We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money in a good location”
Review of Tonle Sap Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Phnom Penh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tonle Sap Hotel
Ranked #166 of 322 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Value for money in a good location”
Reviewed April 19, 2010

I stayed at the Tonle Sap in February for only 4 nights but would have liked to stay longer.
Not far from the river and close to everything, the location is great.

The food in the pickled Parrot downstairs was good for those like me looking to get into some good western tucker after eating Asian food for so long.

The owner seemed like a good bloke and the staff were attentive and friendly.

Basic rooms, but good for the price, I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aussieabroadPhuQuoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    14
    2
    6
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
4
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2010

I spent Xmas day at the Pickled Parrot. Graeme and Tia had presents for their 3 kids and all the staff. The rest of us just ate and drank some very cold beers. The customers and staff were all friendly and non judgemental. i handed out little koala and kanga keyrings to the staff and got the royal treatment after that. This aint the Ritz but it is close to a heap of bars, travel places, massge places, tourist attractions and they had the cricket on live from Melbourne. There are 10 bars within 100 metres of the door. But surprisingly the rooms are quiet. I had room 101 but next time I will indulge and getting something with a riverview.

Meals are good , asian and western,and the beer great. free computer in bar to check emails or google airlines etc.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ronrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2010

Love the place - Great Staff - Great position just off the riverside

  • Liked — 24 Hour Bar
  • Disliked — Walk up the stairs to the room !
  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KratieUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
in transit
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2009

I only stayed one night so it's hard to review. However, the room itself was a bit dingy. When I got in there was still garbage in the room and dirty linens. There's AC but you can only turn it on or off and the window didn't open. On the upside, there's good free wifi in the rooms. The bathroom was great with a tub and a hot shower. The hotel provides 2 water bottles for free and though it's on a busy street with a bar downstairs, it was very quiet (I was on the second floor).

It's not a bad place at all and I would have been quite happy staying there for the entire duration of my visit to Phnom Penh but for about the same price you can get a room at the Velkommen Inn across the street, which is quite a bit nicer.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moonwire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
72 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2009

Stayed here for two nights in the room on the first floor on the streetside, $18 per night.

First some good things about this place: it was fairly clean; 2 free bottles of water every day; good wifi connection; nice hot shower.

Now why I didn't like it so much. I think this place is quite overpriced. Had I had to pay maybe $10 for this room, it would have been more acceptable, but $18 is really too much. The room was small and smelly (smoking is allowed) and so was the bathroom (moldy smell). The duvet on the bed looked really old and worn out, even a bit dirty. The walls are in serious need of a paint job (weird stains) and I found really big black stains on my pillow. Old airconditioner that I believe has only one temperature that cannot be changed. Some of the furniture was broken. The wardrobe smelled. Room was also quite noisy because it was on the streetside, though not so bad that I couldn't sleep.

There is a big 24 hour bar downstairs but you won't hear the noise of it on the room, so that's quite good. Food there was overpriced in comparison to what you would pay in restaurants in the same street. Staff was not particularly friendly, a bit snappy. When I asked to use the safe several times, each time they told me I either had to wait for the manager to open the safe or to leave my things with the staff behind the bar.

It has to be said though, that when I once walked down the corridor and could see into another room because they were cleaning it, it looked quite nice. Really big, with big bed, sofa, big tv, and it was also very light. I suppose it must have been one of the more expensive rooms, so perhaps those are alright. In any case, ask to see the room beforehand because they seem to differ a lot.

All in all, not a terrible place but just not worth the $18. If you are willing to spend that amount of money on a room, do yourself a favour and go to the other side of the street at Velkommen Inn, spend $2 more and get a nice room.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank due_passi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Phnom Penh hotels

Chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2009

I just spent 17 days at the Tonle Sap/Pickled Parrot and had a great time. All of the meals were excellent. Graham and Tia, the owners, are very friendly and have trained their staff well. This is an outstanding location, close to the river, bars, markets and Wat Phnom. The rooms are nothing special, but you are not charged for luxury here. This place is a great deal. It's a fun area in Phnom Penh. And the Pickled Parrot bar/restaurant is open 24 hours. Get away from the craziness of street 104 by simply walking through the doors. This was my third trip to this hotel, and I will be back.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vegaslover4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2007

Having heard that the Tonle Sap Hotel was now improved and Western Managed I was expecting a good standard of service.

The Bar and restaurant “Pickled Parrot Pub” was a well fitted out lively expat bar catering to the Rugby Club type sports bar crowd. Not to my taste but I could put up for it for a night. There was no separate dining room so had to eat in the bar.

Room was OK but sparsely furnished with TV; fridge but no desk or chair to work on , it was a big improvement on the old Hotel. (I stayed in the same room in 2003).

Big problem was security. I handed in my passport for safe keeping and when I went to collect it the morning of , my departure It was not in the safe.

The Australian owner who was suffering from an excess of booze the night before; was clueless as to where it was and somewhat embarrassed . It was found in an unlocked draw behind reception!
Thankfully nothing was stolen.

  • Disliked — Bar entertainment not to my taste
  • Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank peaceofangkor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.0 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#9 of 267 in Phnom Penh
2,440 reviews
0.0 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,117 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 267 in Phnom Penh
771 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#44 of 267 in Phnom Penh
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tonle Sap Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tonle Sap Hotel

Property: Tonle Sap Hotel
Address: 4-6E0, Street 104, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 322 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tonle Sap Guesthouse is a clean, affordable, well-kept, western owned guesthouse situated just 50 Metres from the Riverfront with Wat Phnom, The Central Market, The Post Office and Siem Reap Ferries and Buses all nearby. There are 14 rooms ranging from $18 - $40 a night. Open 24 Hrs • Great International Cuisine • Fully Air-Conditioned • Slate 9 Ball Table • Projector and 42" LCD Screen • Major Sporting Events shown Live • Huge selection of Spirits • Friendly Staff • Several other Bars in the Street. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing