We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, good value boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bougainvillier Hotel
Ranked #65 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Phnom Penh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, good value boutique hotel”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

The rooms are very spacious and nice decorated. The hotel was very clean!! Location is perfect - close to restaurants, bars and grand palace. To visit the genocide museum, take a tuk tuk (5-7$)...

The staff is really really friendly and VERY helpful and the breakfast was great. Thanks a lot!!

would recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: low floor river views rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Micky2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bougainvillierhotel, Manager at Bougainvillier Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear Sir/ Madam,

warmest greeting from Bougainvillier Boutique Hotel & Restaurant, Phnom Penh!

I was delighted when reading your review on TripAdvisor, Everyone at the hotel works very hard to consistently deliver heartfelt and personalized service to our guests. Your illustrations will certainly be shared with everyone within the hotel since such are of greatest motivation.

We look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back hopefully soon to Bougainvillier Boutique Hotel!

Kindest Regards,

Lak Sokchan. Mr
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    174
    74
    35
    21
See reviews for
25
152
90
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

I stayed in Bougainvillier Boutique Hotel several times over the past few years, and I always enjoyed staying there. The rooms are compared to other hotels in Phnom Penh relatively expensive but still cheap compared to most other cities in Asia (50 - 80 USD depending on the room type and season).

The bustling life on the riverside road can be watched if you have a room with balcony to the street - it's relaxing and interesting. The rooms are clean, management of the hotel is good, breakfast now available and good quality (years ago no breakfast, if I remember correctly). Internet works fine in the rooms.

I usually stay in the old building with the Korean style Suites / Rooms - and there is no elevator, a lot of stairs have to be climbed up. I like that to a certain extend, but people who do not like to walk / climb steps should chose a different hotel.

Room Tip: Take a room with river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kurt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bougainvillierhotel, Manager at Bougainvillier Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear Sir/ Madam,

warmest greeting from Bougainvillier Boutique Hotel & Restaurant!

I was delighted to read that your experiences during your return to our hotel and our hotel is in the perfect location on riverside for touristic attraction.

Your kind words praise relating to our facilities, room, breakfast, internet wifi work fine...
We are delighted that your stay was memorable and look forward to welcoming you back hopefully very soon to Bougainvillier Boutique hotel, Phnom Penh's "Oasis for the Well Travelled".

Best wishes,

Kindest Regards,

Lak Sokchan. Mr
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

Booked hotel online for 5 nights rate was $65 a night including breakfast. On arrival our room was at the rear with no balcony. Friendly staff changed our room to a river front room with balcony. Large exellent room with great views. Priced jumped to $105 per night. Asked to view the pool and we were lead outside down the road around the corner to another hotel to a ordinary indoor pool. Not impressed so no relaxing swim for 5 days. We decided to stay but didn't check out any other hotels close by for price or facilities. No elevated just miles and miles of stairs. You gotta be joking !! Lucky we was on the second level. First morning we went for breakfast and cockroaches were running over the uncooked food. Wife had no breakfast for the whole stay. Great location on the river front close to all the action and night activity. Overall our room was very good and all staff very friendly but we believe for what we got the price was very expensive

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Magpieman4361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard M, Owner at Bougainvillier Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Valued Customer,
Thank you so much for taking some time to send us your review. We are very happy that you liked our hotel,. We will check closer for about informations . Hope to see you again with us during your next trip to Phnom Penh.
Sincerely yours,
Bernard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

As Eric Cartman would exclaim "m-meehhhh!! ... not those stairs".

We stayed here twice. Two different rooms. Both involved climbing significant staircases.

I have very mixed feelings about this hotel.

On the plus side both rooms we stayed in were clean and nicely decorated. (The hotel operates from two adjacent buildings). Breakfast was good.

The street outside is great. Some fine bars and cafes. In particular, a french style cafe on the corner (sadly I've forgotten the name), had fantastic (but somewhat expensive) european food.

On the downside is a set of common complaints with Asian hotels:

- The hotel organized a tour guide that wasn't particularly honest. For example, he promised that a taxi would collect us from a tour boat and of course it never arrived. When we complained to the hotel front-desk they said they would contact him and pay a refund .. I'll let the reader guess if this happened.

- The gave us little fruit drinks on arrival. This may seem like a sweet welcoming gesture, but fruit drinks on arrival means that check-in is probably going to take at least 30 minutes.

- The offer of a prostitute a four in the morning was a lovely gesture. Sadly my wife answered the phone and refused the proposition. I often wonder if I customers pay hookers for the 15 minutes required to climb the staircase and the subsequent 30 minutes recovery time. On a more serious note, this call came from within the hotel and I would seriously urge all travellers in Asia to be cautious.

The final nail in the coffin for this hotel is the price. It is very expensive. I believe that it was one of the first hotels in Phnom Penn to have an online presence and was popular but better hotels are available.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gnxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bougainvillierhotel, Manager at Bougainvillier Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Sir/ Madam,

warmest greeting from Bougainvillier Boutique Hotel & Restaurant, Phnom Penh, Cambodia!

We thank you very much for taking the time to write this review and we are very grateful for your feedback.

we delightful to inform that, our hotel's is not provided a tour arrangement services to the customers, but we do provided the information if needed related to each sight-seeing start time and close time only. Our standard checking-in time is 14.00 and check-out time is 12.00noon for early checking-in are subject to room availabilities.

Our hotel are very strictly not allow sex worker to come in and our staffs have join the training every 3 months from child safe network. we are seriously have report this problem to police as well the Cambodia Hotel Association.

please highly understanding and accept our apology. we would still be looking forward to being in service again with your future booking.

Have a great day!

Lak Sokchan
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

stayed on third floor and was surprised to find that there was no elevator. not too bad a walk but be ready. nice Italian restaurant & bar on the roof. The wifi was not very good but it worked sometimes. bath & shower were very good & lots of tv channels when you need a rest from the crazy times in Phnom Penh.

Room Tip: get a mini suite with a river front view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Feedmethai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard M, Owner at Bougainvillier Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Valued Customer,
Thank you so much for taking some time to send us your review. We are very happy that you liked our hotel, restaurants and services. Hope to see you again with us during your next trip to Phnom Penh.
Sincerely yours,
Bernard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Very good location with a nice view of the Mekong and merging of the Tonle Sap and Bassac Rivers. The rooms are a bit dated and the amenities are just basic. There is a mini bar in the suite I rented and it was stocked with a good selection of local and European snacks.
The hallway from the lobby was very dirty and smelled so bad that I had to hold my breath from entering the hallway until I could get into my room on the 2nd floor!
Breakfast was complimentary and was just so-so, and the coffee was miserable!
There is a rooftop bar and has a nice view during the afternoon. At night, there is nothing to see.

Room Tip: Book a suite (good value) if you need to add another bed, like a fold-out. There is a large living...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeaducedByTheSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bougainvillierhotel, Manager at Bougainvillier Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear SeaducedBytheSea,

Warmest greeting from Bougainvillier Boutique Hotel & Restaurant, Phnom Penh!

We would like to thank you very much for taking time to write the review and we are very grateful for your advice. Our buffet breakfast have 40 different items of selected.

We try not to give the toothbrush or shaving-kit, because it made with plastic that we have to throw and pollute our environment. if needed customer can buy at our reception and continue to use after.

Regarding to the bobby smelled as some time have raining in city it may spread over the
drain . please highly understanding and accept our apology. We will take this into seriously improvement as we strive to provide a superior service experience for our customers

we would still be looking forward to being in service again with your future booking.

Have a great day!

Lak Sokchan. Mr
Sales Manager
sales@bougainvillierhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Ideally situated on Sisowath Quay and close to the Royal Palace and other attractions, this clean and comfortable hotel is recommended in the sometimes 'hit and miss' Phnom Penh hotel sector. It offers spacious rooms, a stylish restaurant and friendly staff and an excellent rooftop bar overlooking the Tonle Sap/Mekong rivers (and with a tempting 'happy hour' with delicious French wine). An elevator is currently under construction (July 2012) and will be a welcome addition, especially for visitors with mobility issues or just for those keen to get to the rooftop bar...... A stay at this hotel is good value for money and is to be recommended.

Room Tip: Try to secure a front-facing room with glorious views over the waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennifer b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard M, Owner at Bougainvillier Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Jennifer
Thank you so much for taking some time to send us your review. We are very happy that you liked our hotel,. We will check closer for about informations . Hope to see you again with us during your next trip to Phnom Penh.
Sincerely yours,
Bernard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
#26 of 267 in Phnom Penh
381 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ohana Phnom Penh Palace Hotel
Ohana Phnom Penh Palace Hotel
#52 of 267 in Phnom Penh
466 reviews
0.0 mi away
AMANJAYA Pancam Suites Hotel
AMANJAYA Pancam Suites Hotel
#47 of 267 in Phnom Penh
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Golden House International
Golden House International
#67 of 267 in Phnom Penh
165 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Quay Boutique Hotel
The Quay Boutique Hotel
#77 of 267 in Phnom Penh
429 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Grand Mekong
Le Grand Mekong
#102 of 267 in Phnom Penh
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bougainvillier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bougainvillier Hotel

Property: Bougainvillier Hotel
Address: #277C, Sisowath Quay (Riverfront)., Phnom Penh 855, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#38 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bougainvillier Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on the riverfront in the touristic and lively area, Bougainvillier Hotel is a perfect place for all guests to explore the top Phnom Penh Landmarks such as 3 minute walking to the Royal Palace, Silver Pagoda, National Museum, Banks and Night market. The Phnom Penh International Airport is a 25 minute driver away.Guests can enjoy free use of the outdoor pool and sauna facilities located just 35 metres from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bougainvillier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainvillier Hotel Phnom Penh
Bougainvillier Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing