We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lacking business ethics, potential fraud of payment risk”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Rose Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 269 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“lacking business ethics, potential fraud of payment risk”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

I prepaid a full deposit for 2 nights stay here. Unfortunately the protests in Thailand and risk of airport complete shutdown stopped my trip to Cambodia. I notified the hotel more than a day in advance that I had to cancel my international trip there due to safety and travel concerns.
The warning here is they kept all of my money including tax and service fee and refused all refund despite Being able to resell my room to someone else. I understood there was some hardship to them for giving advance notice but only of a bit more than a day (2 days in the case of my second night) and that I could accept that they take some fee from me. However they said they will keep 100% of my money even though I notified them to cancel so they could resell the room.

The point is this - they kept 100% of my money...this means including taxes and service fees for taxes and services they did not provide.

When I asked them to handle my situation fairly because I did not cancel in some malicious way and that I would settle with them for some fee, they insisted that they keep all of my money.

So in the end, please be careful with your money if you prepay them. In my case they kept the tax and service portion of my money, resold the room and kept my full rate for the room. I believe in the United States it is illegal to keep a customer's money for government fees and at the least it is unethical to keep service fees so usually some partial refund after fees would be granted. In this case I feel they stole my money and after asking them for resolution they rejected my requests and kept it all.

Buyer be warned.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank ben s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IT T, Manager at La Rose Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
It's very true that high profile and successful businessman do injustice thing. Being an educated and well ethic entrepreneur and a chairman/ CEO of a well-known company, one must travel the world; however, it doesn't take a genius to understand online hotel bookings procedure and policy that people accepted it before booking. Why one have to hurt a small business like us and take advantage of the review tool to defame us. Of course, we are just a small luxury boutique hotel consisting of 10 rooms, but we serve from heart and with a smile.

Initially, we received your booking via expedia(dot)com, reservation id: 389810566 under the name of *********** on December 23, 13 for a check-in January 15, 2014 and check-out January 17, 2014. Only 1 Double Room for two adults as you mentioned you travel with your business partner from Thailand.

You booked via that booking site and you accepted their term and condition when making a booking. It's a true that it's you and that booking site business, not the hotel. We, the hotel, have a mutual agreement with the online site also and we received this booking from the online booking site, not you.

On the contrary, we received a direct email cancellation from you, not expedia in a very last minute (less than a day) at 18:44 local time, just merely a day prior to your check-in. Since you got trapped in your agreement with the online booking site, you decided to contact us instead. You'd never cancelled via online booking site, which you should had, because we still received your rooming list at 15:57 of your check-in date, January 15, 2014.

We don't charge you and will never, but we charge online site that work with you. All hotels working with online booking engines have a mutual agreement of term & condition and clear policy (our cancellation policy is always there to notice our clients, in your online booking site that you book through, their cancellation is 14 days before arrival, guest will be charged 100%). Neither is it difficult to understand nor is it complicated. We don't have any authority to deal directly with you.

However, as a courtesy and a good gesture, we showed our sympathy and tolerant towards you and decided to reply your email straight away stating that your cancellation is less than a day. As you told us you would comeback so we fought with the top management team to hold your reservation onto your next visit. In return, you don't even appreciate it, and defame us saying that we steal your money, we don't see a well ethic entrepreneur character here.

You might need to understand that room rate we share to all online booking sites in our agreement is all a NET rate which includes government tax, and no extra charge. Usually, online booking sites break it down, so you should talk to your online booking site given the fact that you want a tax claim and any kind of your so-called refund.

You should have learnt that during which your booking was confirmed until December 2013, we rejected a number of bookings from travel agents and other online sites because your booked room is a very last room. When you violate the policy and cancelled less than one day, how on earth you can find a booking just a day to replace your absentee - not easy as you say, this is impossible. Please note that we can't never resell this room already.

Successful businessman understands other businessmen challenging and how thing works, and they won't do just that. They would understand how the Term & Condition and policy works, not run around and accuse others.

Reference to your email, we no longer hold your reservation.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    70
    13
    7
    3
See reviews for
62
226
39
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2014

This is a small, centrally located hotel thatwas ideal for us. Our room was very comfortable and spacious with a four poster bed, and a massage couch. The level of personal and attentive service from all the staff was impressive, the wonderful spa treatment, and the extra touches such as fresh fruit and flowers in the room meant we felt very pampered. The food was freshly cooked to order. We would certainly have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GPWSaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud, Indonesia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I very much enjoyed my stay at La Rose. The staff and management are very friendly and helpful. (Sometimes too much so. Seeing them running to get to the door to open it for me always made me feel a bit uncomfortable to be honest) My room was very nice, very clean, very modern. Their breakfasts were excellent.

The hotel is located on a busy uninteresting road, quite a ways away from just about everything. You will need to take a tuk-tuk to get to the riverside and the restaurants there. During daylight this is pretty easy, but at night it can be tough. The hotel does have its own tuk-tuk, unfortunately, the driver, at least when I was there, seemed to speak little English, so did not understand where I needed to go. A member of the desk staff had to come out and translate. No one will know where the hotel is either, so you'll need to have a card to help drivers find the hotel when you return.

There were a few minor issues I had, very minor, but I feel I should bring them up. The first is the music that is played in the hallways. Their windows might be doubled paned, but their doors are not soundproof. I found the new age music drifting into my room all day and evening to be very distracting. Second is the room setup. Maybe the hotel has rooms with more than just beds. I was given a room with my requested king sized bed. Which was great. What I didn't expect was the second bed, a single, in the room as well. Basically one sits on the single bed to brush their teeth because it sits so close to the room's sink. I wondered why a boutique hotel would have smallish rooms that basically can sleep three. (It had the feel of a very very nice guest house/hostel in a way.) I personally, as a single traveler, would have much preferred a small couch over the second small bed, which made the room feel a bit cramped.

All-in-all I enjoyed my stay a La Rose. In the future I will probably stay closer to the river on my next trip to PP though. For me the added cost was not worth it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed there for 2 days and it is a genuinely pleasant place to stay, the staff are very friendly and helpful and the hotel itself is in excellent condition. The rooms are small but perfectly acceptable and breakfast was cooked to order which makes a change from the usual poor buffets you get in hotels of this size.

There are no real downsides to the hotel however there is nothing really outstanding where you would warrant giving it an Excellent but I wouldn't hesitate to give it a very good.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EasyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2014

The staff, rooms and breakfast ensure that this hotel stands out from the crowd.

Super friendly and helpful staff ensure the best experience at this hotel. The rooms are clean and tidy, we had an enormous bathroom shower and bath.

The breakfast is very good - both western and Khmer style food - the Khmer Beef Noodle Curry is the best in town [and I had a few!]. We ate xmas dinner here and at $40 per head is pricey for the area - but then most of that was for wine. It was good value for money.

The only negative point is the location - nothing else in this area so you'll be taking a lot of $3 tuk-tuk rides into town and back. The hotel has its own tuk-tuks so getting one is easy. Not all the riders know the way back, so take a card and a map!

The hotel shares a pool with another hotel about 5 mins away by free-tuk-tuk. We went once - very small.

The hotel specialise in Spa, and although I did not have one they looked good - albeit pricey. You can get a free one if you do a review on trip-advisor.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattOutram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 30, 2013

La Rose boutique hotel is a very charming, quiet hotel in the centre of Phnom Penh. The rooms are big and modern. It has an excellent restaurant and the staff is very attentive and kind. We very much enjoyed staying there, a little paradise in the midst of a busy city and would definitely go back on our next visit to Phnom Penh.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolijn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We have just had a wonderful stay at this hotel. We booked it directly with the hotel and were very pleased with it. From the moment we booked it till the moment we were dropped to the airport, our experiences were very positive and could not have asked for anything more. We communicated with the hotel about airport picked up and all the ground services arrangement for our whole stay in Cambodia. Everything was taken care of as promised and more. The staff were exceptionally helpful. Amazing design, ambiance, elegant stylish room with high ceilings and the lovely decoration. All great standard with perfect service.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.5 mi away
La Rose Suites
La Rose Suites
#3 of 269 in Phnom Penh
461 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 269 in Phnom Penh
2,490 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#7 of 269 in Phnom Penh
1,961 reviews
0.6 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 269 in Phnom Penh
807 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh
Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh
#5 of 269 in Phnom Penh
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Rose Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Rose Boutique Hotel & Spa

Property: La Rose Boutique Hotel & Spa
Address: # 164B Norodom Boulevard | Sangkat Tonle Bassac, Khan Chamkamorn, Phnom Penh 12101, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 269 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — La Rose Boutique Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Rose Boutique & Spa is only a 5-minute walk from the significant Independence Monument. It operates a 24-hour front desk and boasts a luxurious spa and wellness centre. Free Wi-Fi access is available in the entire property. This non-smoking hotel is a convenient 20-minute drive from Phnom Penh International Airport. The Royal Palace of Cambodia is located 1 km away, while the Famous French Colonial Building (Central Market) is within 2 km away. Fitted with a wardrobe and seating area, air-conditioned rooms are equipped with a personal safe, a flat-screen cable TV, minibar and tea/coffee making facilities. En suite bathrooms come with a hairdryer, bathtub, shower facilities and free toiletries. At La Rose Boutique & Spa, guests can request for luggage storage, laundry and car rental services. Conveniences include a tour desk, business centre and shuttle service to the airport. The in-house La Rose Restaurant serves flavourful Asian, Western and traditional Cambodian dishes. Special diet menus such as vegetarian dishes are also provided on request. Room service is available. What's more, the boutique offers an unlimited access to its partnered outdoor swimming pool with complimentary transfer to and from hotel to the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Rose Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing