We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The scent of a Nightmare”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand View Guest House
Ranked #208 of 317 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
random
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The scent of a Nightmare”
Reviewed January 29, 2009

Welcoming reception.
Stinky stairwell.
Grubby room.

Problem with no water avaliable (hot or cold), and air con unable to turn off, when this was brought to their attention they were angry with us.

There are better places to stay.

  • Liked — the check in was ok
  • Disliked — customer service
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bob123Random
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    19
    14
    11
    24
See reviews for
Families
0
31
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2008

I guarantee that my review is not in favor of the place. As I rated above, it is terrible. The room I stayed cost 5 US dollars with fan. The room is awfully small. The bathroom is not in a usable condition with broken facilities. The place is also dirty, especially the bed sheet and pillow case. I minimized my physical contact with the bed. I spread my shawl over the sheet before lying down. I washed the bathroom before using it. The light is dim.

I urge you to look for another place. What you see on the website is not what you see in reality.

Stay away!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — i like nothing.
  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank nightmareBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Phnom Penh hotels

Wellington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2008

Do yourself a favor and run away from here. I had the impression I paid 5 dollars when I checked in for one night. On an e-mail they told me it was four. Then, the next day they tried to charge again and asked me for a receipt (I never asked). Ok, my fault.
Food is really bad, the will try to sell you all sort of things, and location is crap. Try guest Number 9. And the place, by the way is not clean.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WellingtonSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2008

This Place was good for the money. The lake is very nice and the staff was very helpfull with our trip to siem reap and the visa for vietnam.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank flankengott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2008

Whatever you do, don't stay here! My husband and I had reserved a double room with A/C based on previous reviews and lonely planet and were seriously disgusted! The towels weren't clean, the A/C fan broken and the TV power cord didn't work. Granted, this room was on the first floor, but it was awfull! Do yourself a favor and look elsewhere. We ended up going to Spring Guesthouse and were quite pleased.

Note that this isn't just another raving review from someone who hasn't traveled...we've been to India, Thailand, Laos, etc...

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiimchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
1.0 mi away
Royal Guest House
Royal Guest House
#183 of 269 in Phnom Penh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
1.1 mi away
Capitol Guesthouse
Capitol Guesthouse
#108 of 269 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sangkum Hotel
The Sangkum Hotel
#48 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Long Lin House
Long Lin House
#137 of 317 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.0 mi away
#10 Lakeside Guesthouse
#10 Lakeside Guesthouse
#193 of 317 in Phnom Penh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
1.0 mi away
Good Morning Guesthouse
Good Morning Guesthouse
#17 of 317 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand View Guest House

Property: Grand View Guest House
Address: 4Eo Street 93 | Boeung Kak Lake, Phnom Penh 12201, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #208 of 317 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Grand View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand View Guest House Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing