We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Khmer Architecture but Basic and Low Cost”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Khmer Surin Boutique Guesthouse
Ranked #15 of 317 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Khmer Architecture but Basic and Low Cost”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Right next to a great boutique hotel King Grand Suites II is Khmer Surin-which I am sure has seen better days.It used to have a great Khmer Restaurant.The rooms are good but very basic-dont expect to find Toothbrush,shaving razor or anythingelse you forgot to bring from home.Rooms dont even have ohones so if you are on 5 floor for anything youhave to go down.However the cost is minimum so buy your essentials from a grocery storseand have fun as the restaurant food is quite authentic Khmer and Thai.

Room Tip: Take any room as almost all rooms look at King Grand Suites.If you still insist then the rooms on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    24
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
21
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I was amazed with this small hotel -- rooms are very well-appointed, beautifully decorated, very comfortable. I really loved the care for their guests, with fresh fruits and flowers, and small details in my room that make a very pleasant and homey stay -- even the luxury silk quilt covering the bed, produced by a local ethical women's cooperative.

Staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good.
We were offered a good discount to have our meals in their restaurant. The restaurant in the evening is one of the most romantic places I have ever been, surrounded by plants and bamboo lampshades and again, nicely decorated.

For the restaurant only: I hate to put a negative comment in this review, but I really did not like the food. I had few lunches/dinners there, tried different plates each time and found the food "average". So, at the end, I have decided to try other restaurants nearby. Hope they can improve their cuisine and I can dine there again in my next trip to Cambodia.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brasileirinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poipet, Cambodia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Khmer Surin has some of the most beautifully decorated rooms I've stayed in, which lots of dark wood throughout the hotel, bamboo floor mats, and beautiful lamps. The service was excellent on all accounts. Breakfast has a nice variety of Western and Asian dishes, including a wide selection of fruit smoothies. The beds were firm but comfortable. And the rain showers were probably one of my favorite parts. I also appreciate how they have ceramic dispensers for soap, shampoo, and conditioner, instead of the small plastic throw-away bottles they have at so many hotels.

My only complaint about our room (B8) was that the abundance of windows (between the hallway and our room, the bathroom and our room, and the outdoor windows) let in an abundance of light, which made it difficult to sleep. And even though the air conditioning unit was new and turned on as high as possible, the room never cooled down enough to sleep 100% comfortably.

But as I've told others, this is a hotel I'd put my family in to experience an "exotic" stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingwife09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

It is my second visit to Phnom Penh and fist time in Khmer Surin. The place comes highly recommended. It is owned and managed by a former college (as I found out) and it is maintained very well indeed. The whole atmosphere is genuinely Asian with a nice homey feeling. Location is central. Food is excellent. Rooms are moderate in size but clean. Plenty of people with kids during dinner, mostly foreigners. The place is really nice.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabit99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 3 days whilst attending a wedding in Phnom Penh. It was a most charming place to stay and I must have had the best room in the hotel. It was very large with a four poster bed and was beautifully decorated with lots of dark wood furniture, carvings and bright Red and Orange curtains and cushions which gave it a very oriental feel. The shower room was also very large and the shower setting was amazing. A large slab of stone set in an area of pebbles with powerful overhead shower and hand held unit as well.. It gave it a lovely feel. The dining area was set in what appeared to be a lovely garden with a small pool and a bridge over it. Lots of plants and shrubs etc., making it a very relaxing place to eat or have a drink on an evening. The food was first class and the service of the staff was very good. Very friendly, smiley people that went out of their way to ensure you had an enjoyable stay in this lovely little hotel. Can`t recommend it highly enough. Would definitely stay there again if there was another trip to Cambodia.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stitches1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeneville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
145 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Khmer Surin is a wonderful place to stay. It is convenient to lots of good restaurants. There are numerous good western-style coffee houses, nearby. The food in the hotel restaurant is outstanding, and is reasonably priced. The breakfast (which is included) is wonderful. The selection is quite nice and the quantity is good.

The hotel is not within easy walking distance of the Riverside/Palace area, but it is a quick tuk-tuk ride. There are some nice clothing boutiques, within a couple of blocks. My wife really enjoyed them.

The hotel has an elevator. This isn't always available in smaller Cambodian hotels. This can be a plus when checking in and hauling luggage.

The rooms are well-appointed and comfortable. They have taken great pains to decorate tastefully. My best descriptor for my experience is RELAXING.

Room Tip: Abundance of western-style coffee shops within walking distance. Restaurant gives 50% off of food...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Have stayed here a total of six weeks on three separate occasions ( 3 stays of 2 weeks each). I moved here from an excellent nearby hotel (Anise Hotel) for the sole reason that they had an elevator (bad knees). Everything works perfectly at Khmer Surin as the hotel/guesthouse is less than two years old and a lot of thought has gone into the decor. Lots of Asian ambiance with friendly and helpful staff. The room rate includes breakfast with a good menu choice. The restaurant is very popular and busy with a large local business/NGO mix. As an added bonus guests enjoy a 50% discount on food items (not drinks) in the restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeBren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.2 mi away
the 252
the 252
#10 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#9 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,408 reviews
0.2 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Anise Hotel
Anise Hotel
#25 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#6 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Langka
Villa Langka
#23 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khmer Surin Boutique Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khmer Surin Boutique Guesthouse

Property: Khmer Surin Boutique Guesthouse
Address: House #11A, Street 57, Sangkat Boeung Keng Kang I | Khan Chamkarmon, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 317 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Khmer Surin Boutique Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing