We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value for money”
Review of Rain Rock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rain Rock Hotel
Ranked #131 of 270 Hotels in Phnom Penh
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“good value for money”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I stayed there for 3 nights with friends. Location is not very good, far from river side but the money I paid is really low. I tried calculating many times how they are earning with this rent. Air conditioning is good. rooms are of decent size. but you are not allowed to open the window till 4th floor. they are always locked. breakfast is not very good but not bad either. Bathrooms are big. you will not regret if you stay there. try to book twin beds as room is really big.

Room Tip: choose a twin room and higher floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pankaj b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    17
    12
    6
    3
See reviews for
3
10
9
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2012

This is a brand new hotel and all the furnishings are beautifully clean and fresh. Flat screen TVs are a luxury not usually found in this price range. Rooms are not huge but a good size at 30 sq mtrs. Yes, there are a few teething problems but the management and staff are so eager to make things perfect and welcome feedback.

Room Tip: Better views on the higher floors - for full-length windows and balcony go for rooms higher than flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lfraserking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molde, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed here for four days late november.

The hotel seems to be brand new, and the entrance, lobby, and rooms are certainly nice looking and modern. The front desk staff spoke english very well, and was polite and helpful.

The room and bathroom was very small, with really no open space at all, but it was clean and modern, and the bed was comfortable enough. There was no noise around the hotel at night, and the AC was very quiet also, so I slept very well.

As mentioned in another review, the location of the hotel is not good, no no, not at all.
In the four days I spent here, not one single TukTuk driver had heard about this hotel, and didn`t even know the street it was located on, so it will take a bit of time getting back to the hotel, since the driver will have to drive around looking for the street, asking random people for directions.

The breakfast is pretty terrible, there was really no choice, and the quality of what little there was, was not really any good.
The only reason I ate breakfast at the hotel was that it was included in the price (which by the way, was really really cheap), and I really couldn`t bother going out in the streets to try to find something else in the morning.
As mentioned the location is really bad, and there wasn`t a lot of choice in the immidiate area.

All in all, the hotel is allright. If it was it located Riverside, I would`ve upgraded the score to very good for sure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginkeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We booked this hotel through Hotwire at short notice in Phnom penh. This was categorised as a 4 star hotel and put in the same league as the Hilton and Hyatt so our expectations were high. Unfortunately, this hotel failed to deliver in this league. I'd say it's a 3 star at best. The rooms were clean with high quality furnishing but that is as close to 4 star as it gets. The hotel is in the middle of a residential area at least 25mins from the centre. It's directly across the road from a building site and they have no real facilities for entertainment. Unless you include the lift as a facility as this hotel does. Given the poor location this hotel is in much need of some facilities. It boasts having a roof top bar with amazing views of the city but when we arrived for a drink at 9.30pm there was a great view but no bar! Instead we were greeted by a nice member of staff informed us that there was no bar and offered us a can of beer on a balcony with no seats. No real issue if you are out exploring the city but I think this level of service is unaccetable for a 4 star hotel. This issue is further magnified by the fact the location is so poor with little alternatives for entertainment. So disappointed by this hotel and hotwires false ratings. In equal measure I was surprised by the other reviews on trip advisor so I wanted to post a more accurate account. I am glad we paid the reduced price for our room but I still don't think the discount would have been enough to off set the poor location and lack of facilities. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone on holiday or travelling I think its probably more suited to business people in need of an early night.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flipflopss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Phnom Penh hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I think rain rock hotel got a nice view. It's in the middle of the city, so in the high floor i can see the view of whole city. I had a drink upstair in the bar at night, the view is awsome. In the hotel the service is friendly and comfortable. And the room is clearness and new. Very good place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liuxinglu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I had an amazing experience at Rain Rock Hotel. The hotel is very beautiful, clean, neat, and cozy. I could see the view of Phnom Penh City 360 degree. It has a beautiful Sky Bar and Sunset Restaurant at the 8th Floor with a perfect ambience. The staffs are friendly, helpful, and respectful. The price per room night is very reasonable. Overall, I think I received more than what I pay for.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pross P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.0 mi away
Kirirom Crystal Hotel
Kirirom Crystal Hotel
#112 of 270 in Phnom Penh
14 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mowin Boutique Hotel & Residence
Mowin Boutique Hotel & Residence
#91 of 270 in Phnom Penh
16 reviews
2.3 mi away
Shaly Boutique Hotel
Shaly Boutique Hotel
#87 of 270 in Phnom Penh
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Paradise Hotel
Paradise Hotel
#174 of 270 in Phnom Penh
15 reviews
1.8 mi away
Residia at Silvertown
Residia at Silvertown
#113 of 270 in Phnom Penh
23 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Mekong Dragon Hotel
The Mekong Dragon Hotel
#84 of 270 in Phnom Penh
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rain Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rain Rock Hotel

Property: Rain Rock Hotel
Address: #6AE, Street 150, Veal Vong | 7 Makara, Phnom Penh 855, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 270 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rain Rock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened, our hotel has spacious guestrooms that offer a spectacle view of city, sunset, sunrise and the state of the art facilities. Free one way airport pickup and free return transport to Royal Palace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rain Rock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing