We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tastes ok but doesn't stay long”

The Sushi Bar Phnom Penh
Ranked #135 of 1,444 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Tastes ok but doesn't stay long”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Restaurant is nice, good ambiance and food is just ok. Got a one-time bad stomach while in the restaurant.
Might be the food? Ice? Lack of hygiene by the sushi maker?
The assistant manager didn't come up with any solution or compensation.
Just for reference, my stomach was totally well functioning during the day(and the past months).
The sushi had a very fast negative effect.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ariko1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    90
    29
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Sushi finds the spot”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I have been a few times and each time I have not been disappointed the staff are very quick with the orders but the sushi is fresh if you order from the menu anything else try the baked Salmon you will love it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Colonel1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Above average, but not very good...”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I don't know, why Tripadvisor will only let one rate from average to very good. Went for dinner at The Sushi Bar having been there before. The sushi itself is good and tasty - my favorite being the Rainbow rolls, however the rice is far too loosely rolled and not sticky enough, so every piece falls apart before it reaches your mouth. Word to the wise: do not go there on a first date, unless you want your date to think you're a pig, that cannot eat properly.
If you're the less adventurous type and want to stick to salmon menus, they don't have them here. You can get salmon pieces a la carte by two at 2.50$ but their menus only cover a variety of nigiri/maki. So no salmon menus as such.
Service is a bit on the low side of things. The waitresses don't keep a watch on the tables, so you have to really try and get their attention. Also they forgot to serve us soy, which seemed a bit odd for a sushi joint. We ordered 4 dishes and total price was app. 30$ which is quite cheap, and there was enough food for everyone. So good value for money in terms of taste and quantity, however not a very cosy place, and not very good service. Go with friends, but I wouldn't recommend it for special events or romantic dinners.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampot, Cambodia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best sushi in town, but not the best around the world”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is an authentic sushi restaurant / bar across the board. Can't go wrong here -- good fish, good rice, good service, good atmosphere, a slight pricey but that's normal for sushi. Not complaining especially in this developing and poor country. :-)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good sushi in pp”
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Vietnamese chain sushi restaurant. The owner is Japanese, I hear. I did not expect much as I could try much better one at home but this restaurant satisfied me quite. Fish are okay but rice is similar to the sushi in Japan which makes the total dish satisfactory

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kuroken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sushi Bar Phnom Penh also viewed

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to The Sushi Bar Phnom Penh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing