We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for good value”
Review of Billabong Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Billabong Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great hotel for good value”
Reviewed November 15, 2011

My boyfriend and I recently stayed here for three nights and were very pleased with this property. Our timing in Phnom Penh was not ideal as it followed a national holiday, so we were unable to find a chain hotel where we could use our credit card points. Thus, we emailed Billabong and they had one room available over the weekend, so we were very lucky because the entire town appeared to be sold out.

Our room was fine, but very basic. Had we been given the opportunity to upgrade our room, we would have definitely done so. Although, the bed we had was very comfortable, there was good AC, a mini-fridge, free wifi, tv w/cable, etc. The downside to the room was the bathroom. It smelled awful (sewer smell) and the shower was next to the toilet with no curtain. For some reason they had a pipe that drained water through the middle of the bathroom (poor design), so it was always wet. Since we had no other option, we sucked it up and only showered down by the pool in an attempt to reduce the amount of water in the bathroom.

Even though we were a bit disappointed with the room, the rest of the hotel made up for it. They have a fabulous pool with really comfortable chairs and the bar/restaurant area is really nice to sit and relax. The staff speaks great English and is very helpful. The breakfast is also fantastic (you order off a menu) and can be eaten at any point during the day!

The location is very convenient and about a 15 minute walk to the river. There are always tuk-tuks outside who are at your service.

Overall, despite our gloomy room, we would still recommend this hotel because there are better room options. Any of the rooms on the ground floor near the pool look great. I'd also say those with balconies are nice too.

We've been traveling SE Asia for 3 months now and we've found that it's always better to have the worst room in a nice hotel than the best room at a crappy one.

Room Tip: ground floor near pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    406
    109
    27
    13
See reviews for
187
287
211
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
globetrotter
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

This was my second trip to the Billabong and I thought it was time to write the review I was meaning to after my last stay! The Billabong is a lovely hotel, in a good location near the central market (Psar Thmei). It is away from 'the action' in a quiet-ish area but not too far...a five minute tuk tuk ride or a pleasant 15 minute stroll to Sisowath Quay and it's many bars and restaurants. The hotel has some new rooms since my last stay (in Dec 2009) and we stayed in a twin room in the new block - these are bigger than the standard rooms. However, having previously stayed in a standard room I know that although they are small, they are pleasant and the beds are comfy!! The hotel (rooms and public areas) are clean and tidy and stylishly decorated. The pool is blissful after a long day walking around the city. Breakfast is good...and the fact that you can eat it until 9pm is an unexpected bonus. The staff are helpful and can take care of booking bus tickets etc. The price is good too...you may find something cheaper in the city but you'll sacrifice on amenities. I enjoyed my stay (again) and the Billabong is definitely my hotel of choice in Phnom Penh...I just wish they had a sister place in Siem Reap!

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magicpixiejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Billabong is a great retreat in the middle on Phnom Penh near the distinctive Central Market. It has a refreshing very swimmable pool that the rooms surround - rooms are modern and well appointed. Restaurant is OK -good for breakfast or lunch for sure. One warning - across the alley is a public school - they make loudspeaker announcements at 7am- no biggee as you might be up early due to jetlag.

Room Tip: Poolside ground level is best - #19 was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktcnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

This hotel was great value for money, ideally situated in the centre of PP. The room was very spacious, clean, tidy, and the pool was great too! Food was excellent and I'd definitely recommend the Thai curry :) Overall very happy with our choice.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms are more spacious than the higher rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hopkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights and enjoyed it. Nice friendly staff, comfortable room with AC, good size balcony, cable TV and good Wi-Fi. Bathroom was a good size with walk in shower (wet floor) which delivered lots of hot water. Rooms were kept clean and towels and bedding changed daily. Breakfast was ordered off a menu with a couple of options including eggs, fruit juice, coffee, The hotel is situated near the central market and about 5 mins from the riverside area by tuk tuk. $15 a day for tuk tuk is the best way to get about the city and see the sites. If in PP we would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ade-n-Ju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

I first rocked up to this hotel on the advice of a tuk tuk driver, who happened to have a billboard for the billabong on the back of his tuk tuk. I tentatively walked in to this place thinking omg what i have i got here. This place lacks any form of style or class from the outside, but dont be fooled, once inside you will know why you are here.
It is quiet and unassuming, clean and tidy, the pool is clear and inviting(nice place to just hang out), the staff are friendly and helpful, (they even printed off my vouchers for my next hotel in saigon, and got me ice for my whisky at around midnight. ) and we got a nice room next to the pool with only an hours notice. the room cost 45 per night and was roomy and clean. This is a nice place to retreat from the hustle and bustle that is Phnom Penh and i am thankful we found it.
Breakfast is nice and they make great skinny late's on their little machine at reception (nice)

Room Tip: rooms on the ground floor your can walk out the door and your at the pool, and dont forget there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robandkaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We stayed here for one night at the beginning of our trip. After the flight and it being hot and humid it was so lovely to step into the hotel grounds which are peaceful, have a great pool and welcoming staff. The cold water on arrival was a great touch. We had a room on the first floor overlooking the pool, the room was small but functional and when booking it was clear that we were booking a small room.
There is free internet available at the reception.
Breakfast was simple but tasty, we didn't eat any other food at the hotel so can't comment.
The location of the hotel is great, within walking distance to the Central Market and the various bus offices that are located near there and a $2 tuk tuk ride to the riverfront.
We would stay here again and would have when we returned to Phnom Penh later in our trip but we were lucky enough to stay with a friend living there.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chocolou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.6 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#22 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#9 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
New Midtown Hotel
New Midtown Hotel
#47 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.4 mi away
Okay Boutique Hotel
Okay Boutique Hotel
#35 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Frangipani Living Arts Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Billabong Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billabong Hostel

Property: Billabong Hostel
Address: 5, Street 158, Phnom Penh, Cambodia (Formerly The Billabong Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 226 Specialty Lodging in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Billabong Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located. Free WIFI. 24 hours Reception. Large saltwater swimming pool and garden. Hot showers. Fully air-conditioned rooms. Inner spring mattresses. All rooms have ensuite bathrooms. Quality Linens. Only minutes from Central Market, Sorya Department Stores. 1km from the Riverfront. Featuring a restaurant and bar with cosy hangout areas around the pool. All our spacious rooms have comfy beds, private showers, toilet facilities, air conditioning, and lockers for your belongings. You'll get a set of bed linen, towel, Wi-Fi as well as maps with all essential information about the going-ons in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Billabong Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Billabong Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing