We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, lovely hotel - let down by service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bougainvillier Hotel
Ranked #65 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great location, lovely hotel - let down by service”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This hotel is superbly placed on Sisowath Quay, right on the riverfront and in the heart of the action. The hotel itself is over five levels, accessible only by stairs. Being on the top floor (as I was) can be a bits daunting. The rooms are quite simple but lovely. All in all, this should have been a great experience.

However, the service let the hotel down badly. My friend's room had no hot water and this was not fixed properly during our five day stay, despite complaining politely each day. Despite a late model flat screen TV, I had no reception and this was not fixed either.

Annoyingly, the rooms were not serviced until late afternoon each day, which was precisely the time we were returning from our day's activities and wished to rest before dinner.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AustraliaAthena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluelove168, Manager at Bougainvillier Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest greeting from Bougainvillier Hotel & Restaurant!

I would like to thank you very much for staying with us at Bougainvillier Hotel and rating your stay on TripAdvisor as superbly placed on Sisowath Quay, right on the riverfront and in the heart of the action.

It has been a pleasure having you stay with us and regarding to the service and room had no hot water I have shared with our colleagues to take seriously actions look in to it. but all our hotel's rooms are with hot/cold water and our maintenance is stand by 24hours a day.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Bougainvillier Hotel, Phnom Penh's "Oasis for the Well Traveled".

With kind regards,

Lak Sokchan
Sales Manager
sales@bougainvillierhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    172
    74
    35
    21
See reviews for
25
152
89
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We were quite disappointed with our stay. The hotel was a little dated and the rooms need to be renovated. For the price im sure you can find a better deal elsewhere. The view from the room was terrible (city view), the bathroom floor had hair all over and the standard was generally sub -par. The location was good with walking distance to markets and lots of riverside restaurants. The staff were ok and the breakfast staff were great.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelSam123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluelove168, Manager at Bougainvillier Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest greeting from Bougainvillier Hotel & Restaurant!

I would like to thank you very much for staying with us at Bougainvillier Hotel and rating your stay on TripAdvisor as good location within walking distance to the tourist sights

It has been a pleasure having you stay with us and regarding to the bathroom had hair I have shared with our colleagues to take seriously actions look in to it.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Bougainvillier Hotel, Phnom Penh's for the Well Traveled".

With kind regards,

Lak Sokchan
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I had a mixed experience here. The only reason I haven't given 5 stars for everything was because my 'deluxe' room with a city view was a gross let down. Everything else was perfect.

My first night was incredibly disappointing. I felt so cheated! My confirmation said "Deluxe Single (queen size bed) with window city view back side". There was indeed a queen sized bed, and there was a window. The 'city view' turned out to be a window that looked straight onto the wall of the neighbouring building. It was a very nice room, but it was dark and most people would consider the 'city view' claim to be misleading advertising. I wouldn't particularly recommend one of these rooms. The location is good and the facilities ok, but I think you could do better for the same price.

Fortunately I pointed out my disappointment to management the next morning. They obviously care about their customer's happiness, because I was then upgraded for the rest of my stay -- to a garden suite on the top floor of their other building, just two doors down the street (note that reception is in the main building, as is the door-man, though security seemed good in both buildings).

The rest of my stay (3 nights) was fantastic. They moved me to a suite which took the whole top floor of the building. It was a huge room, with a comfy bed, tv, fridge, etc. It had a little balcony overlooking the river, and a comfortable sitting area. Outside the front door was a garden -- bear in mind this is on the roof, but under cover -- and then the elegant bathroom. All this was behind a security grill, so I felt very safe even as a woman travelling alone. It was very luxurious and I loved staying here. My only hesitation in recommending it to anyone would be that it was up several flights of stairs. Staff carried my 20kg suitcase up the stairs like it was a feather, but you mightn't want to be negotiating the stairs if you weren't in good health.

A wonderful buffet breakfast (with eggs cooked however you want them) was included and was excellent! You get hassled by tuk tuk drivers every time you leave the hotel -- but that's Cambodia for you. If you're not interested, just smile and say a pleasant "no thanks" as you walk away. If you want a tuk tuk or car, the hotel can help you organise this. They booked my airport transfer when I arrived and, although my plane was 3 hours late and the humidity was extreme, my poor car and driver were still waiting for me, sadly standing there in the burning sun holding a card with my name on it, when my plane finally landed and I got out of the airport (bear aware that clearing immigration isn't necessarily a quick process). He was so obliging and helpful, so I'd definitely let the hotel arrange your transfer rather than trying to sort it out yourself on arrival.

The location is great, right on the river. It's just 5mins down the street from the palace and other tourist sites. I took a tuk tuk to Cheoung Ek (the Killing Fields) and the Tuol Sleng Genocide Museum (the old school), which was a dusty longish ride -- my darling tuk tuk driver even stopped to buy me a mask to cover my mouth at one point. But I was glad I'd gone that way because it gave me more of an insight into the city. We stopped at the Russian Market on the way back and it was a really interesting day. So this hotel is a good central location for getting around to tourist spots. It was 15mins walk (5 mins by tuk tuk) to the Central Market, which is next door to the Sorya Shopping Centre where there are safe ATMs to use and lots of shops to interest visitors.

I'd recommend the Bougainvillier Hotel. Just make sure you get a fabulous top floor suite :-)

Room Tip: Splash out and get a roof top garden suite. They're gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atheoretical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluelove168, Manager at Bougainvillier Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Value Guest,

Warmest greeting from Bougainvillier Hotel & Restaurant!

we would like to thank you very much for your staying with us at Bougainvillier Hotel and thanks very much for your time to rating your stayed as Wonderful location & Fabulous top floor suite on tripadvisor.

we look forward to chance welcoming you back to Bougainvillier Hotel, Phnom Penh soon.

Best regards,

Lak Sokchan
sales@bougainvillierhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I have stayed in bougainvilliet hotel all times i come to cambodia i really enjoy my stay in here the staff are helpful breakfast is good with friendly staff my room is large with over look to rivers only short hotel no left but it ok for me. I would higtly recommend this hotel to every one.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluesky1234783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluelove168, Manager at Bougainvillier Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Value Guests,

warmest greeting from Bougainvillier Hotel & Restaurant, Phnom Penh!

I was delighted when reading your review on TripAdvisor, Everyone at the hotel works very hard to consistently deliver heartfelt and personalized service to our guests. Your illustrations will certainly be shared with everyone within the hotel since such are of greatest motivation.

We look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back hopefully soon to Bougainvillier Boutique Hotel!

Kindest Regards,

Lak Sokchan. Mr
Sales Manager
sales@bougainvillierhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed in a suite on the top floor with views over the river.
Good points: The room was large and clean with a separate outdoor (shaded) lounge area. A/C powerful enough for the height of summer. Reasonable breakfast selection, including some live cooking (eggs, noodles). Great location, close to attractions and sights, helpful and friendly staff.
Bad points: Bathroom was not ensuite the sleeping area, accessed only via outdoor lounge area. Privacy issue as there is another suite next door and only a bamboo fence (i.e. with gaps) between the respective lounge areas of the two suites. No lift.

Room Tip: Top floor suites are nice, but note that there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluelove168, Manager at Bougainvillier Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Value Guest,

Warmest greeting from Bougainvillier Hotel & Restaurants!

We are delighted that your stay with us was memorable and enchanting. All of your praises will be shared with my team since such are of exceptional means of motivation to everyone.

I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay recently at Bougainvillier Hotel and would like to sincerely thank you for recommending us on Trip Advisor.

The entire team at Bougainvillier looks forward to welcoming you back to Phnom Penh's 'Oasis for the Well Travelled'.

Kindest Regards,

Lak Sokchan
Sales Manager
sales@bougainvillierhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

It is a 4 storied hotel without an elevator. Just hope you don't get the 4th floor rooms(we did!). The reception is a little gaudy with animal print furnishing & over the top lighting.
Rooms are clean but basic. The view from the standard room is bad. No faucet in the bathroom either. Rooms also too small with tacky oriental decor.
The air con in our room wasn't working so we luckily got a free upgrade to the suite room.
These rooms were large, with a great view of the Mekong. The wooden ceiling, oriental dark wood furniture & comfy bed were a delightful change from the standard rooms. Huge drawing room. Large bathroom with a tub & hand shower.
Service was just about ok. We had to wait for a good 15minutes before we could check into our room. Calls to the reception went unanswered a couple of times. Buffet breakfast was ordinary.
As long as you pick the suite room on one of the lower floors, this is a good option. Else, skip it.

Room Tip: Suite rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShilpaNayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard M, Owner at Bougainvillier Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear valued customer,
Thank you so much for taking some time to send us your review. We are very happy that you liked our hotel, restaurants and services. Hope to see you again with us during your next trip to Phnom Penh.
Sincerely yours,
Bernard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We arrived at the Bougainvillier a day before our reservation by mistake. Not only was the hotel incredibly accommodating they also made sure we were comfortable and relaxed during a potentially stressful situation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystal Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluelove168, Manager at Bougainvillier Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Value Guest,

Warmest greeting from Bougainvillier Hotel & Restaurants!

We are delighted that your stay with us was memorable and enchanting. All of your praises will be shared with my team since such are of exceptional means of motivation to everyone.

I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay recently at Bougainvillier Hotel and would like to sincerely thank you for recommending us on Trip Advisor.

The entire team at Bougainvillier looks forward to welcoming you back to Phnom Penh's 'Oasis for the Well Travelled'.

Kindest Regards,

Lak Sokchan
Sales Manager
sales@bougainvillierhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.0 mi away
AMANJAYA Pancam Suites Hotel
AMANJAYA Pancam Suites Hotel
#48 of 267 in Phnom Penh
408 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ohana Phnom Penh Palace Hotel
Ohana Phnom Penh Palace Hotel
#55 of 267 in Phnom Penh
463 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
#26 of 267 in Phnom Penh
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Grand Mekong
Le Grand Mekong
#101 of 267 in Phnom Penh
226 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Quay Boutique Hotel
The Quay Boutique Hotel
#85 of 267 in Phnom Penh
421 reviews
0.0 mi away
FCC Phnom Penh
FCC Phnom Penh
#89 of 267 in Phnom Penh
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bougainvillier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bougainvillier Hotel

Property: Bougainvillier Hotel
Address: #277C, Sisowath Quay (Riverfront)., Phnom Penh 855, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#36 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bougainvillier Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on the riverfront in the touristic and lively area, Bougainvillier Hotel is a perfect place for all guests to explore the top Phnom Penh Landmarks such as 3 minute walking to the Royal Palace, Silver Pagoda, National Museum, Banks and Night market. The Phnom Penh International Airport is a 25 minute driver away.Guests can enjoy free use of the outdoor pool and sauna facilities located just 35 metres from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Bougainvillier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainvillier Hotel Phnom Penh
Bougainvillier Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing