We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quite fine for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Homeland Guesthouse
Ranked #77 of 333 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

we paid 10usd for a room of 2 with a fan. our room had A/C but as we didn't pay for it, the reception sent someone to disable it. the room was ok in general but fridge wasn't working and toilet didn't flush, but we didn't complain as we only stayed 2 nights. the staff was friendly although the young boy usually in the reception was very confused, but mind you, he got everything done and was very service oriented and smiley - his confusion was just amusing somewhat. the owner was very helpful and called around to get us bus tickets on an Election Day when many companies were fully booked/not running. they also had a fridge in the lobby with cheap beer and sodas. overall the stay was positive mainly because of the staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennieblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
There are newer reviews for Homeland Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 134 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights. The price was 13$ per night for a room with an AC, which is really a great price.

The location is a off-center, but near Tuol Sleng Genocide Museum / s-21 prison - which is a must-visit. One day we walked back to the hotel, and it was totally okay (except the Monsoon that caught us...). The reception will order you a Tuk-Tuk from the hotel to city center, it costed us 2$. On the way back it costed a bit more (2.5$). Do the math and figure out if you prefer a more "central" hotel or not.

The staff were nice, the owner's English is quite reasonable and you can figure all the details you need with her.

Regarding the room itself - as one must expect from the above mentioned price, it is very basic. The AC in our room worked perfectly, the bed was okay, and there was no noise or something - so we had a good night sleep. The downside of the room was its toilet/shower - which were very small, leaking and had no hot water (which is not such a disaster in Phnom Penh, but still...).

To sum it up, if your aim is to explore the city and you're willing to settle for a basic room - this is the place for you. If you're looking for high-standard hotel, or if bar-crawling is your thing - better look for another place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Da Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I stay 1 night here it was really really enjoys. The staff was very helpful, the room is really clean and comfortable bed. Good and cheap place. The guesthouse is near to Genocide Museum.
Strong recommend to everyone....

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luek b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed for 3nights at the homeland guesthouse. We were very satisfied, the owners were helpfull when we had to arrange trips and the buses.
The rooms were clean and pretty big.
When we had some suggestions to improve the breakfast, they immediatly put them into practice.
Overall a positive experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaapvergote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and found it perfectly suitable for what we needed. It's walking distance to Tuol Sleng but that's it. There are no resonably priced restaurants/bars or other attractions near by. No tuktuks knew where the hotel was and our driver usually had to stop and ask several other people. Take a map of the hotel when going anywhere to direct them yourself. Although for the extra $3/4 dollars it costs to get a return tuktuk up the Main Street for eating (172 I think) you would be as well getting a slightly more expensive hotel in a better location. Cannot fault the staff, all very warm and welcoming. Rooms are a bit claustrophobic for two people. Fan, wifi and cable TV came in at $9 a night. Great value for what we paid.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandria9090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stay here for twice, room is ok, it is value for money, the cleanliness and facility can be enjoyment, as a standard guesthouse with police and friendly staffs, good wifi connection for free, ok for a short stay.

Room Tip: Ask the room in front side with view
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaraUng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed here twice on our trips around Vietnam. It was by far the best value in town in terms of a nice clean place without paying through the nose. The staff are really nice. It's a bit far out of town but there is one of the main attractions of Phnom Penh nearby (the school museum).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
1.1 mi away
Okay Boutique Hotel
Okay Boutique Hotel
#35 of 272 in Phnom Penh
826 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Guest House
Royal Guest House
#177 of 272 in Phnom Penh
173 reviews
1.9 mi away
Me Mates Place
Me Mates Place
#104 of 246 in Phnom Penh
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 272 in Phnom Penh
2,508 reviews
0.6 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 272 in Phnom Penh
1,170 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homeland Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homeland Guesthouse

Address: no. 15, Street 304, Beung Keng Kang, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 333 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $10 - $19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Homeland Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, HostelWorld and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Homeland Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing