We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mix between Sri Lanka and Miami”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh
Ranked #4 of 278 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Phnom Phen is not my favourite city but nightlife is good and people are wonderful. This resort is a bit of an expat haven, many NGOs and embassies in the vicinity and at weekend they are all at the pool area. No problem but I found the pool a little too open and close to the dining area so everybody could observe the ones relaxing or swimming... To me I like to have more privacy but this is a city resort so I could have known that beforehand. Maybe because I was not a regular visitor or expat, I found service a bit unpersonal and at night for example after 10 or 11 PM they really locked the resort with a huge iron gate with multiple locks on it. One night it was very hard to wake the duty guard as they are sleeping then. Then he had to go and look for the keys it really took like 10 minutes before I could enter the resort.... Is that not a little exxagerated... Rooms are very nice, have the usual stains of brown rain marks on the withe walls and of the marks caused by rubbing the luggage at the walls. But overall it is clean. Gorgeous food and also very nice the bath tub in nature stone on the rooms balcony if you take the superior rooms. Then sitting int he cold water with the sun in the face feels so much better than sitting at the pool donwstairs without any privacy. I would not go naked due to respect for the Khmer neighbours as everybody in that house can see what you are doing. It is a noisy city and that also reflects on the resort during the day. Of course overall i was very happy with my stay but it seems like there are so many reviewers who dont want to say anything critival bout the resort as I think it definitely has but I am sure the team will take it seriously. They also did not do my wake up call when leaving to Sihanoukville even after checking three times.... Design is beautiful and is for me a mix between Miami style and Sri Lankan modern style. Prices are ok.

Room Tip: take a room with balcony and bath !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (676)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

529 - 535 of 676 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2013

We liked this place. The staff is very kind and competent, the food is delicious (breakfast+dinner), the rooms are well equipped with a minimalist touch. My only regret is that the construction work next door was at bit too noisy for my taste. When you enter a place like thisyou want/need a break from the city chaos. Not much the management can do about it. Would recommend Rambutan Resort in 2 months when hotel next door should be in the final stage of construction.

Room Tip: As far away from the street possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fantasia112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

The location is really good for business person as it's the central of the city. The hotel will provide u the feeling of home and the staffs will fulfill the feeling of home by their attitude like a family.
This s my first time to Cambodia and to be honest I was more impress with hotel than a city itself.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suaysuay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I really enjoyed my 4 nights here. It's a stylish and comfortable place, with a lot of thought put into the design. Everything was spotlessly clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful with every request. Breakfast choices were great too. My only quibbles were (1) no hot water on my last morning and (2) the ceiling fan motor was quite noisy for sleeping. But I'm sure these are temporary issues that wouldn't stop me coming back again.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Ray_R0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

The Rambutan is a very well designed new hotel located in the bussiness and NGO area of Phnom Penh and just far enough away from the banks of the Mekong river not to be bothered by everything that is going on there. Staff is well versed in several languages and helpful and attentive. The rooms are spacious and have a great wall to wall wooden desk for all your paperwork and computer stuff, should you want to write or work. The Rambutan is a bit like a little village where everybody seems to know everybody, even they don't, but somehow the place is set up or encouraging to engage with other guests and staff in chit-chat about everything you can think about. They have a great massage facility on the top floor, with different types of massage and a professional masseur and absolutely no hanky-panky business. That was a great experience for a change. There is a in-house open kitchen so you can see what they are preparing while you check out their cocktails or take a plunge in the blue pool, or both. Great place, good value, good quality, nice guests, nice staff, and just very nice to be. i could have stayed there much longer, with getting bored or the feeling that it's time to move on.

Room Tip: I had a room on the first floor in the far end which was a bit tucked away in the back and very quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dutchtravelerBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

After a few "less than perfect" hotel stays in PP I ended up at the Rambutan for my last night in Cambodia and I really wish I'd found this place on my first night. The staff were very attentive, polite and had excellent communication skills.
Due to my late booking I ended up in the penthouse which cost a bit more than I was used to spending but was well worth every dollar. A midnight bath on the balcony while I reflected on my trip through Cambodia was one of the highlights of the trip.
The pool area was fantastic and I must recommend the "spicy chicken wings" as a snack by the pool after a massage.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coldroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

This new resort in the up and coming area of PP (BKK1) is worth the stay. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Fresh linens, tv with many channels, piping hot water, and a snack bar! If you are staying with friends, be aware the showers are not private in most rooms. Just a note if that bothers you. Also the power in the entire resort went out 3 times yet was back on within a minutes.

The restaurant good is great, especially for the city. Have both western and local foods to choose from with daily specials.

The service is friendly and local. Very pleasant people.

The hotel has a great pool yet be aware that the local gay socialites like to come daily and occupy the pool area, sometimes leaving no room for the real guests and they do not pay for the pools use. If you plan to use the pool or lounge for a day get out there early and don't leave completely if you expect to return. Weekends are the WORSTE for the pool.

There are taxis and tuk tuks available when needed right outside.

Also note the properties to the back and right of the resort are being renovated.constructed so there is some noise especially if you get a outside upper room with a balcony.

The property to the right will be a gay nude resort/bath house if that delights you if that scares you. Just an FYI.

Overall a great place with a few minor issues.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank bphillips1786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.3 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 278 in Phnom Penh
930 reviews
1.2 mi away
G Mekong Hotel
G Mekong Hotel
#10 of 278 in Phnom Penh
287 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#11 of 278 in Phnom Penh
2,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
1.4 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 278 in Phnom Penh
1,689 reviews
0.8 mi away
the 252
the 252
#13 of 278 in Phnom Penh
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh

Address: #29 Street 71 | Between junctions with streets 398 & 400, Chamkarmon, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 278 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $65 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sister property of Rambutan Hotel & Resort in Siem Reap located in the middle of Phnom Penh's chique and quiet BKK1 area, just walking distance of Toul Sleng and Russian Market and a short ride from all other activities. All rooms have TV, air-con, fan, writing desk, rain shower, fridge and all amenities. All deluxe suites have a private outdoor bath in garden or balcony. The Penthouse suite overlooks the city and has a large private Jacuzzi. Salt water pool, bar, restaurant, spa and free breakfast (large choice) complete the Resort. Set in a city environment with a green garden makes it the perfect city oasis for a short getaway or holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing