We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pick the aircon room on the lower floors and eat out”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Angkor International Hotel
Ranked #58 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Pick the aircon room on the lower floors and eat out”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

The pluses: Location very handy a few minutes walk to markets, the river, the bar area and the jetty for the boat trips up the river. We put our stuff in the safe and it came out OK! The reception were friendly enough. $20 for an a/c room in a capital city is pretty good anywhere in the world. The a/c worked really well. Someone gave this hotel a bad rap based on their mistake of ordering a fan room. Big mistake. Huge. But not the hotel's problem!

Provided you dont eat here, this hotel is good in terms of price and location but we havent tried anywhere else in Phnomh Penh. Certainly better value for the accomodation than in Yangon (Rangoon) for example.

The minuses: Elevator still not ready when we were there in August 2012. Our toilet did not flush but we could make it flush with a hose attached to the shower so no biggy. Foyer is a little dark and dingy but again no biggy.

Avoid the restaurant like the plague. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!! Pity we didnt follow the advice of others, but it was simply pouring with rain, and we had had pleasant memories of a French Restaurant in Vientiane. We had a stupid Frenchman on the next table who obviously goes there every day to chain smoke his cigars everyday and blow smoke into everyone else's food. He didnt like it exactly when we asked him to refrain. However the main reason we have given this hotel a poor rating is that my wife and I both got terrible food poisoning. If any of you have experienced the effects of a total body evacuation when you are on the road, you will know how ugly this experience is. My wife ended up on a drip in hospital on arrival back home in Australia. I had to go to the UK and at the KIA airport in KL I spent 6 hours with diarrhoeia and vomiting, and sometimes I could only make it to the sink. Verdict is the worst food poisoning of my life.

Room Tip: Pick an aircon room on the lower floors..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arthur G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victor R, Propriétaire at Angkor International Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Customer
We thank you for bringing much precision in your comment and have already changed the problems you've had
about your food poisoning it is surprising because we have not to other client informs us of this.
Our Chef is our Belgian cuisine with international standards and all stainless steel products are purchased fresh daily market.
But if you really are sorry this has happened in our restaurant's prices are very decent $ 2.5 to $ 7.5.
Rooms for prices 15 to $ 35 with Lift
direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    211
    133
    45
    20
See reviews for
55
202
116
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Our room was spacious, clean and powerfully air-conditioned, so overall comfortable.
However, the bathroom was a bit dusty, which seemed to be the result of recent construction work. The room next to ours was literally a hole in the wall and was still being constructed, which was quite funny and not annoying at all as building work was very quiet.

We didn't book our coach to Mondolkiri from the hotel as they charge commission.

The area isn't really the nicest in phnom penh though-it's quite raw, with a general lack of pavement and lots of open garages. The riverfront bars are not cheap and a bit grotty-lots of sex tourists. However phnom penh is only small, so it's only a 20 min walk to the nicer backpacker area of wat langka.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

The staff were friendly and helpful enough but having stayed in a few other hotels in the same city for the same price I feel cheated. The room was falling apart: the bed broke as soon as I sat on it, the tv was unplugged because it was broken and the bathroom was not properly cleaned when we came in. The broken tv was what ticked me off - as a matter of principle they should have said something as they clearly knew about it and should have given us an option of either changing rooms or a discount. The money I paid for this room went a lot further in other hotels in phnom penh.

Room Tip: Check the room out before you say yes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cheungjmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We spent two nights here and were happy with our room. It was comfortable, clean, and in our budget! Plus, it was close to one or two of the city's markets, and within walking distance of all those (pretty disgusting) bars along the river. All that said, it was extraordinarily quiet. Staff was friendly and accommodating, and breakfast was pretty decent. This place doesn't have a ton of character, but what it lacks there it makes up for in value.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acdubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We stayed here one night because we already had a reservation and we arrived very late to PP, but left the folliwing morning in search of something nicer / more charming.

The room was nothing special, yet it was clean, had a TV, a private bathroom and AC. However the bathroom had a rotten stink to it and the AC was a bit noisy. The window could not be safely closed as the latch was broken. Thw WiFi signal was very weak.

When we asked to be shown a different room we were told that the hotel was fully booked and there was no other room. The funny thing, though, was that while we were checking in a middle aged (non-Cambodian) man arrived with no reservation, no luggage and a Cambodian girl in her early twenties he didn't even talk to, and was given a room expeditely without problems.

The rooms were half price as the hotel was under renovation during the day, which was a reasonable price for the basic room we got. But had we had to have to pay the full price we would have been very disappointed.

Renovation works started at 7:30 AM despite the fact that we were told they wouldn't start before 8 AM.

So all in all we were not impressed and the hotel left with us a slightly dodgy impression.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick-Katia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Really friendly and good restaurant. Good and cheap food. It seems it comes from the local market. The hotel is beautifull too, with wide and light bedrooms. The hotel and restaurants and not far from the Tonnele River, and just close to the Market. The street is quiet, and the staff is friendly. Thanks to Victor, the hotel manager and pascal, the French chef, for their welcome.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens Parc London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2012

I spend 4 days in this lovely hotel. I recommend it, the staff was great very kind and attentive, the room was nice very quiet, with AC and fan on the ceiling very reasonable price (between $10 and $18 per night).
I give my compliment to the chef for his original menu made of a mix between French and Asian food
As I right my comment I read the others : I don t understand such comment as Jonh and some other did we are in Asia and I m living in Ho Chi Minh City Vietnam, in here most of countries are very hot and worm weather, and unfortunately we can go anywhere in the world the problem of people who have money and use other who doesn’t exist everywhere, same thing for prostitution…
Anyway Cambodia and Phnom Penh is a very beautiful and cultural place with nice local

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin104256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
Silver River Hotel
Silver River Hotel
#50 of 267 in Phnom Penh
508 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#45 of 267 in Phnom Penh
353 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mito Hotel
Mito Hotel
#60 of 267 in Phnom Penh
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
#73 of 267 in Phnom Penh
198 reviews
2.5 mi away
New Midtown Hotel
New Midtown Hotel
#49 of 267 in Phnom Penh
155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Grand Mekong
Le Grand Mekong
#100 of 267 in Phnom Penh
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angkor International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angkor International Hotel

Property: Angkor International Hotel
Address: 148 50 Street | Kandal Market, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Phnom Penh
#27 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#33 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Angkor International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal location for visiting the city, or business, this hotel renovated in 2012offers all the amenities, with modern lift, large superior rooms and a buffet breakfast in the new dining room.All services, visas, bus ticket, personal safety are assured. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Angkor International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Angkor International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing