We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bougainvillier Hotel
Ranked #62 of 269 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
“We loved it”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

After a few accommodation experiences in Cambodia and Phnom Penh during 2 weeks, this hotel was a welcome surprise. It's located in the center within walking distance of the Royal Palace, Silver Pagoda, river and other tourist spots. The rooms are very well maintained, clean and comfortable. Views from balcony of the Sisowath Quay and river are great.
The staff is very warm and inviting, especially Mister Noon, one of the restaurant waiters.
The breakfast was excellent with options for an Asian, American or European style meal.
The roof top bar was nice for a light meal or drink at the end of the day.
It's not a perfect hotel (the lift isn't finished), but you can't beat the location and the views.
Definitely a very good place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 710RoB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard M, Owner at Bougainvillier Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you so much taking your time to write us a review. We are happy you liked our hotel and try to improve every days to give more services and train our staff. e hope we can see again at Bougainvillier hotel on your next trip to Phnom Penh.
Kind Regards
Bernard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    175
    74
    35
    21
See reviews for
25
152
91
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Killarney, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for three nights and it was great!
The rooms are huge clean with good aircon. We had a balcony that opened up onto the Riverside.
It was great to sit on the balcony at night and watch the traffic and people go by.
The hotel is central to a lot of sight seeing attractions and offered friendly service.
The breakfast is a big buffet with a huge choice of meals and fresh products. We loved it!
We will recommend this hotel for his great location and for the friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard M, Owner at Bougainvillier Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Cathleen,
Thank you so much for taking your time to send us a nice review. We are happy you liked Bougainvillier hotel and our suites and will continue to train our staff to give you the best service you deserve. Hope to see you again.
Kind Regards,
Bernard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We arrived in Phnom Penh and started our trip at this hotel which was very clean and the staff was very courteous and helpful.
Our room had a balcony that over looked the Mekong river and was great to watch all the boat traffic coming and going in addition to the on going night life.
So close to Palace and all the sites, strolling distance. Turn left twice and you are straight in a gritty local market. Well worth staying here just for these things, priceless.
Comfortable beds, all amenities in rooms. Very good choice of buffet breakfast. The rooftop terrace is the perfect place to start or spend your evening.
You hear the street noise but this is part of a Phnom Penh experience.
We would recommend Bougainvillier to our friends and specially the generous buffet breakfast served every morning.

Room Tip: Definitely you should take rooms on the riverside!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank al_willys_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard M, Owner at Bougainvillier Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear AL,
Thank you so much for your nice review and for taking your time to write and send it. We appreciate your liked our hotel and services and always try to improve and train our staff. Hope to see you if you would decide to come back to visit or relax in our wonderful city.
Kind regards
Bernard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This is my first time in Phnom Penh. The Bougainvillier Hotel in Phnom Penh is an excellent place to learn about Phnom Penh as the hotel is located near the museum, Silver Pagoda and the Royal Palace. Out of the door, turn left, 2 km of good bars and restaurants to choose from along the waterfront.
The rooms overlooking the river give you a glimpse of the economic activity of the area.
The roof top bar Frangipania is a great place to spend the evening sipping your favorite drink, eating some delicious piece of pizza and enjoying the view.
The accommodations are very large and you tend to get lost. We had a balcony that opened up onto the great Riverside view.
Breakfast buffet there is great with a large choice. Friendly staff, good English speaking and helpful, like most of the Khmer people.
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: I recommend Riverside rooms for the view, so great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisafitz38us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard M, Owner at Bougainvillier Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Lis.
Thank you to take time to submit your review. I highly appreciate your comment and I'm very happy that you liked our hotel and services. We train our staff every day and try to improve our services
kind Regards,
Bernard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel primarily for its location on the river front and so glad we did. It was fantastic sitting out on our balcony and watching the place wake up and also watching the night life down on the river front.
We had booked the top floor room but on arrival the stairs up were a killer. It was sooooo hot. The room was also hot so we asked for another room lower down. The rooms were amazing. So big and so clean.
The staff were so lovely and friendly but some things were out of their control ie the wifi was TERRIBLE and the breakfast wasn't too flags either. We ate there the first morning then went next door to The Karma Restaurant that was brilliant.
I'm not sure if I would stay here again. I'm torn between the brilliant possie but the very average brekki and wifi. I think I would probably look at something else if we ever travel back to PP again

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank georgiefisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard M, Owner at Bougainvillier Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you Georgie for taking your time to send your review.
We approved a lot on our breakfast and it is included in the room charge. We have now over fifty different kinds of dishes who can please every palate. Sorry we cannot meet your favorite. Karma restaurant beside is a very simple Khmer restaurant witch offers very very simple food. But your taste is yours and everybody have a different one. Most of our customers are very happy with our offer. Thank you so much for your comment and maybe you could tell us what was missing.
Sincerely yours,bernard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

I recently stayed at the :Bougainviilier Hotel for one week; The service was fantastic from the moment I arrived. All staff . . front desk/reception, restaurant staff, securiity, house keeping were well trained, extrmely pleasant and helpful, all very service oriented. Everyone had a ready smile. The managemennt of this hotel is to be congratulated. The hotel room, restaurant and lobby decor, ambience is well thought out, with a definitely Khmer aritistic mood. I plan to return to the Bougainvillier Hotel for my next visits to Phnom Penh.

Room Tip: Rooms on lower floors easier to climb for us older people. Hotel is very willing to assist you to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard M, Owner at Bougainvillier Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Tom,
Thank you so much for your nice review. It is always a pleasure that our guests like our hotel and services.We try our best to train the staff in a customer oriented way. Even sometimes a small problem could happen. thank you to take your time writing to us and hope to see you soon at Bougainvillier Hotel.
Kind Regards,
Bernard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

I have stayed many times at the Bougainvillier. I like its excellent location, the spacious rooms and large bathrooms. I always feel that it is worth paying a bit more to have a suite with a balcony overlooking the animated quay. The Junior Suites seem to be more modern and have the most daylight.
There is no lift and not all stairways have handrails.
The rooms are large are comfortably furnished.
The large-screen TV and free WiFi worked well. There is a small safe and a mini bar. The curtains do not block the light so the room is very bright early in the morning.
There is plenty of hot water but in the shower, I could never get the cold and hot water to mix. Either the water was cold or very hot.
The buffet breakfast has a good variety of mostly western choices. I found the Asian noodle soup was very disappointing.
For me, the best attraction of the Bougainvillier is the rooftop restaurant overlooking the quay. It is quite a climb to get up there (no handrail) but it is well worth it. They do Happy Hour and serve pasta dishes, pizzas and a few other choices. I enjoy spending evenings up there in an open garden atmosphere enjoying the view over the quay. The music is soft and the service is very attentive.
The Royal Palace, the National Museum and many restaurants are within easy walking distance. There are a couple of aggressive tuk-tuk drivers in front of the hotel who can be annoying.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hal38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard M, Owner at Bougainvillier Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Hal
Thank to take your time to send us your review. I highly appreciate your comment witch was useful for us and I'm very happy you liked our hotel and services. Our maintenance fixed the hot and cold water problem. Hand rails is the way as well asthe lift but needs a little bit more time. Thank for coming back to Bougainvillier hotel and hope to meet you next if you come back to Phnom Penh.
Kind Regards,
Bernard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
#26 of 269 in Phnom Penh
391 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Quay Boutique Hotel
The Quay Boutique Hotel
#209 of 269 in Phnom Penh
413 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ohana Phnom Penh Palace Hotel
Ohana Phnom Penh Palace Hotel
#51 of 269 in Phnom Penh
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Grand Mekong
Le Grand Mekong
#105 of 269 in Phnom Penh
226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden House International
Golden House International
#64 of 269 in Phnom Penh
166 reviews
0.0 mi away
AMANJAYA Pancam Suites Hotel
AMANJAYA Pancam Suites Hotel
#47 of 269 in Phnom Penh
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bougainvillier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bougainvillier Hotel

Property: Bougainvillier Hotel
Address: #277C, Sisowath Quay (Riverfront)., Phnom Penh 855, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#36 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bougainvillier Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on the riverfront in the touristic and lively area, Bougainvillier Hotel is a perfect place for all guests to explore the top Phnom Penh Landmarks such as 3 minute walking to the Royal Palace, Silver Pagoda, National Museum, Banks and Night market. The Phnom Penh International Airport is a 25 minute driver away.Guests can enjoy free use of the outdoor pool and sauna facilities located just 35 metres from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bougainvillier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainvillier Hotel Phnom Penh
Bougainvillier Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing