We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel with more misses than hits”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Angkor International Hotel
Ranked #60 of 265 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
537 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“hotel with more misses than hits”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

First the good points, centrally located, quite clean, reasonably priced laundry, fair choice of tv channels, average to fair breakfast for non meat eaters, decent sized rooms and beds, free water ,comfortable reception area. Mini Mart opposite good for essentials

Now the weak points, Windows didn't shut properly so very noisy, shower wasn't always hot and couldn't be used on wall so had to juggle and ended up soaking bathroom, nowhere to hang towels or anything to dry, poor toiletries, fridge didn't work no tea or coffee making facilities, lumpy pillows, air conditioning was broken (tho there was reasonable fan).

Overall could do better but lots of potential and slightly better than average for Indochina

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacqui3744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    210
    132
    45
    20
See reviews for
55
200
116
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

the room was very spacious, clean and quiet. the air con worked well if only a little noisy at times. the safe worked which was a plus as many hotels we stayed in didn't. the shower was powerful and hot but flooded the bathroom. but unfortunately the biggest disappointment was the breakfast, it all looked very nice but was stone cold every morning which was a shame. the lift kept breaking down which was a shame when we went to leave with all our bags and struggled down the stairs.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

A decent, straight forward no hassle tourist hotel close to the river and many restaurants. Lots of rickshaws available and drivers know the hotel well.

Good sized rooms with fan and reasonably good hot shower. Wifi was slow but ok. The buffet breakfast wasn't great but edible and handy for day of touring.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cliff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
264 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Our double room was very large, and the en-suite shower was both powerful and hot. The room was spotless and was a great place to escape to after the hustle and bustle on the streets. Breakfast is included, with a buffet laid out. We also had dinner when we arrived (which was late) and it was very good.
We found a lovely tuk tuk driver outside the hotel who took us to the killing fields, the genocide museum and the Russian market.
Although abit more expensive than others, Angkor international does provide good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller10205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

Would recommend this hotel as a great base in Phnom Phen - very easy to get to all the sights and you're right in the thick of it! Still nice and quiet at bed time though! Loads of bars and restaurants on your doorstep.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

We backpacked for 5 weeks. Since we typically prefer to stay in guest houses, this was the only real hotel we stayed in because it was all we could find between Christmas and New Year's. It was a good deal at approximately $35/night. Be prepared to see 65-ish Caucasian men squiring around 18-y/o Asian young women, ie sex trafficking. This was depressing and repulsive to my daughter and met, but we're told it's prevalent. Separately, MAKE SURE TO ASK FOR BLANKETS. The beds do not come with blankets. We were really cold the first night, then we thought to ask about it the next morning. they issue them from the front desk. (This is a HOTEL and they do this! I could understand it if it were a hostel. Whatever, now you're forewarned.) Quite varied, delicious, and plentiful complimentary breakfast in the morning. Oh my gosh, you can load up and stay full the rest of the day.

Room Tip: Ask for room that's quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank USAF-Pilot-Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victor R, Front Office Manager at Angkor International Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Customer


Thanks very much for your important time to write this review about our Angkor international hotel to share with other travelers on TripAdvisor . And also I would love to take this time to write this mail to apology for every thing was happening to you during your stay at our place and want to clarify each problem as below :

1 Ask for blanket :

You are right that our hotel does not come with thick blanket but instead we have the thin one and in case you need the thick one ,you can just let the reception know then it will be at you room soon .
Because we always thinks that Cambodia is very warm for the people from the west that is why our number one concerned is how proper the AC work as we know that you really need it .

2 Sex trafficking ;

- According to Cambodian law and the regulation of the prostitution , it is prohibited . As we know that it is illegal , we do not involve in any case which is lead to sex and prostitution .

- All the customers who stay at our hotel must present the passport or Id as you did at our hotel . We do this to prevent from any criminal and other cases that we not even imagine of .

- For the couple that man and women in different age , it is their personal and nothing we can do about it as there are a lot of young women who married the old men from the west . this case lead you to think that it is a sex trafficking but it is not true and another point of view is that the Asian people look a lot younger then they are to you .

In the concussion , I would love to apology again and wish you all the best to you and your family and hope we all in Angkor inter national can service you again in the future with our best service .
And I am looking forward to talk to you again as this time we had a very nice talk about Cambodia .


With best regard

Mr Pat Syna

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

We had an enormous room, with a big double and 3 proper single beds overlooking the main entrance to the hotel. It was very clean, with lot of room for all our bags. There was sign apologising for building works on a higher floor, but as we were on the first floor it was not an issue for us at all. We did hear a bit of street noise for a short while one night, but it didn't wake the children. Well located for getting to the riverside and we enjoyed the buffet breakfast which was included in the room rate. At £24/room per night, inc breakfast for all 5 of us it was a bargain!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shearsfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
Silver River Hotel
Silver River Hotel
#52 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mito Hotel
Mito Hotel
#62 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
#80 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bougainvillier Hotel
Bougainvillier Hotel
#65 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#47 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
2.5 mi away
New Midtown Hotel
New Midtown Hotel
#40 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angkor International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angkor International Hotel

Property: Angkor International Hotel
Address: 50 Street 148 | Kandal Market, Phnom Penh 12262, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Phnom Penh
#28 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#30 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Angkor International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal location for visiting the city, or business, this hotel renovated in 2012offers all the amenities, with modern lift, large superior rooms and a buffet breakfast in the new dining room.All services, visas, bus ticket, personal safety are assured. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Angkor International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Angkor International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing