We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy, stylish, classic” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bougainvillier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bougainvillier Hotel
Ranked #62 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Cosy, stylish, classic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

If your after an upmarket-yet-understated hotel experience in Phnom Penh, then I think this could be the hotel for you. The rooms are very comfortable and attractive, good appliances and fantastic bathrooms. The breakfast buffet is reasonable and the lobbies are also attractive.

Room Tip: There are two buildings on the same block that have the hotel rooms. One of the buildings has a roof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank everyday-onwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard M, Owner at Bougainvillier Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
dear LaCam,
Thank you very much to stay with us at Bougainvillier hotel. We appreciate you liked it and took your time to send us your review , We hope to see you next time if you come back to Phnom Penh.
Sincerely yours,
Bernard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    172
    74
    34
    21
See reviews for
25
152
89
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

This place is a bit of a joke! It's basically a 5th floor walk up. The stairs are shinny and when carrying an infant, frankly a health hazard. There also seems to be very little indication that there is no lift/elevator. We were given a room on the 2nd floor after clearly indicating that we were travelling with a child. Once we arrived the room was scruffy and run down and the cot the provided was more like a prison than a cot. Small room and very overpriced for what it was.

When we said we were going to move to another hotel the tried to suggest that bookings dot com would take a days deposit, they didn't, they tried to charge us twice, will check bank details to see if the got away with this and they also tried to charge for stuff fro. The mini bar which we didn't have!

They are Crooks! Stay away from this place!

The breakfast wasn't bad though and the restaurant staff were very friendly.

Room Tip: Don't do it!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank capataz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard M, Owner at Bougainvillier Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you Sir for your review.
What you say is unacceptable. Our buildings have 3 floors and only one have 4 floors and the room you reserved is 28 sqm. This is the smallest we have and the price is reasonable around 82 UsD including two buffet breakfasts bathrobes safes free tea and coffee hair dryer etc.. Our baby cots are free new, in very good condition and like all other baby cots on the market. By the way in Cambodia we cannot find 1000 models. Our rooms are clean and nice maintained. Everything inside is working well. If you make reservation through a booking agent trough internet you pay them directly and not the hotels. If you wish to cancel one night you also need to go trough the same booking agent otherwise they will charge you all the trip. We didn t take any money from you we don t even have you credit card No because you book trough booking.com and they pay us. We have bell boys who carry you luggage and when they show you your room they check with you your minibar and it was full. The next morning one drink was missing but even than we did not charge you. We always admit and repair it when we have a mistake because Cambodia is not New York or Paris. Training the staff is very difficult because of their inexperience and education but what you said was really wrong Sir.
Sincerely yours.
Bernard Matter Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Our stay in this nice and charming hotel has been a real great experience for us and our 2 sons ( 6 years and 6 months) .
Hotel and restaurant were exactly as per our expectations and even more .
Our suite was well and nicely furbish with this so delicate and original Asian touch and with all accessories we needed . Beds were very comfortable even my baby enjoy his cradle . Discrete and efficient room service his an additional positive points for this place.
Restaurant gave us the opportunity to experience excellent French (try the home made duck liver) or Khmer cuisine ( I liked the loklak) in a so well decorated room. Customer satisfaction is real with the possibility to have pizza/hamburger serve to my older sons and top of the top as we got an home made ( by the chef) vegetable puree for my baby . If you want something different no need to go far , just go up at the Frangipania Terasse Pizza / grill , were you will enjoy an awesome and relaxing view of the Tonle Sap and Mekong river . All of this with a surprising quality of service , by kind professional and dedicated staff, for a such country . Definitively with his prior location in Phnom Penh , with an easy access to temples , Royal palace, locals market , the hotel is a place to go and stay . That the way , we liked it and I'm sure you will too .

Room Tip: if available , ask for one suite on the front side .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard M, Owner at Bougainvillier Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Sam, Thank you so much for your wonderful review and taking your precious to time to write it. We appreciate that you like both of our restaurants and our services. We will continue ti improve and train our staff. Our rooftop bar overlooking the Mekong river becomes very famous in Phnom Penh. We hope to meet you next time if you have the opportunity to come back to our Bougainvillier hotel and our wonderful city.
Sincerely yours.
Bernard
Owner of Bougainvillier hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Spending your vacation at Hotel Bougainvillier will make your holiday dream becoming true in a full of charm and relaxing atmosphere.
Spend the night in the elegant decorated and comfortable bedrooms, have a private breakfast on your large balcony appreciating the river view and let you serve by the friendly and professional staffs. On top if that, the hotel is ideally situated for day trips to explore the city. Bougainvillier a beautiful flower among the hotel!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Guillon-Verne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard M, Owner at Bougainvillier Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Guillon-Verne T,
Thank you so much to take the time to send us your review. We appreciate you liked our hotel and services and hope we can meet you in your next trip in our wonderful city to make your stay unforgettable one more time.
Kind Regards,
Bernard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

I had the chance to stay to that lovely hotel for couple of days, and everything was just so perfect. I was with my wife and my 2 young children, and all of us enjoy so much.
The hotel is very charming, a Boutique hotel, so well located, beautiful view on the river, close to main monuments / museums / temples...Our room was very well arranged and clean. We enjoyed also the 2 restaurants there. We had a lovely and typical Christmas dinner at Bougainvillier with dishes we could not expect to find in Phom Phen, tables and chairs are great, and the restaurant atmosphere make us feel like home for Christmas (even got Christmas carols our that children really enjoyed). I would also emphasize that not only food is good but also service and staff kindness. Our second experience was at top rough Frangipania Pizzeria, great location to be at sunset with a Buy one get one free drink offer, and pizzas are delicious. Will definetely come back to that hotel and recommend to my friends that wish to spend a couple of nice days in Phnom Penh.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2012Alexis20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard M, Owner at Bougainvillier Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Alexis,
Thant you so much to take your precious time to send us your review. We appreciate you liked our hotel and services. We are very happy that you feel home with your family because we made this hotel for you. To relax and thinking of nothing else than spend a good time with your family. We train our staff every days and will continue to improve to make your stay better the next time if you have the chance to come back to our wonderful city of Phnom Penh. I will tell our French Chef Guillaume That you feel comfortable in our two restaurants and enjoyed his meals. Thank you one more time for your time and your stay.
Sincerely yours,
Bernard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udon Thani
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

As everybody says the rooms were huge & luxurious. Also very comfortable.
The included breakfast needs a bit of work to be honest. The evening menu looked impressive but the breakfast was forgetful enough for me to try one of the plenty of options readily available instead.
Reception staff could not have been pleasanter or more helpful a real credit to the place.
I will certainly book again the next time I visit PP early next year.

Room Tip: The river rooms have a nice view & balcony but it is a busy road early in the morning so maybe n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bob_helm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard M, Manager at Bougainvillier Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Bob,
Thank you so much for your review and taking your time to write it. Many of our rooms have antiques that I purchase in all the country. It is Khmer, Chinese Khmer and French Colonial style furniture. We improved our buffet breakfast. So your review is very helpful for us. Hope you will join us next time on your return trip to Cambodia and Phnom Penh.
Sincerely yours,
Bernard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

While the balcony rooms are nice and quite large with a great view of the street and riverfront below, and the staff are super friendly, that is the only positive I can find.

The rooms are noisy and the elevator, which has been discussed for years on here, is still not working. It was 70 steps up to my third floor room, which I am sorry but they get very old after a while. Every evening after being out touring all day I would return to the room to rest and shower. Every evening I would get a call about an hour later to come down and move my car for whatever reason. That was ridiculous! After the third day I had had enough!

This place charges an ultra premium price by Phnom Penh standards, over $100 per night. When I asked if my driver could use the facilities after touring they added an additional $16 per day for the costs.

While cute and decorated in traditional Khmer style there was a gross lack of attention to detail. They provide bottled water for free, but it is the cheapest you can buy. The bath was done in blue tile with a dark green sink and toilet. The seat on the toilet was white. Sure everything functioned but this to me represents a lack of caring by the hotel owners. The bathroom sink faucet was so loose you could spin it around and there is no hot water at the sink for us yanks who prefer to shave with hot water. The shower had scalding hot water that would definitely burn you if not careful.

The breakfast provided in the morning was poor. The first day I went to the restaurant and sat down. There was only one employee in the room and I was never acknowledged. I saw that it was buffet style so went to get some food. The one employee did make sure I did not eat without providing my meal ticket however. There was an omelet station but nobody to cook and the huge coffee urn was empty in spite of the fact that breakfast had only been open an hour. As I ate, without coffee, I watched the big urn erupt in steam from being run dry. Still there was nobody around. I was surprised to see the coffee out the next day but it was pretty horrible. Wonder why? LOL!

All things considered I would never stay here again and would find it very difficult to give a recommendation to fellow travelers. You can do much better in Phnom Penh for much less money.

I am allowing a rating of two only because the desk staff and security out front were so nice.

Room Tip: Street noise from balcony rooms is very high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RickN6900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard M, Owner at Bougainvillier Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear valued customer.
Thank you so much for your review.
The room you had is the Superior suite overlooking the MEKONG RIVER and 56 sqm size.
All rooms are charged single or double. If you make reservation for single and bring a friend for the night we will charge an additional $16 as per double room ( hot water , towels, breakfast ...) We never charge for a short visit in your room.

All bottles of water on the market have the same price except you take import ones like Evian, Perrier, San Pellegrino...Our sealed bottles we offer for you are free charge but you can have some in our minibar like big brands that we charge.
Our buffet breakfast have 38 different items who can please every palate as westerners, Asians etc. Sorry we cannot match your taste. We will check more carefully our staff and train them to take more attention to our dear valued guests.
Sorry everything was so bad for you. Rarely have guests who don't like anything. The furniture and decoration are bought at the antique market to give a special vintage felling to our hotel like you could find in the past when Cambodia was the most beautiful country in South East Asia.However we have the last technologies in terms of security wifi etc. We will check more carefully about the small details.
Thanks once again for your feedback.
Sincerely yours.
Bernard Matter. Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Grand Mekong
Le Grand Mekong
#102 of 274 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.0 mi away
AMANJAYA Pancam Suites Hotel
AMANJAYA Pancam Suites Hotel
#54 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
#28 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Golden House International
Golden House International
#68 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ohana Phnom Penh Palace Hotel
Ohana Phnom Penh Palace Hotel
#66 of 274 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Quay Boutique Hotel
The Quay Boutique Hotel
#95 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bougainvillier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bougainvillier Hotel

Property: Bougainvillier Hotel
Address: #277C, Sisowath Quay (Riverfront)., Phnom Penh 855, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#33 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bougainvillier Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on the riverfront in the touristic and lively area, Bougainvillier Hotel is a perfect place for all guests to explore the top Phnom Penh Landmarks such as 3 minute walking to the Royal Palace, Silver Pagoda, National Museum, Banks and Night market. The Phnom Penh International Airport is a 25 minute driver away.Guests can enjoy free use of the outdoor pool and sauna facilities located just 35 metres from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Bougainvillier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainvillier Hotel Phnom Penh
Bougainvillier Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing