We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Contemporary dining at its best”
Review of The Common Tiger - CLOSED

The Common Tiger
Price range: $4 - $25
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Contemporary dining at its best”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

From the complimentary, experimental welcome cocktail to the thoughtfully presented food, this restaurant is a peaceful dining oasis. In a fantastic garden and villa setting in the centre of town, its constantly changing menu and hands on owners make for a real gem of a dining experience. To be repeated often!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank cmleicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    34
    13
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best meal in Phnom Penh”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

I have lived in Phnom Penh for just on 2 years and this is by far and away the nicest place in town. Sitting beneath the mango tree, drinking cocktails, eating an amazingly tantalising and creative plate by Timothy and topping it off with a delectable dessert is a perfect end to almost any day here. Great place

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vaswah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I could not fault anything about this restaurant. Staff were really friendly, the chef brought out each of the meals and explained the ingredients which was a nice personal touch. You could tell that he was really excited about the meals he was preparing. The food was cooked to perfection and beautifully presented. I also thought price was pretty fair, especially when compared to prices back home where I would be paying at least triple the price. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clare W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The most creative chef in Cambodia”
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

We tried the "secret" menu and it was a great experience thru all the 5 dishes... Original presentation, friendly service, simple setting, The Common Tiger is a new comer in Phnom Penh... But I am sure we will hear a lot about chef Timothy's first own restaurant

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Asiadvisor001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“You have to try this”
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

I have lived in Phnom Penh for a couple of months and the city has some great restaurants. But this is the first that I have been impressed enough to write a review. Don't let the limited menu put you off. Chef/owner Tim provides a small menu daily with the freshest local produce. We tried all and the tastes were amazing with presentation to match.
Service was personal, genuine and friendly. Setting is cool, modern and refreshing.
I will be back for sure.
Priced very reasonable.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank JayDeen10500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Common Tiger also viewed

 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing