We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food OK, Microscopic shot pours”
Review of Tonle Sap Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tonle Sap Hotel
Ranked #175 of 333 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This review is based solely on my experience at the bar (Picked Parrot).

I came here because I heard they have a late-night menu, while the food I got (the fish bites) were actually quite decent, the liquor pours leave a lot to be desired. I ordered a Makers Mark (priced at $3), which I thought reasonable, but when the drink came, it was clearly way under-poured... in a city filled with bars that give the standard 50ml shots for the same price of what arguably was around 20 (As an industry professional, I can tell by looking at the glass how much is in there). I would never drink here again.

The location is sketchy, (tons of prostitute bars in the area), and the place has the atmosphere of a lobster trap. There are other late-night food options in this city, in better areas, and with more generous drinks.

Note: The food stops at midnight - I came in just before 12, and could order, but two other patrons could only get the "Australian Meat Pie" or "Sausage Roll", which looked dry and unpleasant.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank frozendonkeywheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucky228, General Manager at Tonle Sap Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

As an 'Industry Professional' you should be aware that a Standard shot is 30ml NOT 50ml! This is truly the first time ANYONE has accused us of under pouring our drinks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
There are newer reviews for Tonle Sap Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 30 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was the 6th time that I have stayed at this place. Situated right in the middle of nightlife area. Rooms are fair, not great, but for $20 a night you don't get much better value than this. The bar staff are fantastic. Speaking of bars, this one is a straight bar, not like the girlie bars which make up 104 Street

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

set in the heart of Phnom Penh's nightlife area, where colorful characters and night crawlers abound, there is the tonle sap guest house, also known as the pickled parrot 24 hour pub. the rooms are spacious and clean. the staff are friendly and helpful. there is an acceptable level of english spoken. where better to end your evening, a couple of beers then off to your room for a good nights ''sleep''. the food is excellent, it may not be the cheapest place in town but this is more than made up for with the friendly laid back atmosphere. i always spend a night or two here whenever I am in Phnom Penh, a home away from home.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rock_n_roll_teacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I have eaten in here (Pickled Parrot Pub) and the English breakfast was okay if not the best price in town.
I also stayed here for 2 nights some time ago, my sleep was not the most restful as I could hear tuk tuk drivers outside yapping to each other.
But this place makes me angry, it has no food menu outside, and no prices on display outside, it has dark windows, many people don't know it has food, it fails in this way.
Also it has a large ATM machine outside and a pile of motos parked outside, it could have a nice seated area, outside, but no, too much clutter there instead.
And finally, the entrance of the Pickled Parrot Pub is a rest area for tuk tuk drivers, they use it as abase to harass people, why the owner does not ask them to leave is beyond me.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wking12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

I was first given a room where the AC did not work. They gave me another room and they even moved my gear over (+). On the other hand there were a distinct smell of sewer on both rooms and the rooms in general had a low standard(--). I only stayed one night.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snemba56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The hotel is nice, great location, and the staff is very nice but the room doors are poorly secure and you can get access with just a credit card. A bunch of drunken Aussies drink and stay there every night and I'm sure one of them had an extra key made, entered my room and stole $400US. The staff assured me the cleaning staff has worked there 10 years and are very honest and I believe them that's why I think it's a low down down under drunk.

Be careful. Never leave anything valuable in your room.

Room Tip: 3rd floor is best and way from the street noise.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KathmanJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This was my second trip to Phnom Penh this year and decided to stay at the Tonle Sap Guestouse for this trip 3 July for 2 weeks. I had a Delux room for the period and also a great time. The staff are first rate. Extremely helpfully and always greet you with a smile. Thank you Sonny for organizing a car to take me to Siem Reap. Much better than a bus trip. The room was serviced each day and always clean and tidy. The bar downstairs was great to relax in with a mix of expats and locals enjoying the atmosphere. Food was varied and lovely. Location, location, location. A few bars in the street and only a short walk from the guesthouse along the river to all the othe great eating places. Thanks again to all the staff. Wonderfully.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.0 mi away
Homeland Guesthouse
Homeland Guesthouse
#77 of 333 in Phnom Penh
134 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 272 in Phnom Penh
2,508 reviews
0.0 mi away
Okay Boutique Hotel
Okay Boutique Hotel
#35 of 272 in Phnom Penh
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 272 in Phnom Penh
1,171 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
0.0 mi away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#75 of 272 in Phnom Penh
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tonle Sap Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tonle Sap Hotel

Address: 4-6E0, Street 104, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 333 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $18 - $20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tonle Sap Guesthouse is a clean, affordable, well-kept, western owned guesthouse situated just 50 Metres from the Riverfront with Wat Phnom, The Central Market, The Post Office and Siem Reap Ferries and Buses all nearby. There are 14 rooms ranging from $18 - $40 a night. Open 24 Hrs • Great International Cuisine • Fully Air-Conditioned • Slate 9 Ball Table • Projector and 42" LCD Screen • Major Sporting Events shown Live • Huge selection of Spirits • Friendly Staff • Several other Bars in the Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tonle Sap Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing