We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Queen Wood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Queen Wood Hotel
Ranked #217 of 325 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Stayed in this hotel on our recent 3 week holiday around asia, nice clean comfortable hotel, close to the river front and all it has to offer,a multitude of bars cafes and restaurants with prices for $3-50 for a meal and drinks.not far to the royal palace and the tourist market is a short tuk tuk ride away dont pay more than $2. we struck a deal and for $20 visited the killing fields and the notourius s21 prison we also went to a local village and mingled with the locals,everything seemed to be in us$$ so take pleny for tips but only if they deserve one!! turn left as you leave the hotel then first right and the local fruit/meat market is 75mtrs on your left, not for the faint hearted live food cooked to order and meat a plenty,beware when entering the covered part if your bigger than 5ft 6" the rusty old sheeting is a danger so just be aware when turning round, no safety issues apart from this.
breakfast is very good and theres plenty to choose from, real english bacon, eggs beans sausage toast fruit juice, friut, pancakes, honey, jam,tea, coffee,etc, theres a rooftop pool if you just want to laze about (we dont) not very big but clean and well maintained,food is also served on the rooftop plenty of padded sunbeds with a further rooftop area to take in the views and watch the sunset.
Free wifi and 2 computers for guests to use in the foyey 24/7 haggle at reception for a deal if your staying more than 5 days its worth a try.

Room Tip: rooms at the rear offer best views of the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank secretshopper2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    32
    71
    42
    67
See reviews for
12
55
55
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Location of this hotel was good, within walking distance from many of the main attractions in Phnom Penh. Rooms were quite small, but clean and quiet. The shower was just behind the door, over, strange location within the bathroom. Everything gets wet when showering. The biggest advantage of the hotel was the nice roof top terrace with a small pool, a bar and a great view over the city.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Location is good (near riverfront, market, and palace) for the price point ; good wifi reception, good breakfast; rooms are a good size.

Downsides; bathrooms were small with the shower unit basically over the sink. We showered and then put extra towels on the floor to absorb the water so we could continue to use the toilet. Hot water was readily available. Complementary water.

Really noisy at night; there is a noisy nightclub nearby (actually thought it was the rooftop bar but it wasn't). The rooftop bar and pool which friends enjoyed.

Phomh Penh felt seedy at all times; constantly was aware of my surroundings. This area was not different from other parts so really it felt no different than the rest of the city.

Room Tip: There were larger rooms with properly sized bathrooms--so ask for one of those. Those rooms had tub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nyasa07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

But that's abt it! It's noisy, pool is not as good as it looks in the pic and breakfast is average! All that said it was good value for money from others places I saw online and location is very convenient to walk to all city attractions. If you stay here make sure you go to the restaurant on the corner towards the rive for a real meal with the locals, spec breakfast!

Room Tip: Prob all noisy, mine was facing the river ( at a far distance) and was very noise from the bar acros...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

This is an average hotel at an OK location. Yes, there have emerged a lot of red light district type bars around it, as have in the whole riverfront area. Which is a a pity in itself.
But it is certainly not an unsafe area, you can walk around in the night, just taking care like you would in every capital city....
The hotel itself is average, average rooms, average breakfast... I was disappointed about the pool, which I wanted to use for some workout / exercise: impossible, very small and very shallow.....
Just nice to sunbath on the roof and cool off...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Hotel is within walking distance of the Palace & riverfront but it is in a very questionable area (I've seen red light district mentioned in other reviews and that's about right)! I wouldn't have liked to walk in the area without my group in the evening.

Our room was small and felt a bit unloved - it obviously hadn't been renovated for a long time.

Breakfast was OK, quite standard food but a good selection. The reception staff were always helpful and pleasant when we spoke to them.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crazyseg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in September, maybe the construction next door is done now. The room is basic nothing out of the ordinary for a PP standard room. The girlfriend is a little particular about having a window or balcony and those rooms are nice. Regular shower in the middle of the bathroom spraying everywhere. Comfy beds, and cold a.c. Ate at the restaurant on the roof, -1 for the food, find better more authentic food outside. Nice relaxing pool for day and night. Great roof top bar with some quiet music. Great view of the city. Price -1, a little high for a normal room and thoughtless food. Would stay here again for the bar and pool.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 777Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Waterfront Hotel
Grand Waterfront Hotel
#131 of 267 in Phnom Penh
133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lance Court Hotel
Lance Court Hotel
#215 of 267 in Phnom Penh
43 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden House International
Golden House International
#66 of 267 in Phnom Penh
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Silver River Hotel
Silver River Hotel
#49 of 267 in Phnom Penh
511 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monsoon Boutique Hotel
Monsoon Boutique Hotel
#17 of 325 in Phnom Penh
233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Point Boutique Hotel
Point Boutique Hotel
#75 of 267 in Phnom Penh
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Wood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Wood Hotel

Property: Queen Wood Hotel
Address: No 75, 77 Street 136 Sangkat Phars Kandal I, Khan Doun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #217 of 325 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Queen Wood Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Queen Wood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing