We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Suite Home Boutique Hotel
Ranked #100 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Probably overpriced”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed at this place for 4 nights. Good impression from outside, nice veranda facing the street.

But the room was a tad dirty, with hair and dirt underneath the bed and some of the furniture, which we cleaned up ourselves.
Besfes this the room was fine, with a nice bathroom and good AC.

Breakfast was included and was really satisfactory.

The drawbacks were the intermittent Internet signal and the puzzled faces of the staff when we asked for information regarding visas for Vietnam. Apparently every other guesthouse in Phnom Penh provides this service.

Therefote, we were generally satisfied, even though they could charge a bit less, especially if they want to keep on cleaning the room that way.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    53
    25
    9
    12
See reviews for
5
65
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Booked online for 10 nights... The room is clean, bed comfy, and if you don't mind being kept awake until the early hours by the karaoke bar across the road, you might enjoy the hotel - it's relatively handy. Expect intermittent internet service - it was broken for a day and since then, I can rarely log in (it's taken me 30 mins to connect, and about 20 attempts this time). The staff tell me it's working fine, but it's not. The included breakfast is very average.

Worst of all - it's now the wet season and tiles outside the rooms get very wet when it rains, as do the stairs that you use to get to the ground floor....today, despite taking a great deal of care on the tiles, I slipped and fell and have injured my shoulder and arm....I told the staff and they either didn't understand, or care. The tiles are a serious hazard. I'm checking out tomorrow.

Room Tip: try to get one downstairs, away from the killer staircase and tiles, and the noisy karaoke
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robbie2604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Phnom Penh hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
london
2 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I never really write reviews but feel I need to warn people about this hotel. When arriving at the hotel the Suite Home Boutique gives a great first impression, trendy bar, comfy seats, a cold glass of juice while waiting to check in, all good so far. After finishing our drink we were then shown to our room (be prepared...ridiculously steep stairs, no lift! Not good with a backpack!). At first glance the room looked ok for the price we were paying. As we were not in Phnom Penh for long, we dumped the bags and quickly headed out. Later on we returned about 10.45pm (not late), this is when the problems started! The entire hotel was closed, a shutter had been pulled down and there was no window to look through to get anyones attention. My partner proceeded to bag on the shutter...nothing, he carried on for 5 more minutes when eventually a member of staff opened the shutter to let us in. So if you plan on staying out until after 10pm, be prepared! Entering the room, what can I say...DISGUSTING! There was hair everywhere! Bathroom floor, bedroom floor, all on the bed...no exaggeration! Closely I inspected the bed and noticed a few little bugs running round on the bed, a small blood stain on the sheet and several other marks that looked like make up...eewwww. My partner went straight down to reception to complain but couldn't find anyone. Luckily we had our sleeping bags with us so out they came and off to sleep we went. In the morning, we got up super early to head to the 'Killing Fields' as we were heading off later that day. Our plan was to check out when we returned. Arriving back at the hotel at 11.15am, I noticed our room door was open (by the way massive gap under the door), inside was the cleaner...hard to believe I know! I found it strange that the cleaner was in our room before we had checked out. Anyway, she left promptly and we entered to gather our stuff together. Now this is what shocked me the most....there was the same clump of black hair in the bathroom, sheets had not be changed as all the stains were still there, 2 more bugs appeared, hair on the bedroom floor and bed...what had the cleaner been doing in our room? Fortunately we were only there for one night!

It seems we had the same experience as the reviewer (Lenny820704). We travelled round SEA for 3 weeks, we stayed in a lot of budget hotels, Suite Home Boutique was by far the worst!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajm147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Hotel rooms look nice in the pictures on the Internet but the reality is totally different experience. Rooms are dirty with cockroaches and bed bugs. Downstairs is italian restaurant playing loud music till late. Internet is very slow. My bed sheets were dirty with bed bugs and when I requested to change my room, they put me in the room without window. Overall it was a horrible experience.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenny820704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I stayed there 3 nights with my boyfriend and I don't regret my choice.

First of all, the location is ideal, 10min from Royal Palace and 15 min from the Quay which means you can visit Central Phnom Penh very easily without having to spend on tuk tuk.

The room was amazing, very design and incredibly confortable bed. We paid 81$ for those 3 nights which is really good for a room of this quality.

The restaurant is delicious too, we had lasagnas and cheese pastas with a tomatoes and mozarella apetizer. The breakfast is free, not a buffet but you can choose on the menu. Their pancakes were amazing!

I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Phnom Penh.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EliseFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kazakhstan
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2013

1. The best location : the Royal Palace and the National Museum just around the corner.
2. The pritty helpful staff: they could help you with everything.
3. The beautiful various breackfast, you will enjoy it.
4. The hotel is located close to the Cental Market and different shops. If you are the fanat of fruts you will like it.
5. The hotel is not big, so everuone could have enough attention.

Zhanna

Room Tip: I am joking about the swimming pool because they haven't it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zhanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I booked for 4 nights at the Plantation, stayed for one night, then moved to this hotel for 3 nights. I stayed in room 204 on the second floor with a privated balcony facing the street.
The hotel only starts operating since March 2013. The location is fantastic - just behind the Royal Palace across the street. The walk to the waterfront is the best in Phnom Penh - you stroll along the street which runs along the side of the Royal Palace, no traffic with just a few people and bicycles, mature tropical trees shade you most of the way.
My room is great - a normal comfortable queen bed (I prefer this bed to that of the Plantation where they have a raised concrete platform and a very low bed sits on the platform. I find it very uncomfortable to get on and off the bed, also it is a hazard because I knocked my shine against the concrete platform a couple of times) with all the usual facilities: TV, fridge, air-cond, a steel safe, a wardrobe space with unlocked wooden hangers. It is however a bit small, but I have my balcony to sit outside. The bathroom is great - very clean. Only the street-facing rooms can claim a private balcony. The other rooms have a wrap-around public balcony.
At $35 a night, it's a steal as I paid $100 at the Plantation. I go for a swim at the Plantation in the afternoon.
The people who work there are asolutely wonderful.
I enjoyed my times very much at this hotel.
This is my hotel in Phnom Penh.

Room Tip: A street-facing room (Mine was 204. I think the one just below is 104).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hung T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.6 mi away
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
#74 of 267 in Phnom Penh
198 reviews
0.3 mi away
Diamond Palace II
Diamond Palace II
#199 of 267 in Phnom Penh
196 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sovanphum Guesthouse
Sovanphum Guesthouse
#111 of 267 in Phnom Penh
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
New Midtown Hotel
New Midtown Hotel
#49 of 267 in Phnom Penh
155 reviews
0.4 mi away
Angkor International Hotel
Angkor International Hotel
#57 of 267 in Phnom Penh
587 reviews
0.5 mi away
City Centre Hotel
City Centre Hotel
#103 of 267 in Phnom Penh
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suite Home Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Home Boutique Hotel

Property: Suite Home Boutique Hotel
Address: #20 D, Street 184 | Directly behind the Royal Palace, Phnom Penh 855, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Suite Home Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly behind the Royal Palace with walking distance to national museum, Riverside and lively street 240 consist of shopping and dining area right in the center of the city. A newly open hotel with 10 suite rooms offer you good service and comfortable stay with flat screen 32" TV, safety box, writing table, refrigerator, hot water, free Wifi in the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Suite Home Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing