We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”
Review of Samsara Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Samsara Villa
Ranked #38 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed twice at Samsara while in Cambodia, on the way in and out of the country. I booked the place by chance and was positively surprised by the warm welcome of the owner Nicolas, and the quality of the accommodation. The rooms upstairs are very spacious. I wouldn't recommend the ones downstairs, there are a bit dark and noisy.
The pool is very nice hidden in the shade, and the staff is very friendly. Some people complain that the hotel is difficult to find, I'd agree for the first time you get there. Afterwards, it's very easy to find, and the good thing is: the hotel is far from the hustle bustle of the city.
What really makes this place unique is Nicolas: he will go the extra mile to give you advice, book restaurant, find a driver, and hotels in the country. He knows Cambodia very well, and has friends and contacts everywhere.
Regarding the rooms which are decorated with excellent taste: the beds are fantastic, and the bathroom convenient, though we never had hot water while we stayed there.
We will certainly go back at Samsara whenever we are in Phnom Penh.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julievhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 185 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed at Samsara villa for a few days but changed hotels, it is nice to look at, but I was mosquito bitten all the time. I also found the pool clean but almost always in the shade...as I wanted to tan, this was not helpfull.
The rooms are nice, but there are no hair dryers, robes, nor safety deposit box in the rooms even if these items are mentioned in the adds. The television was a very small very old model, and impossibleTo get a clear picture. Bathroom leakage when one takes a shower, water everywhere.
What really bothered me was the situation of this hotel, tuk Tuks have a very hard time finding it, I spent hours driving around...too out of the way, no shops or restaurants nearby...nothing. And it is quiet during the day but at night the dogs of the neighborhood have symphonies and make a god awful racket.

Room Tip: Don't take the top floor suite, air con doesn't do the job, and it is very very hot as there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Solmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I highly recommend the Samsara Villa. This boutique scores outstanding on all accounts. The place is located in a quiet side street in a nice neighborhood. It is not fat from the city center and there are always tuk-tuks waiting at the door of the hotel. The hotel itself is beautiful. The rooms are spacious, well equipped and wonderfully decorated. Nicolas, the owner, will go the extra mile to make sure you haver an enjoyable stay. He is extremely knowledgable about Cambodia and he helped us a lot to plan our holidays. We discovered many hidden gems that are not mentioned in the guidebooks. The rest of the staff is also very nice and most of them speak good English. The food at the hotel is excellent, in fact most of the time we ended up eating at the hotel. I cannot think of anything I didn't like at this hotel. Thanks again Nicolas for your hospitality. We will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxvh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Highly recommended! Samsara Villa is spacious, quiet, and relaxing with a lovely pool and garden. Nicholas the charming French proprietor was warm and helpful and kindly offered myself and my companion excellent discounted rates - and on top of that he upgraded me to the gorgeous Colonial Suite. Spacious and well appointed rooms, good breakfast, all staff were very friendly and quick to offer help. Samsara had a lovely homelike feel and I'd stay again for sure.

As other reviewers have said it's a tiny bit hard to find and don't rely on the tuk tuk driver to find the way (typical for Phnom Penh), make sure you have it marked on your own map and be prepared to direct.

Small suggestions - my room lacked a rubbish bin. Also hooks needed in the bathroom and if possible a sign at the end of the alleyway would be really helpful.

I would have loved to stay longer!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Samsara villa is a lovely boutique hotel with tranquil pool and gardens. Probably the calmest spot in Phnom Penh. It is hard to find though..make sure you have the mobile phone number for tuk tuk or taxi drivers to be guided in. Phnom Penh isnt somewhere that is easy to walk around so you do need to take tuk tuks.
We were upgraded and had large stylish suites. The hotel hadnt opened long so there were still some bits and peices to sort out. Service was relaxed giving a warm and casual atmosphere.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tubbymctubbington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Samsara Villas is a new address in Phnom Penh, the hotel is open for two months. Is like a heaven of peace in hustle and bustle of Phnom Penh. Not really far from the city center (10 minutes by tuk-tuk to the Royal Palace or the Quays), but still far enough away to enjoy the tranquility after a busy day. I spent four nights. In a renovated house with a swimming pool and a lovely garden, the hotel offers all the comfort you can expect, with plenty of refinement and elegance in decoration. With very nice rooms (from the single for me, to the great Chinese suit), plus a great breakfast. To this must be added, and it is not the slightest arguments, the extremely warm welcome from the owner, Nicolas, fine connoisseur of Cambodia and Phnom Penh. Advice, help, suggestions contribute to what we feel "like at home". To discover quickly before success would make it difficult to book for.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bamann31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

This is fantastic value for money. We had the Chinese Suite and a twin room for our teenage sons. The hotel is modern and very comfortable. Lovely pool and garden with casual dining looking into both. The food here is excellent and easy to stay in and eat after a busy day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
1.3 mi away
Villa Langka
Villa Langka
#24 of 274 in Phnom Penh
999 reviews
0.6 mi away
Double Leaf Boutique Hotel
Double Leaf Boutique Hotel
#21 of 274 in Phnom Penh
468 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mowin Boutique Hotel & Residence
Mowin Boutique Hotel & Residence
#90 of 274 in Phnom Penh
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Villa Sovanna Boutique Hotel
Villa Sovanna Boutique Hotel
#57 of 274 in Phnom Penh
221 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh
Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh
#5 of 274 in Phnom Penh
632 reviews
1.9 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#22 of 274 in Phnom Penh
1,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samsara Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samsara Villa

Address: 466 #43z5, Street | Sangkat Tonle Bassac Khan ChamkarMorn, Phnom Penh 12101, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $43 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Samsara Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ambiance of Samsara Villa is reflected in every guestroom. ironing facilities, hair dryer, mini bar, in room safe, seating area are just some of the facilities at your disposal. Besides, the hotel's host of recreational offerings ensures you have plenty to do during your stay. Samsara Villa is an ideal place of stay for travelers seeking charm, comfort and convenience in Phnom Penh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Travelocity so you can book your Samsara Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing