We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favourite restaurant in Phnom Penh”
Review of Chez Gaston

Chez Gaston
Ranked #107 of 1,414 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $27
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Cash Only, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Chez Gaston is a friendly French restaurant. A journey to France for a few hours if you are looking for a lovely ambiance with great French food classics and nice old school French music in the speakers. Staff and owner are more than welcoming and will always let you go with a smile on your face...
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Favourite restaurant in Phnom Penh”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

This restaurant is amazing. We had the salmon, which was very good, and the joue de boeuf, which was phenomenal. The owner is very friendly and appears to really care about the quality of food he is serving and the experience of his customers. Will definitely be returning here a lot.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    36
    14
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“nice”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

great french food at very reasonable prices , served by lovely khmer staff , they really have a high standard of food there , nice decor as well .

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank sara c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing French Restaurant”
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

We went to Chez Gaston based on Trip Advisor reviews, and we weren't disappointed! Between us we had salmon, duck and beef, and the delicious chocolate mousse. Everything was incredible. Great food, and very friendly staff who were happy to explain the menu - as my rusty French couldn't manage everything. Would wholeheartedly recommend this restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Pintxos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Chez Gaston, Phnom Penh”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

The World's Best tripe:
I cooked tripe at home once a month and regualrly order it in restaurants (not a regular item on most menu's). My tripe receipe changes slightly from month to month, I'm always seeking perfection. There are several restaurants in Phnom Penh with tripe on the menu and they are all very good. About 10 days ago I wandered into a newest (August 2012) Phnom Penh eatery for my evening meal. Tripe on the menu, so it was a must order for me. I can only describe the dish as 'The World's Best Tripe'.
Chex Gaston is located on Street 15 close to the corner of St 144 about four streets back from the riverside in Phnom Penh.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JoeBren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Possibly the best French meal ever”
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

We fancied a change and as the reviews read well we thought why not go french. The place is hard to find and is not in the correct place on the map.

Only 5 tables so book. The menu is traditional french and the french owner very friendly. We had the tomato salad, snails and beef cappacio. This was possibly better than any meal i have had in france and i go regularly.

Wine list good and ask from the blackcurrent vodka digestive.

Yes it is more than a local meal but the quality was amazing.

Hats off the the owner and such a wonderful place.

Helpful?
1 Thank woodentom1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Gaston also viewed

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to Chez Gaston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing