We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, clean rooms, brilliant & welcoming staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Kiwi Guesthouse
Ranked #150 of 318 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value, clean rooms, brilliant & welcoming staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

After looking at rooms in a hotel around the corner, twice the cost of the Blue Kiwi, we were so happy to find it. $20 for a room that had 2 beds, a good hot shower, and helpful staff, the perfect, affordable place to stay, the place is almost brand new, some of the cleanest rooms we have stayed in, in Asia. The staff were happy to call our tuk tuk driver for us, and even come to the local market to translate for us, to make sure we didn't have ALL of our eye brows waxed off. We are happy to recommend this place to anyone.
Happy little Aussies.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happylittleaussies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    13
    15
    8
    6
See reviews for
7
27
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed here twice during our holiday in Cambodia. When we arrived the first time we were several hours early on our check in time but it was not an issue, our room was ready. It is walking distance to some of the main attractions in Phnom Penh, such as the museum & palace as well as the large number of restaurants along the river front. Our room was spacious and clean and the staff were very friendly. We stayed here again on our last night in Cambodia as we knew it was reliable. Price was reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwi1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

The security guard was incredibly nice and helpful. Other than that, pretty bad... Extremely loud ice cutting at 5am and hundred of kids screaming outside every morning, sounded like we were waking up in the middle of a busy playground. .

First room had not been cleaned. The sheets were stained brown, absurd amounts of trash in the room, widow left open when we got there. Though the beds had been made, the staff said they forgot to clean the room after the last guests.

We moved to a second room - bathroom had no glass in the window, just a hole in the wall. There were 4 bars of used soap left in the shower.

Finally moved to one more room - this one was great. Still overlooked details as housekeeping left the dirty towels from the last guests in the bathroom and there was no toilet paper.

If you get the right room, this place isn't so bad. However, expect that housekeeping will miss plenty of details, maybe even changing the sheets from the last guest. They definitely don't change anything but the bottom sheet because the decorative duvet covers are disgusting.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mtwining1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
197 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We moved to the Blue Kiwi when the Diamond Palace didn't have space for an extra night but we weren't disappointed. T

The rooms are very big, modern and super clean with really comfy beds. We chose to have. Room in the 5th floor as it was $5 cheaper than the lower floors but this suited us and our budget and really was a very good price including AC.

Breakfast was charged extra but was very good.

Staff are also excellent and very friendly,

Location is great, in the heart of the backpackers area but surrounded by local markets and great local restaurants and street food stalls plus a small supermarket opposite.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Booked two rooms for two nights each through Agoda. Asked to change one on checking-in because it was up too many stairs for my mother-in-law and didn't have a tv as advertised (on Booking.com). Told before shown the new room it would cost $5 extra per night. Told after shown the room it would cost $7.50 extra per night for various contradictory and mostly ridiculous reasons. Receptionist put in very difficult position by her manager in responding to us. One of the reasons, possibly valid (except that we had already been told $5 extra per night) was that we had booked through Agoda rather than direct. I told her we had not been able to find a website for the hotel to possibly book direct. She gave me the hotel's card with the website address. I checked again later and it did not show in the first ten pages of a google search (I did not look beyond), and the website did not exist when entered directly into the google chrome browser. Paid the $7.50 per night extra. Who wants a problem with their mother-in-law? Obviously, my concern was not about $2.50 per night extra, but rather the way we were treated in relation to it. It was not a great start to our stay. The Guesthouse is in a very central riverside location, but the (other) extra price you pay in that it is very noisy, made worse by neighboring industrial ice-making machines. Also, the sheets and pillow covers were stained and otherwise did not exude cleanliness. At check-out, we were queried whether we had already paid in full for the rooms. We had pre-paid in full through Agoda. The other receptionist, and the women who cleaned the rooms and worked in the kitchen, were lovely.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbbrett61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

This budget hotel is reasonably new and located in the vicinity of restaurants and entertainment, closer to the riverside. Sophy, the manager stays there as well and looks after every aspect of the running tirelessly. The staff are rather service-oriented, so you can just about ask for most favours. They offer rooms at varying prices, determined by amenities within (TV fridge, type of bed and facing). There is no lift but this is made up by reduced prices for higher floors. Most staff have reasonable command of English. I do charity work whilst I am there and the staff have always gone the extra mile in helping me out with what needs to be done. For a budget hotel this is certainly value for money.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor and pay slightly more if you have a load to carry often. Enjoy the bar and the at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashok0608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We lived in a triple room on the 5th floor for 2 nights. By 5th floor in this hotel, you actually have to climb 7th floor high: after the ground floor it's floor zero,etc. The room is hot, even with the air conditioner on. I slept on the bed in the middle, which was directly targeted by the air conditioner. So I ended up getting a cold after two nights. There were almost no room service, although the room, specifically the bathroom is very clean mostly because this is a new hotel. There is a local market cross the street, so you could buy fruit and vegetables and eat local food there if you like. It took 10 mins walk to the river front, another 10-15 mins to the Royal Place and National Museum. I would recommend this place if your expectation is only a tidy bed to sleep on and a clean bathroom to use.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zdqqq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy A, Manager at Blue Kiwi Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review, we are happy that you in general you liked our guesthouse but are also grateful to you for pointing out some problems.

The room you chose was not one that comes with breakfast, however breakfast is available to all guests with a subject to a small charge, customers selecting a balcony room receive a complimentary breakfast.

I apologise for the actions of the staff after they committed and error, however I can assure you all staff speak reception staff do speak English to a very good standard. There is also the option of asking for the owner/manager who are fluent and all staff have been briefed that should they have any problem understanding a customer completely then THEY have to call the manager.

Once again I thank,you for your review and assure you action has been taken to address the problems you encountered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.0 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,373 reviews
0.0 mi away
PRASATs Boutique Hotel
PRASATs Boutique Hotel
#32 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.0 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#2 of 265 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#22 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
0.0 mi away
Okay Boutique Hotel
Okay Boutique Hotel
#33 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Kiwi Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Kiwi Guesthouse

Property: Blue Kiwi Guesthouse
Address: Street 13, Sangkat Phsar Kandal I, | Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 318 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Kiwi is a a 16 room Guesthouse in the heart of Phnom Pehn, offering rooms of various sizes and budgets.All rooms have free WIFI, clean comfortable beds, on suite bathrooms, and Air Con.At the time of writing most rooms have Flat Screen TVs and DVD players and in the near future all rooms will have these items, as well as in room safes.Our Bar/Resturant area is furnished to the highest standards, serving a mix of both European and Asian food with a well stocked bar and friendly english speaking staff is provides a comfortable place to have a bite to eat and a drink before exploring the nearby attractions and night life. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing