We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property in Phnom Penh.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh
Ranked #5 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2014

A friend and I stayed at the Rambutan for two nights as we were passing through Phnom Penh to Siem Reap. Our room was off of the pool on the ground floor - it was well appointed, spotlessly clean, modern and comfortable. The breakfast was very good in the morning as well. The best part of our stay at the Rambutan was the staff - the consummate hosts: friendly, warm and professional.

A stay at the Rambutan is a must.

Tom: We can't wait to come back. Please make sure you have an extra salt/pepper container for us. :-)

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abby N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (632)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

448 - 454 of 632 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2014

My husband and I really, really liked this hotel.

Phnom Penh is a busy city. There is a lot of traffic, the tuk-tuk is the preferred method of travel for tourists and natives alike, and no one, save the tourists, walks anywhere. Really.

There is also a lot of construction going on in this town. There was nowhere we went where the sounds of a construction site didn’t follow. Yay for a rising economy, I suppose.

These are important factors for visitors choosing their hotel in Phnom Penh because, within reason, the location of the hotel where you choose to stay really doesn’t matter. You will be riding in tuk-tuks daily regardless of where your hotel is located, and the sounds of construction are sure to wake you by 9 am no matter where you stay, so you may as well stay in the lovely, quiet-ish ex-pat neighborhood of BKK1, where the Rambutan Resort is located.

The Rambutan Resort is located on a quieter street, and at the time of writing the sounds of construction are a pleasant faded hum. The hotel doesn’t look like much from the street, but no hotel in Phnom Penh really does. You will see a high cement wall street-side, but inside, it is lovely. Most of the hotel is located outside, including the kitchen, the dining room, reception, and of course the lovely salt water pool.

Our room was very modern and VERY well appointed, which earns high marks from me. Empty electrical sockets are present on both sides of the bed just waiting to charge your phone or computer, and reading lamps are also present, yay! The shower is made of beautiful granite, and there is a bench to sit on in the shower, as well as a shelf to put your toiletries. There is a bamboo towel rack. The toilet is separate from the showering area, which I really like. The sink had a pump bottle of hand soap next to it, instead of those little useless cakes of hard soap that you usually find there. The floor is poured concrete and stays cool on even the hottest day. The air conditioner worked perfectly and there was even a ceiling fan over the bed which we used after hot and dusty days traveling through the city. Outside, on our balcony, we had two outdoor bamboo plush chairs which overlooked the pool area, and a beautiful granite outdoor tub which was shielded from view.

The breakfasts here are really wonderful. Better than a NYC diner, and I love my diners. My husband enjoyed french toast one day, and a dish called pesto eggs on another, which is two hard boiled eggs sliced, topped with pesto sauce and laid on a bed of sautéed mushrooms. I became addicted to the scrambled eggs and bacon, boring I know, but there was just something extra delicious about those eggs. If you figure it out please let me know. Unlike most hotels, breakfast is not served buffet style, it is plated. You are presented a menu and choose your own meal. French press coffee or lipton tea, fruit salad and juice accompany the breakfasts. Expresso drinks can be purchased for an additional cost.

Drinks are served poolside and I don’t know what possessed me to order a piña colada, because the last time I did that I was seven years old and it was a virgin colada, but I did and it was light and refreshing and delicious and boozy and I’d do it again.

I am wracking my brain trying to find something negative to say about this place. Um, ok: You can smoke in the outdoor restaurant and the pool area, but that's the law here.

We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: To minimize construction noise, choose a high floor and a room well away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrooklynJRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Amazing, Friendly and a cool resort.

Location :- Not very near to the river front but one of up scale areas of PP. You could take a tuk tuk for 2$ to reach river front and all other attractions in the city.
Rooms- Best all amenities.
Breakfast/Food- Very good. Even though choices are limited . Everything we tried was really good.
Service- First calls. all the staff are willing to help always.

Overall you could close your eyes and book this resort

Room Tip: Pool facing would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelindian22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We enjoyed a very nice stay in the classy boutique hotel. Nice pool and no complaints about our rather noisy 3 kids. Very good breakfast and the best fresh springrolls we had in all Cambodia. All inquiries to staff were answered swift and precisely - simply good service and a good hotel worth recommending.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Soren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

The week we spent at the Rambutan was the highlight of our trip to Asia. The friendly service, great fresh food, refreshing pool and comfy bed meant that we made a great choice.
The staff are always smiling and are always there to help you, whether it be arranging a tuk tuk (they have their own drivers) or referring you to a suitable restaurant.

Room Tip: quiet friendly staff, very comfy bed, gay friendly with a mix of guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robetom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

After the madness that is Bangkok, Phnom Penh is a delight and Rambutan Resort makes the whole trip worthwhile. It is a little out of the centre but all the better for it, in a nice residential neighborhood. The hotel is modern and has large, airy and well appointed rooms, air-con and a ceiling fan complete the set-up. The plumbing could sometimes be a bit noisy but not overly so. The ground floor is mostly open and together with the pool and plants has a real exotic and exclusive feel to it. The staff were all delightful and are the real secret of Rambutan's success, they are helpful, attentive, kind and work hard. You could not, in my opinion, get a better introduction to modern Cambodia than staying here.

Room Tip: There is something for everyone here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justgivemeamoment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights in October and it was absolutely amazing. The staff was very helpful and attentive. The rooms are great and clean, and the outdoor bath is a winner. Interior design is very stylish. The Pool completes the hotel.

It is the overall feel of being in an oasis that makes Rambutan an amazing hotel. Then there is the food. Amazing Khmer and western food. It is hard to find a restaurant where you can eat a better meal.

Would highly recommend this place. The trip advisor rating holds up!

Tip: keep an eye on the specials menu!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.3 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 274 in Phnom Penh
836 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 274 in Phnom Penh
2,534 reviews
1.2 mi away
G Mekong Hotel
G Mekong Hotel
#3 of 274 in Phnom Penh
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
1.0 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#8 of 274 in Phnom Penh
1,998 reviews
1.4 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#22 of 274 in Phnom Penh
1,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh

Address: #29 Street 71 | Between junctions with streets 398 & 400, Chamkarmon, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $56 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sister property of Rambutan Hotel & Resort in Siem Reap located in the middle of Phnom Penh's chique and quiet BKK1 area, just walking distance of Toul Sleng and Russian Market and a short ride from all other activities. All rooms have TV, air-con, fan, writing desk, rain shower, fridge and all amenities. All deluxe suites have a private outdoor bath in garden or balcony. The Penthouse suite overlooks the city and has a large private Jacuzzi. Salt water pool, bar, restaurant, spa and free breakfast (large choice) complete the Resort. Set in a city environment with a green garden makes it the perfect city oasis for a short getaway or holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing