in December 2013. Then already dated, now a bit over-mature. But still a preferred option for me. Had a nice, large room on the first floor (101 I think). Room, bath room and beds clean fresh sheets w/o stains. Internet through good WiFi and cable (I prefer the latter: faster, safer). Breakfast basic, but many places for a breakfast or brunch close to the hotel. Good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bas_v_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Cal
Level Contributor
290 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Stayed about 3 nights. It was an old hotel, but it was adequate. Service was good from front desk; seems to speak fair English. Located close to restaurants and busy street. Room was OK as it is old. Bathroom was also old, but functional. Air conditioning worked to keep room fairly cool. Internet was tricky and not reliable. Breakfast was good but not very big spread; enjoyed the tasty fresh mangos and other fruits. Pool was on the roof and refreshing in Cambodian heat; it is pretty deep so beware of your children. Gym is on roof without much equipment. Overall, an OK hotel, but it is old..

Room Tip: Some of the rooms were newer and may be nicer, so ask for one of the newer rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sactokw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Stayed for a week on a business trip. Room was clean and quiet. Internet was ok but sometimes a little slow. Breakfast is simple but ok, with a cook to make eggs to order. Didn't get chance to use the swimming pool but it looked ok and clean. No problems as mentioned by other reviewers.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sudchai_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

l do not agree with one comment, regarding his stay. Last year l stayed in this hotel and l have no problem asking their front office staff to book bus ticket for me to Siem Reap and Sihnoukville after my return from Siem Reap. l find the hotel to be well placed and room may be outdated but most importand it is clean. For breakfast, l find it is above average and l find it is satisfactory. The price of the room is reasonable and this year l will be going to stay there again in May14. Many guest l met are returning guest of the hotel. Will they return if that is so bad as claimed by one guest. l will say that the hotel meet my expectation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackiekualalumpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanish in the UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I chose this hotel because it was close to a friend house, and was recommended by said friend. I thought it was a bit pricey, but since it is a 3 star hotel I thought at least I would get my money's worth. I was wrong. The hotel is outdated, but clean. I give that to them. The rooms are spacious and pleasant, and the pool is nice. However, everything else is amiss. The internet works very slowly or just didn't connect. Breakfast is included and at this point I wish they had reduce the price and let me eat outside cause the food is awful. There is a cook who will prepare omelettes and fried eggs, and that is the only nice part. The rest of the food is barely edible, the juice has an undetermined flavour, the cereals are moldy, and what they serve as bacon could be anything but bacon...On top of that, this is the only hotel I have been so far in Cambodia that does not sell bus tickets. I have been seven times in Cambodia, this last time I am spending 6 months in the country doing fieldwork, so I have been to numerous hotels and this most expensive I have been to in Phnom Penh and actually the worst. It is best to go down to Street 72 and book a suite at the Hotel Cyclo, which is going to cost the same but it is so much nicer and the food is truly amazing. If you still need to be in the BKK1 area and do not need a high speed internet connection, choose the Jasmine Terrace Boutique hotel. It is cheaper and much nicer (minus the pool, but you can actually pay for using the Goldiana Swimming pool, so perhaps this is not a deterrent).

Room Tip: The rooms close to the elevators do not have a good internet connection, in my case they were the 40...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpanishinUK_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.0 mi away
King Grand Suites Boutique Hotel II
0.2 mi away
Balconitel Boutique Hotel
Balconitel Boutique Hotel
#38 of 267 in Phnom Penh
94 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#46 of 267 in Phnom Penh
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pandan Boutique Hotel
Pandan Boutique Hotel
#44 of 267 in Phnom Penh
110 reviews
0.3 mi away
TEAV Boutique Hotel
TEAV Boutique Hotel
#16 of 267 in Phnom Penh
399 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Langka
Villa Langka
#24 of 267 in Phnom Penh
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meng Goldiana 282 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meng Goldiana 282 Hotel

Property: Meng Goldiana 282 Hotel
Address: 282 Street | Sangkat Boueng Keng Kang 1 Khan Chamkarmon, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #226 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Meng Goldiana 282 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Meng Goldiana 282 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing