We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,102)
Filter reviews
1,102 results
Traveler rating
488
446
118
32
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
488
446
118
32
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscentral markettuk tukswimming poolgreat poolan oasisfemale dormkilling fieldsfamily roomair conmini fridgegreat showerbed dormrain showerstayed nightssiem reapquiet streetthe river
Filter
Updating list...
668 - 673 of 1,102 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Before we arrived to Phnom Penh, we communicated with them to arrange our bus ticket to Siem Reap and airport pick-up. They did all for us and fortunately everything went smooth especially the timing to catch the 8.45AM bus to Siem Reap. We were worried about being late, but they made sure that everything was well settled accordingly. Upon our arrival to the hotel, we had welcome coffee since it's so early we reached the hotel to wait the bus to pick us up. The room's just decent, well maintained, clean and quite big. It has aircon and fan in the room. No toothbrush and slippers provided. Each room has its own balcony. Breakfast isn't that bad. Ms. Visal's so excellent and helpful, thanks for her assistance during our stay. Upon our return to Phnom Penh from Siem Reap, we ran out of USD, and only carried SGD, no money changers found, so they lent us few to pay Tuktuk driver. It's an interesting experience actually to borrow money from hotel :)) Then after check-in we went out to find money changers. We went throughout the mall, all closed. Finally we found 1 western union. Then we return the money to the hotel. Tips, carry enough of USD, money changers are not easy to find. We took almost 2 hours to find one :((

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VivianaChang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Great little place, secluded and private. Hard to believe this place is 10 years old as it is well maintained. The pool was great, staff was awesome and helpful and breakfast was good. Stayed here for 2 nights, first night I had a standard room opposite side of the pool, room was small but manageable. The next night, I switched to a pool side room which was great. As by other reviewers, very close to the Central market and Sorya Mall along the way. Also discovered a great little restaurant just next door Docerm Russey also know as Bamboo Restaurant.

Room Tip: Go for the pool side rooms.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stallions35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed in the standard room with pool view for 3 nights. Very nice pool, which was great after a day walking around Phnom Penh. Pool was very clean and bar/breakfast area very nice, clean and staff very helpful and friendly. Breakfast did not have a lot of variety, but was ok.

Room was small and average. Air conditioner worked well. Sheets were poor, 2 mornings in a row, sheets put on the bed with holes in them. Bed was comfortable. Not what I expect from a hotel. Bathroom was very small and dated. Shower pressure was poor.

A average hotel , but good for the price.

Room Tip: Would not stay in standard room
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grahunts2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

My 18 year old son and I stayed at the Billabong 4 nights and were not in the least disappointed . Our room was clean and the friendly staff was always there to help in any way. They booked our bus tickets to Siem reap and helped my son extend his visas . The pool area was quiet and relaxing. You can walk to central market but will need a tuk tuk to get to the riverside restaurants and attractions. The food was good and loved the warm baguettes every morning. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending the Billabong to anyone looking for a nice 4 star place.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jcnilinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

we stayed as a family in room 16. That was great to watch the kids swimming.

The hotel is very nice, staff is friendly, food is good, the swimming pool is great and we loved the room! It is clean, smells good!

Two inconveniences: kitchen is closing at 8 every night, which means you need to eat early/ the sheets are way to small to fit the mattress and we ended up every morning sleeping on the mattress.. shame as there are nice and comfortable sheets!!!

All the rest was just perfect for us! kids loved this place, it is so good after a day in the capital to come back here and have a swim!

Room Tip: The ones closed to the pool (very quiet in the morning, and great to meet people and swim easily). We have not see the rooms upstairs, they are maybe good too!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AilleursEnfamille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billabong-Management, Manager at Billabong Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

We have had all our kitchen staff retrained by a French chef.
There are new dishes available and he has injected more flair to our existing menu.
During this time we closed our restaurant early as the staff were putting long days during training.
We are now back to the normal closing time of 9pm.

We have also spent time with our cleaning staff with some refresher courses. The sheets do in fact fit, but of course have to fitted correctly. We would like to ask all guests with any comments or requests to 'Please tell us'. We are here to try and make your stay the best we possible can. Many things can be fixed on the spot and we appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews