We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bougainvillier Hotel
Ranked #66 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Reviewed December 8, 2009

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. We booked through Asia Web Direct and decided to book the Riverside Suite as we knew we would be tired after our long journey from Hatien in Vietnam. When we walked into the Suite, we knew we had made the right decision as it was lovely - high ceilings, lovely decor, nice clean bathroom - it was just what we needed as the journey had been quite stressful. The furniture was lovely and it was nice to have the lounge area as well as the bedroom. The bedroom and bathroom had a/c units as well as fans, and although there was no hairdryer provided in the bathroom, when I rang Housekeeping, one was brought to the room quite promptly.
As the hotel is quite small, the breakfast choice is fairly limited, but they still had cereal, eggs, toast etc and the pain au chocolat was delicious! The only 2 negatives are 1. there are no tea/coffee facilities in the room and 2. while we were checking in, the Receptionist went for a bit of a hard sell re bus tickets etc for the rest of our trip.
Other than that - we really enjoyed our stay here and the location is also very convenient, so woud definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Narita_05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (416)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

273 - 279 of 416 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2009

I stayed here for 1 night and was upgraded to a suite. The hotel location is good - right on Sisowath Quay and while there were no major negatives, it is not a hotel I would rush to stay at again and I had a far better and more relaxing time at the Pavilion which I stayed at for 2 days (see review). The rooms are decorated in dark woods and silk accents. Overall the effect is nice, if a little dated. However, the bathrooms are very dated and overall there is something very kitsch about the place. Breakfast service was poor and service overall was average - sometimes good, sometimes non-existant. No lift is inconvenient when staying on the top floors. Overall, an ok stay.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsbali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2009

Rather a late review, but wanted to warn travellers about what happened when we stayed at this hotel. We had a bad experience from booking in to hotel to being robbed in our room on the first night. We were in the suite on the top of the building which was locked via two doors and had a cage over the roof terrace to stop intruders coming in. We woke up in the morning to find out that during the night we had been robbed of our cameras, mobile phone and money. This must have been an inside job because there was a footprint on the window sill from the connecting room which had 2 locks. We also dined in the hotel on the first night which has a good french restaurant and wondered whether we had been sleeping pills put in our food or drinks as it was really odd that 2 light sleepers did not wake up!! It took 2 days to get the police to come and we had to rely on the hotel staff to translate which left us stuck at the hotel for 2 days waiting for a police report that never materialised. The room was nice but I wouldn't trust the staff one bit and the service was awful. I would be interested to know whether this has happened to any one else or whether we were just unfortunate

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marymoosehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mabe0304, Owner at Bougainvillier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2009

Thank you for giving us your comments; I m Mr Matter. Owner of Bougainvillier Hotel. I remember your story two an half years ago. At that time we had a construction beside our Hotel. It didn t had anything to do we our Hotel. When you made your complain we could hardly believe but of course we took it seriously. I hired special guards hidden arround the buildind. Nobody except me knew it. after 5 days we katched a guy in the same suite you had; he was in fact a guard himself from the construction side who could go trought a very small space in the fences. we handed him over to the Police station. After this we reinforce the fences. Since that time I hired my own guards. We also installed recently a complet camera system. all the entrance and staircases are under vieo surveillance. It is also recomanded to customers to lock their windows and doors. All rooms have a private safe to secure your items. But don't think Cambodia is a dangerous country. Nowadays this can unfortunately happen anywhere in any Country. Some other storries also happen. Custpmers complain their camera was stollen but in fact they forget in their taxis or others find them again in the bottom of their luggages etc. We work hard everydays to make your stay comfortable, amusant and secure. Sorry if we failed sometimes. We recommande also all the guests to take care and put their valuables in the safe an not to show to much their big cameras or jeweleries. we are in one of the poorest country in the world. Merci beaucoup. Bernard Matter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2009

This is a late review. Stayed at Bougainvillier for 2 nights from 22/8/09. Read the mixed bag of reviews from TA; wanted to stay on Sisowath Quay. Booked via internet through Agoda at very good rates. Organised via email with hotel an airport to hotel pick up for $US10 and also a bus to Siem Reap $US10 each.
Staff: Courteous and willing to assist.
Hotel: Is 2 shop fronts and very long. Foyer is narrow, an oriental design complete with a rickshaw and deep. Next door is the restaurant on ground floor with connecting doorway. Enter your rooms past the reception. Staircases to left and right to the rooms. No lift.
Room: Superior 3rd floor 65 steps. Good size room, high ceilings, dark furnishings, red walls and poor lightening. No tea/coffee facilities had to order from restaurant. Quick and affordable. Large bathroom; hot water ran out, towels thin and modest. We were upgraded to Suite on 1st floor as husband was recovering from a knee injury and stairs were aggravating his injury. Suite was fantastic it is spacious, light, cool with good quality furnishing. Bathroom is huge but had a mold smell. Loved it and would definitely stay again.
Food: Breakfast was small, functional and adequate. Had dinner; very good, I had foie de gras with truffle sauce on tagliatelle and husband had Angus beef. Imagine eating such food in Cambodia.
Location: excellent, walking distance to major sites, night market and FCC for happy hour.
We had no problems with noise, there was construction next door. Seem to miss it.

Phnom Penh and this hotel was like a roller coaster ride; lots of mixed emotions but everything ended on a positive note and we want to come back for more.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Willkeeptravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2009

On the negative:
1) No hot water. We were moved for shower taking to other rooms until the other rooms did not have hot water neither.
2) Bad smell in bathroom
3) Reception staff not particularly helpful (sometimes hide behind the English excuse)
Like some others said, it might not be a "Bougainvillier" thing but more a country/region thing.
4) No chair in bedroom (where do I put my clothes?)
5) A pair of sleepers would have been nice considering the tile flooring can be a bit cold

On the positive:
1) decoration in the room is tasty
2) restaurant is very nice
3) river view suite is roomy and not too loud.

This hotel has good potential but it is wasted on things that should be taken for granted.
Next trip to Phnom Penh, we will stick to Himawari and we will just walk 5 minutes to the restaurant.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ragou_toutou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2009

The Bougainvillier Hotel was an oasis of tranquillity within a hectic environment known as Phnom Penh. The staff arranged petals on our bed for our anniversary, congratulated us and were most charming. This attitude remained the norm from all staff throughout our stay.
The room was absolutely fantastic, very large, beautifully appointed with quality Cambodian furniture and polished wood throughout, it was spotlessly clean at all times and had good views of the river.
Breakfast was a delight with choices of English, Continental, Cambodian and as much as you could eat, setting you up for a busy day of sight seeing, the evening meals were equally good.
I would recommend this hotel for those who like a good quality service and surroundings.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belt020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2009

Hotel was great with no negatives. To be brief:
Arrival/Staff: Quick, attentive, friendly staff. Welcoming drinks of fresh squeezed orange juice brought to us on tray as we checked in. Room shown to us, baggage carried for us to the room. Staff inspected and made sure we were satisfied with room.
Room: King size bed in a larger than expected immaculate and beautifully furnished period setting. Air conditioner already on (not that common in Cambodia we learned) and icy cold.
Restaurant: white linen tablecloth settings with a wide assortment of foods. Staff incredibly attentive. It felt like we had the full attention of every staff in the hotel. The included complimentary breakfast was a full, hot buffet, much much better than what we found anywhere else at this price in Cambodia (or SE Asia for that matter).
Value: At about the same price as the Pavilion which we also stayed in and were happy with, but needed a place to stay when we arrived in town early and the Pavilion was booked, we actually much preferred the Bouganvillier for the above pluses.
Extras: We booked the forward trip on to Ho Chi Minh City from this hotel, and found it to be a bargain with a reputable bus company, Mekong Express, that picked us up on time from in front of our hotel.
Will stay in this hotel if we are ever in Phnom Penh again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Citimowse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
#27 of 274 in Phnom Penh
405 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Grand Mekong
Le Grand Mekong
#106 of 274 in Phnom Penh
228 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ohana Phnom Penh Palace Hotel
Ohana Phnom Penh Palace Hotel
#53 of 274 in Phnom Penh
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lux Riverside Hotel & Apartments
0.0 mi away
The Quay Boutique Hotel
The Quay Boutique Hotel
#212 of 274 in Phnom Penh
418 reviews
0.0 mi away
AMANJAYA Pancam Suites Hotel
AMANJAYA Pancam Suites Hotel
#48 of 274 in Phnom Penh
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bougainvillier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bougainvillier Hotel

Address: # 277C Sisowath Quay, Phnom Penh 855, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#37 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $32 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bougainvillier Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on the riverfront in the touristic and lively area, Bougainvillier Hotel is a perfect place for all guests to explore the top Phnom Penh Landmarks such as 3 minute walking to the Royal Palace, Silver Pagoda, National Museum, Banks and Night market. The Phnom Penh International Airport is a 25 minute driver away.Guests can enjoy free use of the outdoor pool and sauna facilities located just 35 metres from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bougainvillier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainvillier Hotel Phnom Penh
Bougainvillier Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing