We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Cold Noodle Bar in Phnom Penh!”
Review of Sesame Noodle Bar

Sesame Noodle Bar
Ranked #25 of 1,443 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $7
Cuisines: American, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Nestled on a quiet street a few blocks from the Russian Market, Sesame Noodle Bar offers a small menu that focuses on quality over quantity. We draw from Japanese, Chinese cuisines with a splash of Americana (and don’t forget the tahini). Our house signature dish was made specifically for the Cambodian climate– ice-cold noodles, fresh vegetables, caramelized pork and a refreshing Sesame dressing.Now open for dinner and lunch, come by and see us.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Cold Noodle Bar in Phnom Penh!”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Sesame has a fresh, bright, energetic atmosphere, great service, and killer food for the price (the most expensive item on the menu is $5). My friend and I are eating our way through Southeast Asia and this was easily one of our favorite stops on the trip so far. We had the tofu & kimchi starter, house noodle & thor bun (you have got to get the bun!), and sesame noodle & gyoza. These cold noodle salad dishes are great for the warm weather without sacrificing on flavor, but the signature sesame dressing alone is worth the visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    68
    13
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good and cheap”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Went to this place for the first time a few weeks ago.
Love the concept and design which has clearly had a lot of work done to it.
Food was simple and delicious. Try the Thor Buns and dumplings. Also lots of good sake available.
Solid service too.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh, now oz
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“yum”
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Fabulous casual neighbourhood dining. I went for dinner with 2 friends who live in pp. Small menu but everything I tried was delicious, I especially loved the the thor buns. Pudding of pastry balls with melted choc inside and caramel sauce on top were top notch

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank scotlandnoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tasty, good value,”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

The service is great, the staff and manager are all super friendly. You are served a cold glass of water before you make your selection.
The food is tasty, yes the Thor buns have a reputation that they live up to.
Cold noodles are good, I like the amount of salad, but I have to agree that a little bit more meat would help. But you do have the option of getting a larger bowl for an extra $1. The meal deals make a lunch there good value for money.
I think the evening meals are excellent. Most of the reviews tend to discuss the Thor Buns or the noodles. Try Sesame Noodle for dinner. Great little spot for couples or meeting friends. A good selection of craft beer, and whiskeys make it a special treat.

The surrounding are cool, the music is brilliant, the restaurant, and toilets are spotlessly clean.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WarrenEire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood restaurant, simple good food”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Sesame Noodle has become a Russian Market institution in its short time in existence. The food is simple, fresh, delicious and low price. They have a great drink selection including sake-I love the spicy watermelon frozen drink. You are always welcomed with a smile and a cold glass of water. I highly recommend anything with pork belly. The Thor Buns are amazing as are the fatty noodles. There isn't really anything I wouldn't recommend! The deserts are simple but delicious as well--the sesame balls with chocolate or caramel are a light and tasty end to a meal. I recently had a private event there. Keiko and the staff were incredibly accommodating and the cost for the food and event was extremely reasonable and the whole staff made the event wonderful. I would definitely have another event there. I highly recommend Sesame Noodle if you are around Russian Market or Boeng Trabek! Worth a visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank S N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sesame Noodle Bar also viewed

 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to Sesame Noodle Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing