We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“staff unfriendly”
Review of Asie Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Phnom Penh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Asie Hotel
Ranked #236 of 272 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Reviewed July 8, 2006

the room was very clean and bed comfortable however that is where the good things end.
other than the cleaning staff all other staff where miserable and very unfriendly.The free breakfast is horrible and very limited-you have to pay for anything you actually want.We had one meal it was the worst food in Cambodia.The free internet and laundry is a lie.Staff do not seem to know what they are doing and look totally fed up.The lift is well dodgy-use the stairs There is no ambiance in this hotel we felt very unwelcome and it is not nice to have an advert for prostitutes on your bedside table!

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Wandabug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (17)
There are newer reviews for Asie Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 17 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2006

The Asia was refurbished (well, re-painted at least) recently, so it certainly is not shabby or tired, though the elevator is SLOW!. It's spotlessly clean throughout, everything works, the beds are very comfortable, and the staff couldn't be friendlier. Prices include breakfast from a long list of options (local and western) from 6.00 am (great for early flights out), and the aircon restaurant serves excellent food at reasonable prices at other times. The location is right where you want to be if you like the wonderful chaos of central PP, right by the central market and the long-distance buses, and if you prefer to stay away from the tourist scene on the river (though it's a nice walk along one the tree-lined streets or a $1 tuk-tuk ride, or you can't face the isolation and the muddy lanes of the backpackers' area by the lake along with the long and expensive tuk-tuk rides to get anywhere and the intrusion you inflict on the local lakeside population. You do hear the buzz of the city traffic during the day around the Asia but nothing problematic if you have a rear-facing room. It's close to Cambodian and Chinese restaurants, countless internet cafes, several well-stocked western supermakets, and the night-life on Street 51. On the vexed question of those airport pickups, yes, they do charge $7 for the run in either direction just like any taxi. One more thing: if you came to Cambodia to watch TV in your hotel rooom, you have a choice of over 70 channels, but that tends to apply in most guesthouses about about $15 in PP. Overall, the Asia is a very nice place, especially when you remember you are only paying $20 including breakfast.. I'll stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 112609h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
New Zealand
17
Reviewed April 26, 2006

This hotel has good rooms and is in a good location. But, it advertises for free airport pickup, free internet, free laundry, free water, and a 24 hour restaurant. However, none of the above is true. We had to pay for the airport parking and the driver got angry with us when we refused. The internet is one of the slowest and most expensive in Phnom Penh. You have to pay for the very bad laundry service. They lost my laundry for a day and when I did finally get it, it was still wet. They give you one 350mL bottle between two. It then took them an hour to get me a bottle of water to buy. The restaurant closes when they want to. Also, the staff are not helpful. Noone knows what is going on around the place. Listed after Coca-Cola, beer, water, food and snacks on the room service guide, Asia hotel lists prostitution as a room service. Many prostitutes are seen entering and exiting this hotel. You would be very stupid to stay here!!

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2006

Stayed at this hotel with my family and friends for 2 nights. My expectations wasn't high due to the reasonable prices of the rooms and free airport pickup. However, my stay at the hotel would have been much better if 1) the lift didn't break down a couple of times 2) computers at the lobby of the hotel were too slow for paid internet usage 3) the van the hotel used for free pick-up and paid city tours had a van air-conditioned that didn't function fully! 4) Lastly, a nasty hotel waitress refused to give us our free breakfast for one of our rooms and made us very upset with her unbecoming behavior in treating hotel guests.( she screamed and blasted at us in Cambodians which we don't understand over breakfast which was free with the room.)
Overall, we are quite satisfied with the other staff but we will never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank c_uriousMalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
London, UK
12
Reviewed February 19, 2006

Where to start. This is an old hotel. The lobby is refreshed; and its sparkle hides the aged rooms, tired, tired bathrooms, and less than welcoming staff. The lift worked when it wanted it to -I got stuck in it once when it failed -not amusing. I was charged $20 per night. Location is good if you want the city centre and onward bus travel, but I shall not be staying there again. Lobby aside, this is an $8 dollar hotel. Avoid.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2008
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Asterix29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2007
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank alea74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.0 mi away
Homeland Guesthouse
Homeland Guesthouse
#76 of 333 in Phnom Penh
134 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 272 in Phnom Penh
2,509 reviews
0.0 mi away
Okay Boutique Hotel
Okay Boutique Hotel
#35 of 272 in Phnom Penh
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
0.0 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#17 of 272 in Phnom Penh
1,171 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#74 of 272 in Phnom Penh
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asie Hotel

Address: 113-119 Monivong Blvd., Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #236 of 272 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Number of rooms: 135
Also Known As:
Asie Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing