We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Wonderful Hotel in Phnom Penh” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Billabong Hotel & Hostel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Billabong Hotel & Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Hotel in Phnom Penh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2009

My friends and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and loved every minute of it.
They have a saltwater pool, with lots of poolside lounging chairs, which is much appreciated after spending a day in the hot Cambodian sun.
The hotel rooms are spacious and clean - the beds had memory foam mattresses and were comfortable. Rooms were airconditioned and had ceiling fans. The rooms also overlook the pool and most of them have a balcony with chairs and table. The rooms also had a mini fridge and a tv with cable.
The bathrooms were clean and had hot water.
Breakfast is included in the room rate which you can enjoy at anytime of the day in the restaurant area, which is outside next to the pool.
They have internet at reception that you can use.
The hotel is relatively close to the riverside - although at night time some might prefer to take a tuktuk ride home rather than walking in the crazy Phnom Penh traffic. The lucky market is also close by.
This hotel was a little overpriced in comparision to the cost of daily activities in Cambodia, but is well worth it. You get away from the crazy city noise and have a wonderful place to rest and relax. The restaurant even serves lunch and dinner (not included in room rates).
Finally, the staff at the Billabong hotel were great. Very helpful and friendly.
My friends and I booked boatrides through the Mekong river, hired a taxi driver for a day to take us to the Genocide Museum and killing fields and booked a bus ride to take us to Siem Reap.
We were well taken care of at the Billabong!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PStoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    388
    105
    25
    13
See reviews for
184
277
190
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2009

Rooms are comfortable and well-decorated, with nice touches here and there (rattan mats over the tile on the floor, etc.) However, the prices are very high for a mid-range hotel in Phnom Penh, and the staff is quite jaded about tourists and offers little service with no smiles. Particularly bad was the young desk clerk who was downright irritated and unhappy about having to do basically anything, even take the credit card payment that they accomodate. You pay for the pool, here, basically; the space that could be taken up by more rooms is taken up by a very nice saltwater pool which is absolutely lovely smack-dab in the middle of Phnom Penh, and perfect for an afternoon swim when the heat gets to its worst in the city. It is also very close to the Sorya Shopping Center and the Psar Thmei as well (Central Market), so it is very convenient in terms of location. However, at nearly $60 for a room overlooking the pool (which they all do), this is quite pricey given the size of the room and the general atmosphere. Breakfast should be included in the rate and is a decent meal to start the day with, but nothing special (toast was dead on arrival; baguettes available everywhere else in Cambodia were nowhere to be found). There are better choices in PP unless you absolutely need a pool; perhaps best if you have kids travelling together. Far from the waterfront so keep that also in mind if you're looking for nightlife; you'll have to depend on motos or taxis at night as the walk is not recommended.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank srd6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2009

It’s really a small, lovely oasis in noisy Phnom Phen center area.
The hotel is near the Center market, actually you could easily watch that famous dome of it if you go out of the hotel. And it is about 5 minutes by tutu/20 minutes on foot west of Royal Palace and museum area. Once inside everything gets quiet and peace. There’s a lovely dining area with white canvas-like roof and decorated with lots of tropical vegetation, which is stylish and chic. It’s salt water pool is perfect too. I really enjoy it after the expedition around the Royal Palace and the museum. The gentle light around the pool make it much charming than daytime. The room is clean and well kept, though seems a little bit small. The bed is a bit cushion soft, but it’s OK for me. Bath room is clean and comparatively big enough with hot water ( yet the pressure is not that strong). The most impressive aspect of Billabong is wonderful service their staff provided- always friendly, helpful and gentle. When we booked drop off service from them, the receptionist check our taking off time carefully to make sure we get enough time to finish whole process. They also provide fresh, tasty and various breakfast which begin at 6:00 (that means even your bus will pick you up in early morning, you still get time to enjoy it)
Overall, highly recommend this lovely boutique hotel if you have to stay in PP for a night before heading to Siem Reap, that would be the best choice at same value.

  • Liked — great staff, wonderful pool
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kimi0406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2009

Pros: pool/courtyard, staff, location, and breakfast

Cons: Dim lighting in the rooms, unusable/slow Internet, and construction noise (literally 6 feet from our room) starting at 6am at the property next door

At $36/night, this was much more expensive than others we found to be available in better parts of the city. If you do stay with Billabong, make sure you bring earplugs and ask if the construction is still going on. My guess is that it will be another few months at the earliest.

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
Thank ciaoamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2008

Me and Girlfriend stayed in this hotel whilst travelling round Cambodia. If you’re looking for a step up from the standard back packing hotels then this is it. One of if not the best places we stayed in Cambodia. Because we booked the morning of our arrival we didn’t have the choice of the basic room (wasn’t much more). Room was huge with warm shower and big bed, also had balcony overlooking the pool. Tuk-tuk drivers waiting out front to help:-) you get around the city at anytime of the day or night. No more than 10 -15 mins walk to main sites of Phnom Penh from Hotel door or a 2mins Tuk Tuk ride.

  • Liked — Pool
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ihatescreennames999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, England
Level Contributor
168 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2008

Booked the Billabong on a recommendation from a fellow traveller and we were not disappointed. The pool and pool area was lovely, especially when lit up at night. we had a nice swim, a few drinks, got chatting to fellow guests and ended up eating there as going out seemed far too much effort. Our room was quite small - but clean as was the bathroom. It was a great place to be based for checking out PP. We returned to PP after Siem Reap and wanted to come back to the Billabong but they were fully booked.

  • Liked — The pool and outside area
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank fsba20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2008

Our four night stay started with a late afternoon after a long bus ride from Siem Reap. The hotels outer facade does not give rise to high expectations. Once inside its but a different world, tropical garden, tented pavilion restaurant area, pool and wooden decking.
Check In is very relaxed and low key and the friendly atmosphere was the a key feature of our stay.
We are a family of four and stay on the ground floor by the pool. Rooms were large enough for us with two children 10 and 13, tastefully decorated and comfortable.
The pool is great. Those with young kids there is no life guard.
The restaurant was actually very good especially in comparison with other places we had been to in Cambodia and Thailand. The coffee and wines were stand out, as some places have been very hit and miss.
Overall a relaxing stay, in a chaotic city.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jonaustra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.6 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 273 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
2.3 mi away
New Midtown Hotel
New Midtown Hotel
#40 of 273 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Frangipani Living Arts Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#22 of 273 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
0.5 mi away
Okay Boutique Hotel
Okay Boutique Hotel
#32 of 273 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 273 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Billabong Hotel & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billabong Hotel & Hostel

Property: Billabong Hotel & Hostel
Address: 5, Street 158, Phnom Penh, Cambodia (Formerly The Billabong Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 210 Specialty Lodging in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Billabong Hotel & Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst landscaped gardens, Billabong Hotel is located in Phnom Penh, a 5-minute drive from the Royal Palace and National Museum. It offers free Wi-Fi and a freeform salt-water outdoor pool.Air-conditioned rooms are equipped with a cable/satellite TV, minibar and personal safe. En suite bathrooms come with a hairdryer and hot water showers.The tour desk can arrange day trips to attractions in and around Phnom Penh. The hotel also provides laundry services and a 24-hour front desk.The hotel's restaurant serves a selection of Asian and Western dishes. Refreshing cocktails are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your Billabong Hotel & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Billabong Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing