We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel at reasonable price”
Review of Billabong Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Billabong Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Hotel at reasonable price”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for the final night of a school expedition travelling around Cambodia for a month. Compared to the guesthouses we had been staying in for the rest of the trip, this hotel seemed like paradise!

Service was good - the staff at reception did everything expected of a good hotel, were very polite and spoke relatively good English by Cambodian standards. The communal areas were very nice - free wifi, a computer and a lovely area to relax around the pool on the sun loungers and chairs. Complementary breakfast in the morning was very nice, consisting of cereal, toast, a choice of cooked breakfasts plus tea and coffee. The location was great for seeing Phnom Penh, with Central Market just a 10 minute walk away and tuktuks constantly outside.

The rooms were great - we had a four person room on the ground floor which was very spacious and clean. It had a DVD player with free DVD's available to borrow from the bar, as well as air conditioning and ceiling fans. The bathroom was amazing - the tiling was to a high standard and everything of great quality. We found it incredibly luxurious and great value for money!

Room Tip: From the other reviews here it would appear that ground floor rooms have the nicer bathroom. However...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidWHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    420
    111
    27
    14
See reviews for
190
296
223
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed here for one night and then returned after being in Siem Reap. We got it mainly because the pool, and we knew we would want to catch some ZZZZ and relax on our return.

We had booked a room with a pool view, and we got one on the first floor. The room was comfy but basic, and an outdated shower/toilet area. On our return though we got a ground floor pool room, which was much nicer, more spacious and a really nice rainfall shower. Definitely request this room if you decide to stay.

The staff were really friendly, the food was well prepared and tasty, the pool is a great option to hop in and cool down. The hotel is in a good location, and there are always tuck tuck outside to take you where ever.

I would highly reccomend this place for anyone planning to stay a couple of days, its pretty inexpensive (approx. $40 per room for two per night).

Room Tip: Request a ground floor pool room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philip274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergamo, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Quite location, out of the traffic jam of the center. Needing take a tuk tuk to get Riverside. The bathroom is not so nice! It looks so old even in the superior room! Not willing to have a shower inside. Bedroom nice and big. Many facilities. Nice and big TV plasma with dvd. Nice view to the swimming pool

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele110_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

The room was good and clean. The swimming pool was impressive and then location was good. These are the good points. Now the bad... Although then staff were good and attentive they had very limited knowledge about the local area and the main sites. The restaurant staff didn't speak great English and neither did the reception staff. It's very difficult to communicate effectively when no one speaks good English. The wifi was shocking and the food was expensive.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSRNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawtell, NSW Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my husband and three children in July. The hotel is in a quiet street not far from Central market, within easy walking distance. A little distance from the river front but only a short cheap Tuk Tuk ride away. This is a family friendly hotel with big rooms and a great pool.
Breakfast was included in the rates and offers a good choice. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
I would stay here again and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kehani H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Booked a superior room for 5 nights and was given a room on the 3rd floor. However, we requested to change to a room on the ground floor as there was no lift, and climbing 3 flight of stairs wasn't great fun. Last 3 nights were on the ground floor.

Pros:
Very nice salt-water swimming pool. We had a alot of fun in the swimming pool!
Staff were very friendly, except for 1 tall and slim male staff that put on a long face during our entire stay.
Shopping centre just 5-10mins walk away. Central Market slightly further up.
Tuk-tuk drivers easily arranged to go to S21 prison, killing fields etc for a fixed price.
Buffet breakfast was decent, choice of 1 main course per person with unlimited toast.
Silky bed sheet was awesome.

Cons:
Hotel was located in a dark alley, and walking back through a dark-litted street, we didn't felt safe and comfortable at all.
Bathroom was extremely terrible. Good shower, but the water will flood up the entire bathroom! The floor mat in the towel will get wet everytime we shower, making it disgusting. That got to change.

All in all, a wonderful hotel with basic amenities. However, Phnom Penh is such a boring place that I reckon spending 2-3 days there will be more than sufficient.

Room Tip: Request a room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tweien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

The Billabong is a nice place to stay. We stayed in a lovely big room on the first floor, plenty big enough for the three of us. The downside was the noise. We got noise from the floor above, reception and people passing our door. It wasn't a huge amount, but enough to be annoying at times. The phone ringing in reception did wake me up one night. The pool is great and staff are efficient. Breakfast is fine. Location is good.
If I was in Phnom Penh again, I think I may look for a hotel which is a bit better value for money, with a little more personality (maybe we were spoilt during our time in Vietnam where we stayed in divine hotels for quite a bit less)

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank briscoe111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.4 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,623 reviews
0.6 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#19 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,132 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#53 of 267 in Phnom Penh
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 267 in Phnom Penh
2,462 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
0.8 mi away
The Kabiki
The Kabiki
#18 of 267 in Phnom Penh
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Billabong Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billabong Hostel

Property: Billabong Hostel
Address: 5, Street 158, Phnom Penh, Cambodia (Formerly The Billabong Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 235 Specialty Lodging in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Billabong Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located. Free WIFI. 24 hours Reception. Large saltwater swimming pool and garden. Hot showers. Fully air-conditioned rooms. Inner spring mattresses. All rooms have ensuite bathrooms. Quality Linens. Only minutes from Central Market, Sorya Department Stores. 1km from the Riverfront. Featuring a restaurant and bar with cosy hangout areas around the pool. All our spacious rooms have comfy beds, private showers, toilet facilities, air conditioning, and lockers for your belongings. You'll get a set of bed linen, towel, Wi-Fi as well as maps with all essential information about the going-ons in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Billabong Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Billabong Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing