We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, friendly Manager but room for improvement”
Review of Villa Borann

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Borann
Ranked #16 of 334 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The hotel is well located and has good potential; the pool was nice, the rooms were decent and the Manager was friendly, helpful and obviously concerned about us, but I wouldn't stay here again.

1. The bathroom 'window' was a large hole in the wall (possibly due to some quite serious & slightly smelly damp), which meant that we were vulnerable to mosquitos and were woken up in the night by a nearby crying baby. As we were on the 1st floor we were probably safe from intruders but I didn't feel very comfortable.
2. Although they were provided when we asked, upon arrival our room didn't have the basics like a safe, enough towels or water or a hairdryer.
3. There was internet in the reception/pool area but in our room it was intermittent at best.
4. The Manager spoke good English but the reception staff didn't, so we had to spend time explaining the time and date we wanted to leave for the airport and (according to the taxi driver they still got it slightly wrong). Also, when we asked them about a tuk tuk, they went to organise it and we thought they had negotiated a good price, but later realised that they seemed to accept the 1st (high) price the driver offered and we would probably have been better off organising it ourselves.
5. Breakfast was relatively substantial but the options were v. limited; baconx2, eggsx2, baguette (once covered in ants), fruit & juice started to get a bit tedious.

I haven't stayed in any other Phnom Penh hotels, so I'm not sure of the value.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 140 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

Our family stayed at Villa Borann by chance at our recent house-building trip to Cambodia and it was a wonderful experience. Their eager and helpful staff made all the difference. What a central location to the Palace and attractions!! Very easy access by tuktuk across the city too. Our 11 and 9 yr-old loved the roof-top room where we had a sunset view and the urban sights & smells of PP. Keep up the great hospitality.

Room Tip: There isn't a lift so its up 4 flights of stairs if you have a big luggage. Roof level rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicholas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Villa Borann is in a good location; easy walking distance to the Royal Palace, the National Museum & the river area. The bedroom and bathroom are a reasonable size. The breakfast was included and quite adequate, a choice of eggs & bacon or toast with jam. We had an upstairs room which was fine; however some visitors may find the stairs a challenge in the PP heat. A good stay for the and would recommend.

Room Tip: Just remember there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrudyDu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Lovely little hotel just behind the royal palace. The rooms are very spacious, clean and nicely decorated. The pool is lovely. The manager Francois is a super nice guy, very helpful and has good recommendations on what to do and where to go. Breakfast could be better: it's either fried eggs with bacon or toast with jam. There are good alternative places in walking distance.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mirko M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Villa Borann was very clean at a very reasonable rate. Everything worked, wifi for free, all at $80 a night. I have just come from a Shangri-La hotel where we stayed for business, so this could have been a very big down come, but it was not. The staff were helpful, the manager Francois excellent. The meals were simple but good, you can request something at any time.

Room Tip: See how the hotel responds to your email. Quickly? Professionally?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnsiePaarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights before going off to Siem Reap. Our hotel at Siem Reap was so amazing (and cheaper), so in comparison, Villa Borann was not so great for value.
Nevertheless, we had a nice time staying in Villa Borann. We went during the low season so there were only 2-3 other guests. It was nice to have the pool all to ourselves after a hot day of touring. The young French Manager was nice & so were his staff. They helped us arrange for tuk-tuk (although I must warn you that some of the tuk tuk drivers covering the district around the hotel are extremely dishonest & creepy! The market rate to hire a tuk tuk driver for 1 day appears to be $18USD. However, one of the tuk tuk driver hailed down by the hotel staff wanted to cheat us off by asking for $50-60USD! When we rejected, he continued to stalk us down the street as we tried to get a different tuk tuk driver. I caught this dishonest tuk tuk driver peeping into the villa checking which room we were staying in as well one afternoon. And since the villa didn't have a gate, I felt a little unsafe that night.
One down side of this villa is that during the quiet season, there was no cook on site. The villa is too far away from pub street to walk, and since we didn't have a good experience with tuk tuk drivers, we ended up eating at the vegetarian restaurant across the street from the villa most of the time. The vegetarian restaurant was very cheap so we didn't mind it. It would be nice however if the villa could work with some local restaurants to get them to deliver food to hotel guests (as they do in many villas we've stayed at in Bali)

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nanaspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights, found on tripadvisor sorting it be the least reviews. So my review will add to the hype. Indeed it is nice little boutique hotel, nothing extra, but what they have its at 100%. Rooms are big and clean, nice bathrooms, I missed only the toothbrush (maybe should have asked). Interior is simple but with good taste, I loved the little decors in our room. Location absolute sensation. Staff, very helpful, already by pre-booking(directly through their site) very good communication. Rotha (the receptionist) perfect communication, she also arranged airport pickup and bus transfer to Siem Reap! Xavi the GM was very helpful, came to us at the pool, asked about if everything was Ok? He also areanged booking of hotel in SR.
In general, there are some more high end hotels and BnB's, but this the best at this price.

Note to the staff: Please dont let your hotel to wear off and turn into those overhyped places.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Alexei29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
The Kabiki
The Kabiki
#18 of 274 in Phnom Penh
868 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 274 in Phnom Penh
2,532 reviews
0.5 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#16 of 274 in Phnom Penh
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 274 in Phnom Penh
1,654 reviews
0.5 mi away
Okay Boutique Hotel
Okay Boutique Hotel
#33 of 274 in Phnom Penh
847 reviews
1.3 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 274 in Phnom Penh
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Borann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Borann

Address: Street 19, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 334 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $24 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Borann 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 450 m from Independence Monument, Villa Borann offers accommodations in Phnom Penh. It features an outdoor swimming pool and guests can enjoy meals at the in-house restaurant or have a drink at the bar. Free WiFi is available throughout the property. it is 600 m to Wat Langka and Wat Botum Park. The Royal Palace and Chaktomouk Conference Hall 2 are 1 km away, while the National Museum is 1.6 km away. Phnom Penh International Airport is 11.2 km from the property. Airport transfers are available at additional charges. Fitted with a balcony offering views of the garden/pool, air-conditioned rooms are equipped with a personal safe, a flat-screen cable TV with DVD player, seating area and tea/coffee making facilities. En suite bathrooms come with hot and cold shower, along with free toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Borann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing