We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The wonderful staff make this hotel”
Review of TeaHouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
TeaHouse
Ranked #16 of 277 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed 3 nights at this newly opened hotel. The staff couldn't do enough for us -- invariably friendly, smiling and helpful. Beautiful lobby and small pool off the dining area. Great location as well. Shame the room we stayed in didn't match the rest of our experience. Our Superior room was spacious, if spartan, but the design of the toilet could only be kindly described as 'quirky'. No counter space for toiletries or soap (I believe one shouldn't need to reach into the shower to grab the soap for washing one's hands) and for two people, some creative logistical organization was needed. I don't know whether this problem extends to all rooms, as the triple room (1queen + 1 single bed) on our floor was fine. Sleep quality on our last night wasn't helped by someone moving furniture around in the room above us at 6am.

A nice buffet breakfast was introduced the last 2 mornings of our stay, with a good range of fruit, juices and hot dishes. Just make sure the eggs cooked to order are in fact properly cooked. I didn't, and my stomach paid the price afterwards.

Bottom-line: great staff, but for the price, there are better hotels in Phnom Penh.

Room Tip: The triple rooms seem much nicer than the standard rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank klavier_mann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

934 - 940 of 1,210 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

As you would expect from only being open 2 days, there were a few finishing off touches still to be done, but this did not effect the running of this hotel.
The rooms are nice and roomy, very clean and bathroom is also good.
Everything works great and the staff are very obliging and friendly. Breakfast was fantastic as was the refreshing swim i had in the pool. Beers are priced right and are cold.
From a 53 year old Australians perspective, this package is well suited to our age bracket.
Oh and don't forget Mr Paal, Tuk Tuk service right next door in the same building as the Laundry service from Mr Suez. Great value from these guys and they don't rip you off.
Say hi from me as these 2 really made my holiday.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the western side away from building work on the eastern side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gasman18111959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The rooms are nice, clean and relatively quiet (we were on the 4th floor). Nice view from outside our room. The lobby is beautiful.
Most amazing was the staff. Our passport got stolen and the receptionists were very very helpful in getting everything sorted out.
The Continental breakfast can be improved, why not add another croissant.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ullrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful stay un this brand new hotel which has just opened a week ago...
We payed 38 US doll per night and everything was perfect ! 
Rooms are beautiful, nice decoration with colors...2 big windows so it was luminous...big TV, AC, and a big safety box.
Bathroom was nice too, with designed decoration.
Amrerican breakfast was ok, eggs bacon, bread,juice, tea and fruits...fruits could be a little bit more exotic...I was a bit disappointed to find apples...but it's a detail of course ! 
Breakfast area is so nice outside with a lot of vegetation.
Pool is nice too just enough to refresh you after a day in the city...
The lobby was my favorite area ! Designed, with big squares where you can chill on...
Staff was very kind and helpful.
I liked everything in this hotel and it's a good value for your money ! 
I definitely recommend to stay here ! 

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AlbanetCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Same as the above review we were recommended to the Teahouse by Kabiki manager as it was fully book. Having stayed at all the hotels of the same management group we couldnt believe this was from the same. Lousy construction quality and lacks of attention to details not as others hotels thay we have stayed and very pleased with.
I have the feeling that this is an old building renovated. The wrecked down, abandon kind, not the antique, beautiful kind. After checked in we'd been told that it has just been newly open (04 days) but we should have been told in advance.Not everybody want to be exposed to management experiment especially in their only vacation of the year!!

The elevator is very slow and when we step in the room there is smell of humidity. Paint stain still everywhere. Electicity is run by pvc conduit and there is one socket right in the middle of the bed head which is not
childsafe at all. AC is old and not working ( on and off). At day time there's a contruction site on the neighbor and there is a water pump running everynight too!!! Everyday there are 01 more thing brought to the room (towels, hairdryers, glasses, shampoo...) so it's like a guessing game what surprise we gonna have for today everytine we come back to the room. Hoping that when we left it may have full of amenities that it should.

The restaurant is of poor choices. Today is our 5th day at the hotel and we had to gone elsewhere to have breakfast as i had had eggs for 5 consecutive days. Selection for lunch or dinner is poor as well with fronzen stuff!! Tomorrow is my last day here.

Regarding the pool it is very small and has no shades.

The plus on this hotel is housekeeping team very well with their job. Our room is always clean and tidy. The staff are nice and friendly and trying to be helpful. Service in the restaurant is horrid...we never have a table set ready, always lacks of napkin or utensils.... And of course there was no selection of tea nor cakes, which were the main reason why we chose this hotel.
I really think that if you are not ready yet then should not oped to guests as we came with expectation to a great vaccation to be taken care of by details with the trust we earned during our previous stays in others of your premises and now we are leaving with otherwise!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wanderinguyngal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepavilion, Owner at TeaHouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Guest, sorry, we indeed have been delayed in the starting-up of the TeaLounge. We are getting the cake display in this week, if all goes as expected. Still fixing a few little things: Cheers, Alexis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The manager of the Plantation recommended this hotel, their sister hotel, to me when their own hotel was fully booked. The hotel had only been open five days by the time I arrived, but you wouldn't know it from how smoothly everything ran.

The staff are amazingly, wonderfully helpful. Whatever you need, they will try to find a way to do it, from sending tuk-tuk drivers to buy bus tickets, to booking massages, to bringing your room service with a smile. The staff are what make this hotel a wonderful treat.

My room was clean and neat (I was also the first person to use it, which was quite a change). The entire hotel can be described as clean and neat, but not sterile. It is very welcoming. The lobby is an open air garden strewn with divans and there are little porches with pillows that you can rest on. The pool is small, but well kept, and the staff will bring your drinks right to the poolside.

I stayed two nights, one more than originally planned, and I was reluctant to leave. I can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sevarem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepavilion, Owner at TeaHouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many many thanks for this first review. Thank you also for being so positive and forguiving for all the starting issues we always have in the first week!

Cheers,

Alexis (owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank danielo287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.4 mi away
G Mekong Hotel
G Mekong Hotel
#8 of 277 in Phnom Penh
268 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 277 in Phnom Penh
1,673 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 277 in Phnom Penh
2,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
1.2 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 277 in Phnom Penh
887 reviews
1.3 mi away
Double Leaf Boutique Hotel
Double Leaf Boutique Hotel
#20 of 277 in Phnom Penh
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TeaHouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TeaHouse

Address: 242 #32 Street, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 277 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $40 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — TeaHouse 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TeaHouse is one of Phnom Penh's newest hotels and is inspired by the world of Tea. It offers 52 rooms with an Asian touch, a large Tea Lounge with a wide selection of cakes, ice-creams and plenty more with a choice of over 30 kinds of teas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your TeaHouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing