We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Samsara Villa
Nearby Hotels
$78
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$207
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$193
$174
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$49
$41
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
G Mekong Hotel(Phnom Penh)
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
$56
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pavilion(Phnom Penh)
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TeaHouse(Phnom Penh)
$27
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Blue Lime(Phnom Penh)
$40
$36
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$30
$27
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveler rating
133
65
8
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
133
65
8
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstuk tukcomfortable accommodationlovely poolmodern roomsswimming poolceiling fanpeaceful oasisboutique hotelrussian marketbusy citya lovely stayhome away from homethe hustle and bustlesmall hotellovely hotelthree nightskilling fields
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 213 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Samsara. The staff were attentive and helpful, the room was attractive and modern and the breakfast was delicious. The communal areas are well designed and overall the place is beautiful - lovely furniture and design and some thoughtful touches.

We stayed just a few days after opening, so there were a few teething problems (e.g. TV tuning) and some building work going on during the day. The only other issue we had was that tuk tuk drivers tended to struggle to find it, but we found in general that they didn't know where quite a few things were!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

If you want to get a quite place far away from Phnom Penh traffic it is the place
Although it is not so easy to find
Ask a map for the tuktuk driver
There is a swimming pool and the breakfeast is complete

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neglectus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed three nights here and it was too short! The whole place is very tastefully done and is very relaxing. It is a well-done blend of East and West. The room was just lovely: very clean, beautifully and simply furnished, quiet, large, and bright. This describes the whole hotel, actually. Breakfast was yummy. The staff was very helpful and not overbearing. The grounds and pool were a welcome haven in the heat. The Samsara Villa is one of the best places we stayed in.

Room Tip: When you get a tuk-tuk to the hotel, it's helpful to have a Phnom Penh map. The Samsara is very new and (thankfully) away from the noisy center. Not all the tuk-tuk drivers are familiar yet with its location.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lrswtsn8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I booked on line before arriving in Cambodia and took into account other remarks made on Trip Advisor. I had been 'upgraded' to the Khmer Suite and that was lovely. (I had no trouble with barking dogs during the night and the aircon was working well). A couple of issues were put down to it being the Chinese New Year and whilst my first breakfast was very good the others were a bit hit and miss. However Nicholas, the owner, was very helpful and the absence of a safe deposit box in my room was overcome by the use of his own safe. I agree that it was difficult for return trips by TukTuk drivers, especially after dark but as long as you have one of Nicholas' business cards the map on the back is a great help. Possibly if he is reading this he could make a larger print off of that map to give to guests to help with their return journeys. The pool area is bliss, and to be honest the shade given by the trees was a blessing. The security and privacy of the wall round the garden was an added bonus and the air of calm and cleanliness after the hussle and bustle of the city was a godsend. No problem with hot water (the shower head had a bit of a will of it's own but I showed it who was boss!) T.V. in the room was wide screen and plenty of channels to chose from. Lovely comfy bed. One negative issue, the VERY open plan shower was dark and the floor slippy. I have recommended the hotel to my friend who often has people visiting her in Phnom Penh and if I am returning there myself I will be looking to book the Samsara.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thecomfortzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in the middle of January and returned again at the end of January as we loved it so much. It is a beautiful hotel in a quiet part of Phnom Penh. The pool area is lovely, surrounded by plants and trees, the pool is clean and as we like the sun so much the staff even moved the sunbeds from out of the shade into the sun. The rooms are beautiful, we stayed in a double room on the ground floor the first time and the second time we stayed in the Colonial Suite - all very nice - lovely furniture, there wasn't a hairdryer in the room but you just ask reception for one if you needed it. The owner Nicholas is really nice - very friendly and helpful and is very knowledgeable about Cambodia and we got some good advice from him about where to go and what to visit. Breakfast is lovely and the service is really good. There are mosquitos about which is a shame but this is Cambodia; the staff sprayed the rooms which sorted out the problem and they lit mosquito coils at night by your table which helped too. Tuk Tuks were always available and it cost about 8 dollars for a return journey to the river front. The coctails here were really good and the wine was lovely too. All in all this is a lovely boutique hotel and we will definitely return again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loula43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews