We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Nice Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bougainvillier Hotel
Ranked #85 of 278 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We arrived at the Bougainvillier a day before our reservation by mistake. Not only was the hotel incredibly accommodating they also made sure we were comfortable and relaxed during a potentially stressful situation.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crystal Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluelove168, Manager at Bougainvillier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Dear Value Guest,

Warmest greeting from Bougainvillier Hotel & Restaurants!

We are delighted that your stay with us was memorable and enchanting. All of your praises will be shared with my team since such are of exceptional means of motivation to everyone.

I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay recently at Bougainvillier Hotel and would like to sincerely thank you for recommending us on Trip Advisor.

The entire team at Bougainvillier looks forward to welcoming you back to Phnom Penh's 'Oasis for the Well Travelled'.

Kindest Regards,

Lak Sokchan
Sales Manager
sales@bougainvillierhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (423)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

177 - 183 of 423 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel- great suite with a view of the Mekong. Friendly service, included a substantial buffet breakfast. Downside- no elevator and if you have a balcony, there is noise from traffic below. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kilichick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluelove168, Manager at Bougainvillier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2012

Dear Value Guest,

Warmest greeting from Bougainvillier Hotel & Restaurants!

We are delighted that your stay with us was memorable and enchanting. All of your praises will be shared with my team since such are of exceptional means of motivation to everyone.

I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay recently at Bougainvillier Hotel and would like to sincerely thank you for recommending us on Trip Advisor.

The entire team at Bougainvillier looks forward to welcoming you back to Phnom Penh's 'Oasis for the Well Travelled'.

Kindest Regards,

Lak Sokchan
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I have stayed several times at the Bougainvillier; There is no lift but everything else is great. The rooms are large and comfortable. Those with views overlooking the quai have balconies with superb views.. There is also a rooftop garden restaurant with a lovely view. It is a bit of a climb up to the 5th floor in a stairway with no handrail, but I enjoy going there for Happy Hour followed by a meal of pizza or pasta. The waiters are very attentive and speak good English. Usually the hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. It depends on who is on duty. Guests are allowed in the rooms if they leave their ID card at reception. Just outside the hotel entrance, there are several very competitive tuk-tuk drivers who can sometimes be annoying. The Royal Palace and National Museum are within easy walking distance, and there are many restaurants and a couple of banks nearby. I'll look forward to staying at the Bougainvillier on my next visit to Phnom Penh.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hal38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluelove168, Manager at Bougainvillier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

Dear Value Guest,

Warmest greeting from Bougainvillier Hotel & Restaurants!

Thank you very much for staying with us at Bougainvillier Hotel and thanks for your kind recommendation on Trip Advisor and for sharing all of your observations and impressions of great location on riverfront, helpful and friendly staffs...with large room and comfortable overlooking the river views through private balcony.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to Bougainvilier Hotel - Phnom Penh's residential sanctuary.

Kindest Regards,

Lak Sokchan
Sales Manager
sales@bougainvillierhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

It's a lovely hotel overlooking the Mekong. The rooms are spacious and boutique style. Very East meets East with the flavour of a bit of Western. 5* or even 4* would have toothbrush, comb and bars of soap in the room but not here. The little things make the difference.

The Restaurant is good, not flashy with a small menu suggesting the food should be exceptional. It's not, but it is adequately good. Food and drinks have to be paid for at point of sale rather than booking to your room so make sure you have cash. VAT at 10% is added to all bills.

Service is good although in the restaurant a bit over attentive. The waiters/waitresses watch over you in an intrusive way despite the fact that they maybe a few tables away. However, that said it is good service.

If TV is important to you, digital flat screen was available and most channels show series and films in English.

Access to rooms is by stairs. A lift is currently being constructed but I cannot say when it will be finished.

The roof top bar and pizzeria is quite relaxing of an evening. The view over the Mekong at night is uninspiring as not much goes on in the river at night!

Having said all the above, it is a hotel I would recommend.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank colinrbush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluelove168, Manager at Bougainvillier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

Dear Value Guest,

Warmest greeting from Bougainvillier Hotel!

The entire team at Bougainvillier Hotel is humbled by your praises of a lovely hotel overlooking the Mekong river. The rooms are spacious and boutique style.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Bougainvillier Hotel 'Phnom Penh's Oasis for the Well Travelled'!

Kindest Regards,

Lak Sokchan
Sales Manager
sales@bougainvillierhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We loved this hotel for the great location and the staff who were friendly, helpful, hospitable and couldn't do enough for us. Nothing was too much trouble.

Unfortunately there is no lift in the building so it was a long trudge "up the mountain" as I told the receptionists, who thought it a great joke. Once we reached the sanctuary of our beautiful cool room it was worth the climb and we could sit out on the balcony watch the river and all the activity in the street below and enjoy a nice cold (very cheap) beer.

We've been to PP a number of times but this was the first time in this hotel. We've decided to make it our base for future trips and hopefully one day the promised installation of the lift will be a reality rather than a dream.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the front of the hotel where you can see the riverside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelkat88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluelove168, Manager at Bougainvillier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

Dear Value Guest,

Warmest greeting from Bougainvillier Hotel!

I would like to thank you again for staying with us at Bougainvillier Hotel. It has been a pleasure having you with us and Every colleague at the hotel is thankful for such and very much motivated to continuously striving for high levels of guest satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Bougainvillier Hotel & Restaurant, Phnom Penh, Cambodia.

Kindest Regards,

Lak Sokcha
Sales Manager
sales@bougainvillierhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is an excellent hotel; indeed one of the best boutique hotels in Phnom Penh with magnificent views over the Mekong and excellent service and staff, up to a point. But at $130/night (B and B) for perhaps one of the best old style rooms in Phnom Penh management needs to pay attention to the many small details that make a great hotel and 'walk the floors.' Having good rooms and fine views does not justify 5 star prices unless there is 5 star services
Examples:
Day 1. My room was not serviced - bed not made up, bathroom not cleaned.
Same day laundry came back 24 hours late. Same day laundry should be a given in a hot climate with visitors moving on after one or two days (no laundry bags and list, perhaps says it all)
Day 2. Coffee urn at breakfast empty; fruit not replaced
Power cut - but no candles or torch in the room. A telephone call pointing out the obvious (that there was a power cut and apologising is helpful!)
In my opinion the staff are excellent but unless senior management checks the fine detail and pays attention to detail standards will slip.
Perhaps when I asked about when the manager would be in I was told 10.00 am. Drwa your own conclusions!
Given the above, and I travel on business and holiday world wide, I expect better on the detail in an a expensive hotel, whilst accepting that the faults, relatively minor overall, can be corrected

Room Tip: Others have commented that the rooms are noisy. Being on the front overlooking the Quay, I would di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scorchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluelove168, Manager at Bougainvillier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear Value Guest,

Warmest greeting from Bougainvillier Hotel!

Thank you very much for staying with us at Bougainvillier Hotel and for your kind recommendation on Trip Advisor as an excellent hotel; indeed one of the best boutique hotels in Phnom Penh with magnificent views over the Mekong and excellent service and staff. I truly appreciate your comments as it relates to the room cleaning, breakfast and laundry we take to be wash almost 24 hrs please rest assured that your observations will be followed up and please accepted our deeply apologize for this convenience.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Bougainvillier in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Lak Sokchan
sales@bougainvillierhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We are staying 10 weeks in Phnom Penh, working on a contract. After looking around, we chose an extended stay at Bougainvillier because of the location and service. We have a large 3rd floor suite with great view of the river, and people gathering to jog, walk or do zumba. The hotel is a refurbished house; our large suite has amazing decor and furnishings. The friendly staff even exceeds what seems to be the norm for gracious Cambodian service. Very good breakfast included with the room. The manager has gone out of his way to make our stay enjoyable and workable. We left for a short business trip and came back the other evening, tired and worn, to an immaculate room and a fresh bowl of Cambodian fruit. It's close to the produce markets, Royal Palace and all the activity and restaurants on the river. Also has a deal for swimming in great pool at another hotel next door. Only downside, no fitness center.

Room Tip: Go for large suites facing the river; back rooms are less expensive but smaller and not as nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CindyChoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluelove168, Manager at Bougainvillier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear Value Guest,

Warmest greeting from Bougainvillier Hotel & Restaurant!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure having you with us at Bougainvillier Hotel. I truly appreciate your comments as it relates to our great suite view view room and location on the riverside close to the Royal Palace as well the friendly and helpful staff our colleagues were delighted about your commend.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Bougainvillier Hotel in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Lak Sokchan
sales@bougainvillierhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.2 mi away
Angkor International Hotel
Angkor International Hotel
#60 of 278 in Phnom Penh
609 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#81 of 278 in Phnom Penh
378 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eureka Villas Phnom Penh
Eureka Villas Phnom Penh
#50 of 278 in Phnom Penh
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Silver River Hotel
Silver River Hotel
#58 of 278 in Phnom Penh
526 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
#36 of 278 in Phnom Penh
439 reviews
2.6 mi away
New Midtown Hotel
New Midtown Hotel
#57 of 278 in Phnom Penh
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bougainvillier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bougainvillier Hotel

Address: # 277C Sisowath Quay, Phnom Penh 855, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#44 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $29 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bougainvillier Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on the riverfront in the touristic and lively area, Bougainvillier Hotel is a perfect place for all guests to explore the top Phnom Penh Landmarks such as 3 minute walking to the Royal Palace, Silver Pagoda, National Museum, Banks and Night market. The Phnom Penh International Airport is a 25 minute driver away.Guests can enjoy free use of the outdoor pool and sauna facilities located just 35 metres from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bougainvillier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainvillier Hotel Phnom Penh
Bougainvillier Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing