We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite place ever !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh
Ranked #7 of 272 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Always stay at Rambutan boutique resort whenever I am in PP, the food was great staff were friendly and the manager, Tum, was the best.
A clean, comfortable, centrally located place to sleep… Rambutan is a great value !

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweetchilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (620)
There are newer reviews for Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

464 - 470 of 620 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2014

I'm just back from a five night stay at the Rambutan and I have to say that this is an exceptional property. From the moment I arrived, greeted with a cool towel and glass of tea, to the moment I departed, with the staff seeing me off, the service throughout the stay was fantastic.

The rooms are chic yet comfortable. The bed was comfortable. As I had to work an hour each day, WIFI was important. It was free and fast throughout the property (in fact, faster than my internet at home!).

But perhaps the nicest surprise was the quality of the food. I ended up taking only two meals outside of the hotel on account of the great cooking. The breakfasts were a great way to start the day. As for lunch and dinner, the choice between local and Western foods was welcomed. After what I'd called previously questionable experiences with Cambodian food on previous trips to the country, the local dishes I enjoyed at the Rambutan have restored an interest in the country's foods. I especially enjoyed the Khmer beef lok lak. Kudos to the chef and his team!

Although I traveled solo on this trip, certain of the staff were always chatty and wanted to make sure I wasn't bored. A nice touch one only gets at small properties like this.

In all, I left feeling the Rambutan is the perfect embodiment of what a boutique hotel should be, and I shall most definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JWeiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Stayed at Rambutan for a week and a half last week during my volunteer stint in Cambodia. The hotel was a beautiful oasis to come home to. All the staff are lovely and helpful! Although i was travelling alone, I met a few other guests that I ended up hitting the town with. The hotel owner, Tum was so lovely as he showed me around town and took me out and showed me a few yummy restaurants around town. Thank you TUM for your lovely hospitality and made me feel like i was home. Food at the hotel was excellent! Great for room service! Hope to come back and visit you and your lovely staff soon. xxx

Room Tip: I stayed in room 103 which is right across from the pool and the restaurant!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshShoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Stayed in the Rambutan Resort last week (for 3 nights) and I liked it VERY much. It is a very nice hotel with the special extra (nice pool, bathtub on the balcony).
The staff as well as the two owners are very friendly and helpful. Even as I had been there for the first time it feels like home. (The owners even recognized me here in Bangkok when we had been to the same bar by accident!).

This is two thumbs up!!!!

Room Tip: The penthouse supposed to be fantastic. Unfortunately it was already booked.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charim_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is lovely, with cute and modern decor. The service is great and the staff were very helpful when we wanted to book tours and restaurants. I recommended booking bars/restaurants here as the popular spots are busy. It's a $3 tuk tuk ride to the river, which is the busier part of the city. The breakfast is divine. We also felt very safe in the hotel, which is important for two girls on holiday on their own.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Hollie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stayed in the Rambutan for 3 nights upon arriving into Phnom Penh late at night. 1 of our bags was lost, and we asked to use the hotel phone to call United to make sure the bag would arrive the following day, the front desk worker didn't tell us we would be charged an unrealistic price for using the phone, and a few dollars would have been perfectly ok. Upon checkout, we were charged US $25 for using the hotel phone. For $25 I could have went out and purchased a phone and minutes to call back to the US. We had (over-priced) laundry done at the hotel that came back still smelling like sweat. I later saw one of the workers hand washing laundry..case in point: don't waste your money on "laundry" services at the hotel, walk it down the street for half the price and actual cleaning.

Nice big rooms...With that being said, it is far from the Riverfront, and a nice (or nicer) hotel rooms can be found for much cheaper (and closer to the Riverfront) than what Rambutan.

BEWARE! Rambutan allows sex toursists to stay in their hotel. During our entire stay there was an older gentleman who spent each of his evening with a young (late teens-early twenties) Cambodian boy at his side.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lahela77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worldtraveller062, General Manager at Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Lahela,

Thanks for your feedback.
To avoid misunderstandings or confusions for our future guests I think we have to clarify a few points.
Using a mobile phone to call overseas (Cambodia to the USA) is very costly and we normally don’t do that.
Instead we advice our guest to use skype or any other webbased call system.
In this case the airway company lost your bag.
Instead of organize the overseas calls from the airport luggage service office (who is responsible to get your bags back and to do the calls) you decide to ask our night staff at 2am to make the calls with our mobile phone. The only way to find out how much credit you used for this is by seeing how much credit is left in the morning compared to the evening. This is a totally transparent system with no hidden costs, there were 20 calls overseas calls made that night and morning by you, most of them very short, but they still were connected and cost 25 USD.
Our laundry is outsourced to a professional company, the staff never washes anything of guests, only small items for bar and restaurant might be washed by staff. If anything smells after laundry, and I never heard about that before, it would have been helpful to inform our staff or management about this so we could check it ourselves and if necessary send it back to the company. In the whole area there is no washing possibility, not across the street, not in any streets around, maybe you confused our resort with another hotel?

Rambutan has a strict child safe policy, all staff has been trained to recognize any possible problems and we do not allow children or youngsters in the hotels without their legal parents or guardians.

We are a gay/strait friendly resort which means we welcome everyone regardless their ethnicity, gender or sexual preference.
That saying; we are aware of potential excesses and we train the staff to monitor this. To have a same gender couple in the resort from different age might not be of your liking, but to label it as prostitution or child abuse is in our opinion totally unacceptable and we certainly do not tolerate that in our hotels.

In summary; During your 3 day stay none of the issues you point out in your review where reported direct to our team or to the management, as a result we had no chance in any way to make it up with you, instead we had to discover it on Tripadvisor…a bit disappointing!

Robert, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Set in a residential area away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Boutique style rooms which are clean and comfortable. Staff are very, very friendly and helpful. Tuk Tuks into the city are $3. Remember to take the hotel business card with you for coming back, as although the tuk tuk drivers say they know where it is, we never had one that did! Whilst we were there we had a massage which was very good. An enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Markate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.3 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 272 in Phnom Penh
823 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 272 in Phnom Penh
2,508 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#8 of 272 in Phnom Penh
1,984 reviews
1.2 mi away
G Mekong Hotel
G Mekong Hotel
#3 of 272 in Phnom Penh
207 reviews
1.4 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#22 of 272 in Phnom Penh
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh

Address: #29 Street 71 | Between junctions with streets 398 & 400, Chamkarmon, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 272 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $57 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sister property of Rambutan Hotel & Resort in Siem Reap located in the middle of Phnom Penh's chique and quiet BKK1 area, just walking distance of Toul Sleng and Russian Market and a short ride from all other activities. All rooms have TV, air-con, fan, writing desk, rain shower, fridge and all amenities. All deluxe suites have a private outdoor bath in garden or balcony. The Penthouse suite overlooks the city and has a large private Jacuzzi. Salt water pool, bar, restaurant, spa and free breakfast (large choice) complete the Resort. Set in a city environment with a green garden makes it the perfect city oasis for a short getaway or holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing