We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sea food at its best”
Review of Samourai

Samourai
Ranked #877 of 1,427 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Samourai Restaurant is a top-class, fine-dining Japanese food restaurant in Phnom Penh, Cambodia, serving teppan-yaki, sushi and sashimi in a breath-taking, heart-soothing and family-friendly environment.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Sea food at its best”
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Very good food ...cooked served then there there...a lil expensive but i am sure its worth it....oysters...shrimp...lobsters...awesome they were...ppl wanna try the japanese delicasy then this is a right place...
Good ambience too

Helpful?
1 Thank Nivedith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    3
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
175 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Expensive but a bit unique”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

By Cambodian prices this place is expensive but for a night out away from the tourist strip of Sisowath it's a bit of fun. The food was excellent, service very attentive and teppenyaki is always a dining experience for me. The real attraction for me is the decor, a bit of bling and great over the top stuff that you see in Asia sometimes. When you walk in you walk straight onto a plexiglass floor with Koi Carp swimming around underneath, very cool. There is some great pieces of furniture scattered around, little zen like areas with pools and a piano in the corner that actually gets played. Methinks its the first time I have had Teppenyaki to live Piano! The bar is a real masterpiece also in the middle of the ground floor. So it's a little pricy (around $60) for two with drinks yet as a fun place to enjoy with company it's worth a look.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank nicklamport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

great food unlikely feel a litlle loney in this big restaurant at lunch time with not that many customers.... i was told it is full for dinner. Friendly staff.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sylvainpalembang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Superb cocktails”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Great cocktails, top quality in fact. We didn't eat but the key thing here is that the chef comes to your table and cooks there. The other stunning thing is the fish which you see beneath your feet through the glass floor. Good service too, and very pleasant music played by a young lady.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin_qld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Entertaining and Tasty”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Clean, friendly and very welcoming. The staff are very accommodating, more so than in other restaurants and the food although pricey is worth it because of the cool show they put on. It was the first teppanyaki restaurant I've been to but I really liked the crazy frying skills from the cooks! The a la carte menu was pretty good too.

I would highly recommend coming to this place for a function or in a group as there were plenty of rooms upstairs, and a nice open area downstairs for a date. This place had an all round good vibe and I'll come back again :)

Kudos Samourai!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Galeno C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Samourai also viewed

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to Samourai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing