We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, Clean and Great Location”
Review of Billabong Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Billabong Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed in a family room with our two teenage daughters. The room was lovely and clean and decorated beautifully. To walk back into the hotel after a hectic day on the streets of PP was delightful. You would never guess the hustle and bustle that was going on just metres away from the front door as it was so peaceful and quiet. The lovely pool and outdoor area was superb and relaxing. The food was great and a lovely breakfast was provided. (they also made a lovely cappuccino, which was hard to find in PP). The staff were lovely and helpful. The hotel was very central and an easy walk to the markets and the centre of PP. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the billabong and would definitely stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,080)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

539 - 545 of 1,080 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed for three nights at the Billabong. The room we had looked nice, but unfortunately there was a very strong smell of mould in the bathroom, sometimes aswell in the room. Our room was not located close to a street, so there was not a lot of traffic noise. Unfortunately every time someone closed a door even 2 floors down we heared a loud closing sound, which disturbed sleeping although we used earplugs.
They do not have a buffet breakfast, you can choose one item from their menu. If you ask for fruits, they´ll bring you some. The hotel is located close to the center.
The pool is nice feature.

We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billabong-Management, Manager at Billabong Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Thank you for your review.
We are in the process of fixing automatic door closes throughout the hotel. This quietens the closure and are already installed in one of the buildings.

The mold smell would have been the drain as there is no mold in the bathrooms and they are cleaned everyday. The drain may not inserted correctly after cleaning. But as with many issues as these please inform management so we can find a quick resolution.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

This hotel is a few minutes walk from the central market and the hustle & bustle of city life.However,the calm,friendly & efficient hotel is a peaceful delight. My room was large,clean,with a good,modern,bathroom. A flat screen TV had some English language channels.The room overlooked the pool,which never seemed to be crowded.Breakfast was fine,egg&bacon if desired,fruit,as much tea,coffee,toast as required.No hard sell of tours,but bookings available if needed. The young staff were exceptionally friendly & professional.No complaints at all.

Room Tip: Poolside if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrissyboyWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Location: It is a few minutes walk to the Central Market, in the immediate vicinity there are various shopping and nightlife options. The Riverside, Royal Palace and National Museum are not far away and can be reached in walking distance in about 15-25 minutes, or by Tuk-Tuk for about $ 2. Nevertheless, the immediate surroundings are very quiet.

Room: I'm a solo traveler and had a room with a double bed. I wouldn't like to stay in that room with 2 people as it's, for my opinion, too small. But it was clean with a minibar, safe and a old TV (no flat). Unfortunately wasn't there a chair or anything to use as shelf. The only "cabinet" was 2 m up in the air you're not able to reach without a ladder. And the mattress was very hard... but I guess that's everywhere in Asia. ;-)

Service: I was treated always friendly and courteous. The requests of the guests are taken care of immediately and reliably. Tips and Tuk-Tuks are available.

Food: The breakfast was OK, unfortunately didn't they have such much typical Cambodian kitchen on the menu like, for instant, a soup. It's more Western style (Burger, Sandwich).

Others: The pool was quit attractive but without any sunshade. Internet is available free of charge and pretty fast.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasei_hh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed at the Billabong for at 6 days in July 2013. My husband, daughter and I were visiting our son, his wife and grandchild who are living there. Our son was able to bring his family to visit us in the comfort of the hotel. We found the room and pool to be clean. Loved our poolside room tucked back the corner with our own table and chairs outside our door. Management was very accommodating by keeping some of our luggage while we visited Siem Reap. We arrived back to the hotel after several days and was able to stay another two days. We arrived early in the am after a night bus from Siem Reap exhausted and they had a room ready for us to check in early. Loved the convenience of having the restaurant there with breakfast each morning.

Planning another trip back in 2015 to see another grandchild and will definitely make the Billabong our home away from home again.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laursample
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Nice and clean hotel conveniently located and away from the main roads, perfect location slightly away from the hustle and bustle of Phnom Penh, and yet in the center of Phnom Penh and a few blocks away from bars and restaurants

I had a spacious poolside room with a cozy sitting outside the door. Recommend you ask for a room on the pool as some of the back of other buildings face.

Excellent breakfast served every morning. Very friendly staff.

If I would definitely return to this hotel. Return to Phnom Penh Excellent value!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hanskrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Nice clean hotel conveniently located and off the main roads. Perfect oasis away from the hussle and bussle of Phnom Penh.

I had a spacious room with a balcony overlooking the pool. Recommend you ask for a room overlooking pool as some face the back of other buildings.

Excellent breakfast provided each morning. Very friendly staff.

If I returned to Phnom Penh I would certainly return to this hotel. Excellent value!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony overlooking pool. It is a minor upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DHelyar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
1.1 mi away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#82 of 281 in Phnom Penh
382 reviews
0.3 mi away
G Mekong Hotel
G Mekong Hotel
#11 of 281 in Phnom Penh
316 reviews
0.3 mi away
SLA Boutique Hostel
SLA Boutique Hostel
#4 of 257 in Phnom Penh
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Eighty8 Backpackers
Eighty8 Backpackers
#5 of 257 in Phnom Penh
749 reviews
1.1 mi away
Envoy Hostel and Tours
Envoy Hostel and Tours
#6 of 257 in Phnom Penh
164 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lovely Jubbly Villa
Lovely Jubbly Villa
#22 of 257 in Phnom Penh
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Billabong Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billabong Hostel

Address: 5, Street 158, Phnom Penh, Cambodia (Formerly The Billabong Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 257 Specialty Lodging in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $11 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Billabong Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located. Free WIFI. 24 hours Reception. Large saltwater swimming pool and garden. Hot showers. Fully air-conditioned rooms. Inner spring mattresses. All rooms have ensuite bathrooms. Quality Linens. Only minutes from Central Market, Sorya Department Stores. 1km from the Riverfront. Featuring a restaurant and bar with cosy hangout areas around the pool. All our spacious rooms have comfy beds, private showers, toilet facilities, air conditioning, and lockers for your belongings. You'll get a set of bed linen, towel, Wi-Fi as well as maps with all essential information about the going-ons in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Billabong Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Billabong Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing