We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Pearl of Asia it ain't”
Review of Pra-Tna Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pra-Tna Guesthouse
Ranked #126 of 235 Specialty Lodging in Phnom Penh
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“The Pearl of Asia it ain't”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

My wife and I stayed here January 23 and 24, 2014 based upon the positive reviews on TripAdvisor and booking.com and the low price. We had the family room which was spacious. The staff were very friendly and the location was good, being two blocks from the Giant Ibis "bus station" and a 15 minute walk to either the Royal Palace or Central Market. Those are the positives.


Unfortunately, the room was dirty. The bathroom was even dirtier - the toilet looked like it hadn't been cleaned since the French last administered the city. There was a disgusting open drain next to the toilet in which you could see the contents of the toilet drain when the toilet was flushed. The room was not made up during the day until we asked. And even then, we were given no new toilet paper until we asked again.

In addition, one of the posted rules for the hotel was "No retaining, or kidnapping activities are allowed within the area of the guesthouse." Hardly reassuring - though we never felt unsafe at the hotel (or in Phnom Penh for that matter) so the rules were more kitschy than alarming.

We've stayed in a lot of budget hotels across North Africa, the Middle East, and Asia, and this was the worst lot we have encountered. Unless you are on a tight budget, hop on the nearest tuk tuk and spend a few more dollars at a better place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason_Klimowicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    26
    32
    17
    7
See reviews for
6
59
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kaohsiung
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

My gf and I stayed at Pra-Tna last winter and I can only say great things about the sisters that run this guesthouse, and their staff.

Every day and night we were met with smiles and prompt and friendly service. They helped us find things, cooled our wine in their fridge, gave us a copy of "The Killing Fields" from their flashdrive and much, much more.

The room itself is nothing special but who remembers much of that in a guesthouse anyway? A bonus however, is that it isn't right on the main street by the river (but it's not far at all either) which means you escape some of the grottiness of PP.

Overall, this is a great place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khhguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Small and cheap hotel. The room and bathroom are very small and the shower is above the toilet. The people are very frienly. We took this hotel because its near the main attractions and the river boat to Siem Reap. The lady in the hotel was so kind to buy the boat tickets for us. Its next to the nightmarket and the boulevard, with some really nice bars and restaurants, is in 5 minutes walking distance. The hotel is situated in a busy and noisy street, but in our room it was quiet. The breakfast in the hotel was ok.

Room Tip: Take a room at the lower floors. Especially when you are tall. The ceilings at the staircases at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Like most of the reviews this place is ok for a cheap 1 night stay. We are low maintenance travellers and just need a decent sleep. That being said we had to ask for the sheets to be changed when we checked in as they were really stained. Noise really travels from the adjoining building and we "lucked" into some big arguing. The bathroom is super tiny and grotty and not highly recommended for larger people or if you have trouble climbing stairs. The positive is that the cafe downstairs and staff are friendly and you are really close to the market and riverfront. Anything longer than one night and I would recommend somewhere else as there are plenty of options. Really close to the bus station if that helps.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank suitcase-gregger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Phnom Penh hotels

Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Excellent location a tiny bit north of the action, close to the night market. Fairly quiet at night, especially if you pick a room with the fan as it drowns out any late night noises or horns. Staff was extremely friendly and English was excellent. At $10/night for two people, this is an excellent bargain.

However, be aware that the rooms are TINY and the hallways/staircases are low. I'd highly recommend for a 1-2 night stay for a smaller couple (under 6 ft tall), but wouldn't recommend for a longer visit.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hbeck09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Staff didn't speak good english, it was a bit difficult to communicate. The room i booked was en-suite, but the bathroom was so small and so uncomfortable, the soap they provided was just awful. Toilet was broken and in quite poor condition. The room smelled badly and the sheets looked dirty with lots of stains, so did the towels. I guess this is a cheap hostel and i should not complain. Location was good, it was close to the buses and some sights, walking distance to night market and also to the river side. I am not sure if i would pick this place again for my next visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilosha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I think this place is excellent for someone, who has to stay in Phnom Penh just for one night and then continue on somewhere else. For a longer stay I would not recommend.

Pra-Tna Guesthouse had good reviews here and that's why we chose it. When we got there it was clearly much shabbier then we had expected. The room smelled really strongly something like paint but the room wasn't painted. There is no big table, shelf, closet or anything to put your stuff on. So if you'll stay here longer, you have to keep your stuff unpacked. Which might be a good idea anyways, cause otherwise they will smell like this "paint" or whatever. I'm not sure if we just had bad luck with the room.

Staff is very friendly! There is also a restaurant and cold beverages for sale downstairs. The location is good, near the riverside.

Phnom Penh offers better options. We stayed here for the first night and then added 5$ per night and changed to an excellent foom in Fancy Guesthouse one street away.

Traveled as a couple, stayed here on December 2013.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minna_Vanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.0 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 267 in Phnom Penh
2,462 reviews
0.0 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#19 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,132 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 267 in Phnom Penh
785 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#55 of 267 in Phnom Penh
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pra-Tna Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pra-Tna Guesthouse

Property: Pra-Tna Guesthouse
Address: #54, Street 13, Old Market | Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 235 Specialty Lodging in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pra-Tna Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Pra-Tna Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing