We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable, but avoid the breakfast.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Angkor International Hotel
Ranked #56 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
NYC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable, but avoid the breakfast.”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I spent only one evening in this hotel, but found the accommodations to be rather comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful upon arrival, and escorted us to our room. The new lift was rather out of place, but impressive. The room was spotless, had a comfortable bed, a proper tub in the shower (the first we encountered on our travels in Cambodia!), an efficient (if a bit noisy) air con, and big windows letting in lots of natural light. We slept well and were pleased with how close we were to the riverfront, although the hotel was initially a bit difficult to find as it's on a side street.

My only complaint would be the breakfast service. The hotel only had one waiter working for the morning rush (this was during Chinese New Year, so it was quite busy) and the poor man was running about like a chicken without a head. The menu was unimpressive, and obscenely overpriced considering we were in Cambodia, but we rationalised that it was just part of the comfort of not having to venture far. It took 10 minutes to even place our order, and another 10 minutes for the food to arrive. When it finally did, my boyfriend's omelette was overcooked on the outside and runny, completely undercooked, on the inside. The waiter was nowhere to be found, probably tending to another one of the now more than 10 tables that needed servicing, and so we had to go inside to ask for his dish to be recooked. Another 5 minutes go by, and his food arrives, but by this point, we were frustrated. We ate quickly, paid our bill ($4.50 per dish for food that costs $1.50 anywhere else in Cambodia seemed like highway robbery!) and left.

We were then accosted by an employee of the hotel who was friendly enough to try to book our bus tickets for us to go to Sihanoukville - at a commission of course. We declined, saying we were heading to the station for ourselves anyway, but he insisted to the point of annoyance. It's a rather common trait amongst Cambodians in a touristy area, so it wasn't surprising, but it was rather unwelcome from a hotel employee. We grab our bags and go to hail a tuk tuk to the station, and our friend comes out and calls one for us - the driver then tried to overcharge us for the ride and we had to haggle for a few minutes before finally continuing on our way. Again, not uncommon in Cambodia, but after breakfast, was just one more thing to frustrate us.

Overall, it's an above average hotel with sometimes overly helpful staff, but its' location makes it worthwhile. And at $22 for the night, it's just what you'd expect.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victor R, Owner at Angkor International Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear customers

Thank you for your comment.

The staff is happy that you classify Angkor International Hotel above average !

Effectively with the Chinese New Year we have worked with small teams, and we're sorry for your breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    212
    134
    45
    20
See reviews for
55
202
117
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We only spent one night in this hotel, and it was okay. There's neither anything especially positive, nor anything negative to tell, it's simply average.
The location is good, pretty near to the river where a lot of restaurants and bars are located.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeR1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arobaz, Owner at Angkor International Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Customers,

Thank you for your comment.
As 99% of our customers are happy you enjoyed the location of Angkor International Hotel.
The majority of rooms have been rebuilt, others are available for cheap, less than $ 25.
Kind regards

Victor R.
Propriétaire/Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Location is good, pretty close to the river and most of the bars and restaurants. Staff was helpful, but nothing special.
We encountered some problems with the toilet in our bathroom which smelled really bad. But apart from that the room was okay. I think we payed about $20 for a double not including breakfast. The hotel had a kind of strange atmosphere, because when we stayed there, there was only single, middle--aged men staying in the hotel. Hopefully, this is because the place attracts mostly business travellers.
I would say the hotel needs to decide whether it wants to attract business travellers or young travellers, coz it felt like an odd mix of both. But by all means not a bad hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EyelessView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arobaz, Owner at Angkor International Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear customer,

Thank you for giving your opinion about your stay at Angkor International Hotel.
We are sorry for the problem with your bathroom we immediately repaired.
Since the renovation in 2012, and the installation of a modern elevator, our clients are families, young businessmen and retirees.
We hope to see you soon included breakfast we are currently open for the month of April.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This hotel is in a great area, just 5 minutes walk from the riverside. The room itself is pretty basic and not somewhere you'd want to spend much time but tidy. The bathroom was recently redone, but quite poorly finished (grout on the tiles etc) which lets it down. Room didnt have a safe, which was a negative - although the front desk does have a safe if you want to use that. The lift is very modern and smart, but perhaps the rooms need the attention more.

Not a bad hotel by any means, but needs some work.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Robertlb85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

As we arrived things looked alright but general feeling was not to good and staff was unfriendly. After the second day we needed to change some money and we still had thai Baht... we counted our money, so we knew for sure how much we still had... we asked for changing it in the hotel but they asked a not fair rate so we went to the official exchange... knowing that we wanted to change thai money they probably suspected that we had more in the hotel room... the day after, right before we left we quickly counted the money again, which was in a wallet in our bags under clothes in the room! And there appeared to be 4000 baht (120us dollar) missing. They do it in such a cunning way that they don't take all but only like 1/3 of what is there so when you check if there is still money you don't realize that some notes are missing (in this case 4 notes of 1000 in a total of 12 notes), and when you do realize its either to late or you've been to so many places that you might think you lost it yourself... Its only because we counted to money the day before and at that time that we were ABSOLUTELY sure that someone with a key to the room from the hotel must have taken it! When we went to complain, they basically laughed in our face!! being rude telling us that we must have lost it or something else!!! they did not want to call the police and told us this was the first time ever... but, when we asked tuk tuk driver same thing had happened a couple times before already! So they lied about that as well!

If you still want to go there, which I discouraged fully... count you money in the room every day!!

I think they have been doing this for a long time because in this way you are never sure where or when you lost your money and so it almost never gets back to them!!
Also they had all the answers ready when we came to complain so my feeling is they either all know this or this is for sure not the first time as also the tuk tuk driver said!

very unhappy couple...!!!

Room Tip: stay away from this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roscoe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victor R, Director of Sales at Angkor International Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Customer,
The reception informed me of your claim of an amount you claimed missing in your room?
Upon your arrival, you have a free safe deposit box at the front desk to let all your assets and documents.
Our rules are posted in the lobby near the elevator panel "customer information" which states that we will not be responsible if this negligence on your part.
Sorry for your misfortune, but you must understand that you have been negligent and that our
Management can not be responsible, especially as you are the only person in 15 months I run hotel that has this problem!
Assuming you have also threatened to spread our reception on all websites that information, but be aware that we do not give in to blackmail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This place is central downtown and walking distance the all sites, Mekong river, and the Markets.
Located center city for these prices for a clean, safe comfortable hotel. The staff and the owner is very helpful and did everything they could to accommodate us.
Best dollars value, thank you :-))

Room Tip: Rooms renoved
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linette050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bienne, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I stayed in Angkor International hotel two times two nights in January 2013.
The friendly welcome of the helpful and efficient staff at the lobby gave me immediately a warm feeling.
I loved the lively surroundings both in the little streets around with many restaurants, the riverside and both Kandal and Old markets.
My renovated room was large and comfortable, with good free wifi speed.
Taking my breakfast outside is a treat if you appreciate the lively environment.
I highly recommend this hotel for its location, its friendly staff and its very good value for the money.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcracine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
Silver River Hotel
Silver River Hotel
#49 of 267 in Phnom Penh
509 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#55 of 267 in Phnom Penh
356 reviews
0.2 mi away
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
#70 of 267 in Phnom Penh
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mito Hotel
Mito Hotel
#60 of 267 in Phnom Penh
171 reviews
2.5 mi away
New Midtown Hotel
New Midtown Hotel
#48 of 267 in Phnom Penh
156 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Grand Mekong
Le Grand Mekong
#102 of 267 in Phnom Penh
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angkor International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angkor International Hotel

Property: Angkor International Hotel
Address: 148 50 Street | Kandal Market, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Phnom Penh
#27 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#32 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Angkor International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal location for visiting the city, or business, this hotel renovated in 2012offers all the amenities, with modern lift, large superior rooms and a buffet breakfast in the new dining room.All services, visas, bus ticket, personal safety are assured. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Angkor International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Angkor International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing