We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monsoon Boutique Hotel
Ranked #19 of 318 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“2 night stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

The hotel has good and bad points. It is very modern in the rooms and downstairs and clean etc. Our room however had no window and was noisy at night but it is in the city center so hard to avoid i guess. The location is reasonable being only a few minutes walk from the Royal Palace, Silver Pagoda, Riverside etc. The room could have been a bit bigger maybe. The staff are nice but a little young and inexperienced. Also their English is not as good as some other hotels making onward travel booking more difficult. All in all a reason place hence 3/5 score.

Pros: Central location, modern rooms, clean

Cons: a more senior staff member on duty would be good, noise level, window or more obvious "no window" at booking.

Room Tip: Do not get a room facing the street at ours did not and was still noisy so ones facing the street mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thekidz2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randylim, Owner at Monsoon Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your recent review of our property. It was nice to read the mostly positive review and I apologize for the annoyance that you have also noted and will make the appropriate corrections.
We genuinely hope that you will stay with us again on your next trip to Phnom Penh.

Regards,
Leakhena Ya

reservation@monsoonhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    116
    39
    17
    7
See reviews for
14
71
52
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Luang Prabang
Level Contributor
132 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

We arrived around 10PM and were supprised by the amount of adult bars in the street. Once in the hotel you dont notice anything from the nightlife outside.
Its a really nice looking hotel with very friendly staff and after check in we went to our room on the 1st floor overlooking the street. We had a nice balcony where we could sit and watch the nightlife. when we went into the room and closed the door you didnt hear anything from the bars outside. And because of the milk glass there was hardly any light pollution.
The rooms are clean and nicely decorated. and I loved the bathroom with a modern looking bathtub. Breakfast was good as you could choose from 5 different dishes (continental and Asian) and choice of beverages.
The location of the hotel is really good. It's just a couple of minutes to the riverside and the Royal Palace. There are plenty of restaurants and bars around. And not just adult bars.
We had a really nice time in this hotel and would certainly go back when we are in Phnom Penh. Dont let let the adult bars scare you away as during the day there are loads of other shops open and local life just is all around and at night the bars keep to themselves and you can sit quietly in front of the hotel with a drink without anybody harrassing you.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeckishAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randylim, Owner at Monsoon Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your extensively positive comments regarding your recent stay with us. We really appreciate your feedback and are very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. The hotel industry in our city is extremely competitive and we are glad that you have chosen our hotel for your lodging need in Phnom Penh. We look forward to being of your service to you again soon.

Regards,
Leakhena Ya

reservation@monsoonhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

I spend a lot of time in Cambodia assisting NGOs and have stayed in several hotels in Phnom Penh. Monsoon is my favorite. The location is near my work and there are many places to eat nearby. It is near the riverfront.

The staff are very helpful and friendly. The rooms are always clean. The complimentary breakfast is very good.

Leakhena, the manager, is very responsive to requests. I brought a large church group here last summer and she made everyone feel at home. Her staff are a reflection of her professionalism.

I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randylim, Owner at Monsoon Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thanks very much for your kind words and the time you took to share them with us. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Rest ensured that we will take your comments for further encouragement within the team to ensure personal service and warm welcome for your next visit. All the best and see you again soon!

Warm regards
Leakhena Ya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

Had a very plaesant and relaxing 2 days here, staff always friendly and helpfull, breakfast was good, room nice and big, love welcome drink and fragrant towel on arrival. close to night life and all that Phnom Penh has to offer. Would recommmend this hotel as very good value.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kazaperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randylim, Owner at Monsoon Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for taking time and sharing your positive experience with fellow travelers. I am glad to learn that you had a great time in Phnom Penh and our hotel. Certainly, our location is a huge advantage when exploring the town. I am also pleased that you enjoyed our signature welcome drink and cold towel upon arrival.
Once again, thank you for your feedback and I do hope we will have opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Regards,
Leakhena Ya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for just 1 night of the 3 nights we had booked and left early because money was stolen from our room whilst were out eating dinner at night. When we notified the staff they couldn't help us and said it was our fault that someone got into our room, even though they mentioned their staff were the only people who have a key. We felt unsafe and had no trust in this place, so we checked out early and reported this to Agoda. However when Agoda phoned the hotel to confirm the incident, they claimed that no such thing happened and that no complaints were made. Staff also lied about checking video footage which monitored the hotel and would not allow us to watch to see what happened.

Other guests at the time also mentioned they heard people trying to enter their room at early hours of the morning, but luckily they were inside and nothing was taken from them.

Located on a dodgy looking street with brothels all around. The hotel itself was nice looking and clean but if you value your possessions and personal safety, my advice would be to stay somewhere else!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashleigh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randylim, Owner at Monsoon Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
As the owner as well as the management of Monsoon Boutique Hotel, we are obliged to response to unfair comment from our client to protect our hard-earned reputation. Our business is totally relied on reputation. Thus, we would not keep one stone unturned to protect it. The comment from Tim G and Ashleigh S as a couple amount to nothing less than defamation which is punishable under the Criminal Code of Cambodia.

Let me set the record straight.
Mr. Tim G reported to us in the morning of 1st March 2014 that he had $250 of cash stolen from his room while he was having dinner outside in the evening of 28th Feb 2014. He said the money was left on his bed. The story itself carries a nuance of fabrication as it takes great imagination to understand a guest leaving $250 in cash on his bed rather than keeping it in a safe or simply in his pocket. However, we were cooperative with Mr. Tim G all the ways through. We suggested Tim G to check out the security camera with us but he refused and rushed out. We went through it ourselves and found no trace of intrusion. The CCTV record is still available for inspection as of today and we would be more than happy to inspect it again with Tim G, Ashleigh S and /or relevant authority.

As for the refund from Agoda, it is our policy to not offer refund for early check out.

As for location, we are centrally located and in a tourist area with many pubs. It is not brothels or ugly area but PUBS. Some guests are happy being in a central location with a lot of places to hang out while some prefer quieter location. That’s why we made sure that it is clearly mentioned in the description on online booking website.

As a service provider in hospitality industry, we make every effort to offer pleasant stay for our guests. This has been vindicated by the good reviews we have received from the majority of our guests so far. We deplore that our hard-earned reputation are on the brink of being destroyed by an unfair comment from a guest.

Regards,
Leakhena Ya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Booked for 3 nights stay.
First night we went for dinner for 3 hours.
The next morning found our money and other items home from our locked room.
Stories changed from one staff member to the next from the manager to the bel boy.
I was told it was my fault as I didn't hide my things well enough although they were certain they were the only ones with access.
A group of thieves, do not stay there or trust them.
Read other reviews, they try to go into rooms and run away when the occupants are there.
They then lied to agoda preventing me from getting a refund on an early check out.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank tim g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randylim, Owner at Monsoon Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
As the owner as well as the management of Monsoon Boutique Hotel, we are obliged to response to unfair comment from our client to protect our hard-earned reputation. Our business is totally relied on reputation. Thus, we would not keep one stone unturned to protect it. The comment from Tim G amounts to nothing less than defamation which is punishable under the Criminal Code of Cambodia.

Let me set the record straight.
Mr. Tim reported to us in the morning of 1st March 2014 that he had $250 of cash stolen from his room while he was having dinner outside in the evening of 28th Feb 2014. He said the money was left on his bed. The story itself carries a nuance of fabrication as it takes great imagination to understand a guest leaving $250 in cash on his bed rather than keeping it in a safe or simply in his pocket. However, we were cooperative with Mr. Tim G all the ways through. We suggested Tim G to check out the security camera with us but he refused and rushed out. We went through it ourselves and found no trace of intrusion. The CCTV record is still available for inspection as of today and we would be more than happy to inspect it again with Tim and /or relevant authority.

As for the use of in-room safe box, it is just our recommendation to our guests which is a common practice in the hotel industry. It is not an intention to shake our responsibility toward our guests.

As for the refund from Agoda, it is our policy to not offer refund for early check out.

As a service provider in hospitality industry, we make every effort to offer pleasant stay for our guests. This has been vindicated by the good reviews we have received from the majority of our guests so far. We deplore that our hard-earned reputation are on the brink of being destroyed by an unfair comment from a guest.

Best regards,
Leakhena Ya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We booked two nights here, but left after the first night because we didn't feel safe.

The hotel is located close to brothels.

Clean rooms and bedlinen, so I'm sure housekeeping do what they can, but the stones and concrete bathroom must be impossible to keep clean. The bathroom has a awful stench to it. We bought air freshener, since the staff only said they already have a system for the smell that they think works, it looked like liquid incense. The bathroom is glassed in and no airway so also very hot. There is ants all over the bathroom but also on the beds and the desk. When we asked about it the staff washed them down with water, but they came right up again! The book in the room states two looks on the door but there is only one.

I woke up at 5.30 AM from the noise of someone opening our door and then sliding it. I've never been so scared in a hotel before! The next morning when we had breakfast, which was okey and a very nice staff member served us, a man came down to the reception and told them his hotel room had been robed. The reception staff answered he should have put his money in the safe, and if a room in their hotel gets robed its not their fault!

At this point we quickly checked out and left. I was scared and did not feel safe there. Later that day we discovered that we'd forgotten our charges for our phones in the rush, and went back. The staff did hand us our charges back.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emmamell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randylim, Owner at Monsoon Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to write review of our property. Your comments are very much valued. As the owner as well as the management of Monsoon Boutique Hotel, we would like to personally apologize for the unfortunate incidences that you experienced during your stay with us. We believe there are misunderstandings in your comments here that we are obliged to clarify.

First of all, we are shocked with your comment on the condition of the room which is beyond belief given that I have never seen it during my daily inspection. We always take comments from our guests seriously, and take corrective measures. Our hotel has been open for quite sometimes and this is the very first time our guest complain that there are ants all over the place.

As for location, we are centrally located and in a tourist area with many pubs. It is not brothels or ugly area but pubs. Some guests are happy being in a central location with a lot of places to hang out while some prefer quieter location. That’s why we made sure that it is clearly mentioned in the description on online booking website.

As for the robbery, there has never been a robbery inside our hotel. As a matter of fact, I have never heard of robbery inside a hotel in Cambodia at all. Maybe you are referring to an incident that another guest, Tim G, proclaimed in front of all guests at breakfast table that he had $250 of cash stolen from his bed while he was away for dinner. This incident has been clarified by us in the post by Tim G that it did not happen as we went through security camera ourselves and found no trace of intrusion. The CCTV record is still available for inspection as of today and we would be more than happy to inspect it again with Tim G and /or relevant authority.

As for the comment that our staff said it’s not our fault if our guests are robbed inside the hotel, I think something is lost in translation. It’s utterly irresponsible word that should never come out from a hotel staff. If any staff member utters such an irresponsible word, I’d make sure that he or she be relieved of duty immediately.

Again, I would like to thank you for your comment and we will look into each issue that you have noted in an attempt to correct and improve our quality of customer service that our guests expect. At the same time, I also hope you understand our explanation on your misunderstanding of the robbery case. I would invite you to contact me personally at 097 688 2006 (direct line) to discuss this with you further. (Email is reservation@monsonhotel.com).

Regards,
Leakhena Ya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
#16 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden House International
Golden House International
#68 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#9 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
#27 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Grand Mekong
Le Grand Mekong
#99 of 265 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monsoon Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monsoon Boutique Hotel

Property: Monsoon Boutique Hotel
Address: #53-55 E, Street 130, Psar Kandal I, Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 318 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Monsoon Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Monsoon Boutique Hotel! Set in the heart of Phnom Penh, the Monsoon boutique hotel commands an excellent location with just a stone’s throw from the riverside and royal palace. Each of the 21 beautifully appointed guest rooms features superior amenities including high quality bed and pillow, complete towel set & Eco-life bathroom amenities, satellite TV, air conditioning, tea/coffee maker, hair dryer, mini bar and complimentary in-room Wi-Fi to give our guests a delightfully comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monsoon Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing