We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NEVER GO THERE - THEY STEAL MONEY FROM THE ROOM”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Angkor International Hotel
Ranked #61 of 265 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Antwerp
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“NEVER GO THERE - THEY STEAL MONEY FROM THE ROOM”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

As we arrived things looked alright but general feeling was not to good and staff was unfriendly. After the second day we needed to change some money and we still had thai Baht... we counted our money, so we knew for sure how much we still had... we asked for changing it in the hotel but they asked a not fair rate so we went to the official exchange... knowing that we wanted to change thai money they probably suspected that we had more in the hotel room... the day after, right before we left we quickly counted the money again, which was in a wallet in our bags under clothes in the room! And there appeared to be 4000 baht (120us dollar) missing. They do it in such a cunning way that they don't take all but only like 1/3 of what is there so when you check if there is still money you don't realize that some notes are missing (in this case 4 notes of 1000 in a total of 12 notes), and when you do realize its either to late or you've been to so many places that you might think you lost it yourself... Its only because we counted to money the day before and at that time that we were ABSOLUTELY sure that someone with a key to the room from the hotel must have taken it! When we went to complain, they basically laughed in our face!! being rude telling us that we must have lost it or something else!!! they did not want to call the police and told us this was the first time ever... but, when we asked tuk tuk driver same thing had happened a couple times before already! So they lied about that as well!

If you still want to go there, which I discouraged fully... count you money in the room every day!!

I think they have been doing this for a long time because in this way you are never sure where or when you lost your money and so it almost never gets back to them!!
Also they had all the answers ready when we came to complain so my feeling is they either all know this or this is for sure not the first time as also the tuk tuk driver said!

very unhappy couple...!!!

Room Tip: stay away from this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roscoe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victor R, Director of Sales at Angkor International Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Customer,
The reception informed me of your claim of an amount you claimed missing in your room?
Upon your arrival, you have a free safe deposit box at the front desk to let all your assets and documents.
Our rules are posted in the lobby near the elevator panel "customer information" which states that we will not be responsible if this negligence on your part.
Sorry for your misfortune, but you must understand that you have been negligent and that our
Management can not be responsible, especially as you are the only person in 15 months I run hotel that has this problem!
Assuming you have also threatened to spread our reception on all websites that information, but be aware that we do not give in to blackmail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    210
    132
    45
    20
See reviews for
55
200
116
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

This place is central downtown and walking distance the all sites, Mekong river, and the Markets.
Located center city for these prices for a clean, safe comfortable hotel. The staff and the owner is very helpful and did everything they could to accommodate us.
Best dollars value, thank you :-))

Room Tip: Rooms renoved
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linette050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bienne, Switzerland
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

I stayed in Angkor International hotel two times two nights in January 2013.
The friendly welcome of the helpful and efficient staff at the lobby gave me immediately a warm feeling.
I loved the lively surroundings both in the little streets around with many restaurants, the riverside and both Kandal and Old markets.
My renovated room was large and comfortable, with good free wifi speed.
Taking my breakfast outside is a treat if you appreciate the lively environment.
I highly recommend this hotel for its location, its friendly staff and its very good value for the money.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcracine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

With somewhat mixed reviews we booked this hotel via Agoda and prepaid
Found the hotel well situated with an excellent cafe, clean rooms and nice friendly staff
The new renovated rooms were great
Stay here as the value for money aspect is worth it

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank dasher3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xxx
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

We booked a room for 4. A great choice. The staff is very kind and fast. In the firts room the light was off and they change it in a while. We find a huge room with large windows, clean and well furnished for 8$ each. Brakfast is not included and it's little overpriced for Phom Phen standard. We had breakfast there but in a kiosk on the street you can get bread and coffee for much less.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dv547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Hotel is being renovated, the location is very good close to riverside and markets (Kandal and Old). The food we had was good and prices very reasonable. In fact very good value for the money. Good choice for the value.

Room Tip: Excellent location close to Kandal and the riverside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PP M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

The staff was very friendly and helpful despite a mix-up with my booking information, I got a room that seemed okay at first but when I settled in I realized that the white sheets were not only dirty/stained but bed bugs were everywhere. Slept about four hours and then got up and found a new place on the riverfront for only $2 more (USD $18 rather than $16) including an upgrade from fan to aircon that is much more conveniently located on the riverfront. I can't say anything bad about the staff. Actually my friend forgot his new Nike shoes in the room and the cleaning lady found and returned them, but because of the bugs, I can not recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SumSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victor R, Propriétaire at Angkor International Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your comment and are truly sorry your misfortune bugs.
Our housekeeper inspects the rooms every day, to avoid this kind of problem, but we are in Asia and these bugs are unpredictable and can multiply very quickly and infested room in a few hours. All hotels cambodia know this kind of problem.
After your visit, this room has been disinfected as a precaution and throughout the hotel, a company authorized and specialized in this sector.
Since we have not been informed of a new infection.

We also noted that you enjoyed the skill and professionalism of our staff receive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
Silver River Hotel
Silver River Hotel
#50 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mito Hotel
Mito Hotel
#62 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
#79 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bougainvillier Hotel
Bougainvillier Hotel
#65 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#46 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
2.5 mi away
New Midtown Hotel
New Midtown Hotel
#38 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angkor International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angkor International Hotel

Property: Angkor International Hotel
Address: 50 Street 148 | Kandal Market, Phnom Penh 12262, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Phnom Penh
#28 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#31 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Angkor International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal location for visiting the city, or business, this hotel renovated in 2012offers all the amenities, with modern lift, large superior rooms and a buffet breakfast in the new dining room.All services, visas, bus ticket, personal safety are assured. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Angkor International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Angkor International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing